deceptor

Nine Inch Nails - Pretty Hate Machine as reviewed by deceptor

January 20, 2019

Well done pressing. No skips on any songs. The gatefold looks beautiful with the silver coloured album art. Only complaint is that "Something I can never have" has some pops and surface noise which is disappointing but every other song plays quietly and is mixed evenly. good bass and good treble. Lyrics sheet is rather sparse, nothing special but nice to have.
blakxzep

Nine Inch Nails - Pretty Hate Machine blakxzep

June 18, 2018
I've gone through 2 copies and they all sound great except "Something I can Never Have" still has surface noise after multiple cleans. Is this a defect with all of them? Looks like having a proper copy is something I can never have.
minusthesnake

Nine Inch Nails - Pretty Hate Machine minusthesnake

November 7, 2018
I just got a copy and there's some surface noise on SICNH on mine too. I actually think the surface noise might be present on the rest of the album and it's just a lot more obvious here because the song is so much quieter than the others.
bungler666

Nine Inch Nails - Pretty Hate Machine bungler666

January 18, 2018

Sounds amazing! Definitely in the same league as the DE reissues! My only complaint would be that the sleeve feels a bit flimsy and the lyric sheet is laughable. It also comes in plain paper sleeves which scratches the record.
speculumfight

Nine Inch Nails - Pretty Hate Machine speculumfight

December 6, 2017
Anybody know if this still supposed to come with a lyric sheet?
I received a copy that did not come with one
Akpil

Nine Inch Nails - Pretty Hate Machine Akpil

September 10, 2017

Does this come with the insert/poster with that picture of Trent that the cd comes with??
nihilator77

Nine Inch Nails - Pretty Hate Machine as reviewed by nihilator77

April 12, 2017

All in all people complaining about flow and continuity is pretty much going to be a problem on all NIN remasters. Just think the C side of the upcoming spiral from nin.com ends on eraser and D starts with reptile...those are supposed to be inseparable. The new tracks of Deviations have messed with the continuity of fragile by splitting the new flesh and way out is through 2B-3A and again on Complication seems kinda naked though has new companion tracks surrounding it so who knows. I have heard PHM so much I don't mind the splitting if it weren't for changing sides so much. Just glad to have it in my collection at this point. Get down make love sounds the best surprisingly though I don't care for it.
jglembo

Nine Inch Nails - Pretty Hate Machine jglembo

May 14, 2017
Not sure how other releases are relevant to this but TDS has always had Eraser at the end of Side C. That is not new
nihilator77

Nine Inch Nails - Pretty Hate Machine nihilator77

April 12, 2017

I have all the FLAC files now for deviations, fragile and downward but refuse to listen to them as I am waiting for my vinyl...spring is here, come on already Trent.
GarionOrb

Nine Inch Nails - Pretty Hate Machine GarionOrb

March 24, 2017

Odd what some people are saying. I found this to be a very uneven remaster on vinyl. Some songs (like "Down In It") thump really nicely and has great range. Others like "Sanctified" lack punch. Oh well, I'm glad I got my hands on this regardless.
HumanCells

Nine Inch Nails - Pretty Hate Machine HumanCells

December 27, 2016
The version I have is exactly the same as this but its from The Bicycle Music Company (and a sticker on the front). The ones sold on NIN.com are also from Bicycle. Was this merged? Cause i don't want to make a version if it was already merged cause the differences were to small. Thank you guys
TheSaltyT3xan

Nine Inch Nails - Pretty Hate Machine TheSaltyT3xan

January 10, 2017

Same here, my version is from the NIN.com website made by The Bicycle Company.
DsonyaChin

Nine Inch Nails - Pretty Hate Machine DsonyaChin

March 8, 2016
This vinyl THUMPS! Great Pressing, A tad syllabic, but considering its age it sounds great!
Irreversible90

Nine Inch Nails - Pretty Hate Machine Irreversible90

November 6, 2013
So is this just the remastered edition on one vinyl? or a different master?
GarionOrb

Nine Inch Nails - Pretty Hate Machine GarionOrb

March 24, 2017

This is the 2010 remastered edition, but unlike the original 1989 vinyl release, this one is on two vinyls. It's actually just a three-sided pressing. What really kinda sucks is that side 1A ends on "Sanctified" and side 1B starts with "Something I Can Never Have". It's jarring to hear "Sanctified" just end instead of being joined to the next song.
rd1994

Nine Inch Nails - Pretty Hate Machine rd1994

November 17, 2016
Its a different master overall. I don't have the post on hand, but trent commented on it when it came out.
Brownd

Nine Inch Nails - Pretty Hate Machine Brownd

October 7, 2013
edited about 1 year ago
I've seen no indication of this particular version (remastered audio on a single LP) existing anywhere... asked about this on a nin collectors forum and they had no idea as well
Is someone able to post pics of this issue? As to check if it's not just a misprinted reissue of the original audio or something...
EDIT: comment no longer relevant, has been merged since
Brownd

Nine Inch Nails - Pretty Hate Machine Brownd

February 10, 2014
I see this has been corrected now
I guess it's ok if it's indeed a reprint
laerm

Nine Inch Nails - Pretty Hate Machine laerm

January 8, 2011

I'm happy to get the vinyl Pretty Hate Machine remaster in the house -- the remastering job sounds good, not too aggressive. There's greater resolution and the vocals are a *lot* clearer. However, the vinyl pressing is weak. First off, there's a side split between "Sanctified" and "Something I Can Never Have." Huge no-no to split those two songs up, IMO. Second, 33RPM?! This should have been cut way better. It's already on two chunks of vinyl, but why use only three sides?! At 45RPM, we could have fit the whole album (+ "Get Down Make Love") on four sides. Better yet: leave off "Get Down Make Love" and press it at +3dB SRL so we can play this thing loud.
texasvinyl

Nine Inch Nails - Pretty Hate Machine texasvinyl

March 21, 2013

I agree. There seems to be some recent fixation with the 3 sided album. At least Year Zero has an etch on side D. Year Zero Remixed has a blank side D as does this reissue. I would have rather seen it squeezed onto a single disc and priced under $15 or spread out on two at 45rpm. My copy is quite loud, but clear, and with substantial low end compared to the original and even compared to the remastered CD.
Dubstructor

Nine Inch Nails - Pretty Hate Machine Dubstructor

January 9, 2013

I have to agree on the splitting of Sanctified/Something. They should have put Get Down Make Love after Down In it and started off the 2nd side with Sanctified
bobseger

Nine Inch Nails - Pretty Hate Machine bobseger

February 5, 2011
edited over 8 years ago

I fully agree with the speed issue and was surprised it was 33rpm.