Beethoven*Wiener Philharmoniker, Carlos KleiberSymphonie Nr. 7 A-dur op 92

Label:Deutsche Grammophon – 2530 706
Series:The Original Source
Vinyl, LP, Album, Limited Edition, Numbered, Reissue, Remastered, Stereo, 180 g
Style:Classical, Romantic


Symphonie Nr. 7 A-dur Op. 92
A11. Satz: Poco Sostenuto – Vivace13:30
A22. Satz: Allegretto8:02
B13. Satz: Presto – Assai Meno Presto8:13
B24. Satz: Allegro Con Brio8:34

Companies, etc.



Recording 26–29 November 1975 and 16 January 1976 at Musikvereinssaal, Vienna
2023 - Mixed by Rainer Maillard & cut by Sidney C. Meyer directly from the analogue source at Emil Berliner Studios, limited to 3200 pcs.
Gatefold cover with photos inside of the conductor, Carlos Kleiber and a copy of the 'Aufnameprotokoll', dated 12./19.3.76
Black polylined inner sleeve.
℗ 1976 Deutsche Grammophon GmbH.
Ⓒ 2023 Deutsche Grammophon GmbH, Berlin
A Universal Music Company

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 028948638444
  • Label Code: LC0173
  • Matrix / Runout (Printed on both labels): 486 3844
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout side A): BM84669 - 01 A1 4863844 A MIXED & CUT DIRECTLY FROM ANALOG SOURCE EBS RM & SCM
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout side B): BM84669 - 01 B1 4863844 B MIXED & CUT DIRECTLY FROM ANALOG SOURCE EBS RM & SCM

Other Versions (5 of 28)

View All
Title (Format)LabelCat#CountryYear
Recently Edited
Symphonie Nr. 7 (LP, Stereo)Deutsche Grammophon2530 706Germany1976
New Submission
Symphony No. 7 (LP, Stereo)Deutsche Grammophon2530 706UK1976
New Submission
Symphonie Nr. 7 (LP, Club Edition)Deutsche Grammophon26 170-1Germany1976
New Submission
Sinfonia No. 7 (LP, Stereo)Deutsche Grammophon2530 706Spain1976
New Submission
Symphony Nr. 7 A-dur op. 92 (LP, Album, Stereo)Deutsche Grammophon2530 706UK1976



  • vinyl_marmalade's avatar
    Before you dig too deep into your pockets: The limited edition was unfortunately a joke by DG - because there is a 2nd pressing that will be released on February 16, 2024... so someone wants to cash in again! But everyone who paid a lot of money for the so-called limited edition is being taken for a ride - my gosh...
    • tone_poets_society's avatar
      Repress coming in 2024, up for preorder at the DG store.
      • deaftwisters's avatar
        White Label Editions were also released. Exclusively in the German Grammophon Shop - in a limited edition of 10 pieces worldwide.
        • vinyljos's avatar
          Admittedly not being a classical in the know, to me both the performance and recording are outstanding. The new AAA delivery is quite enjoyable to my ears albeit not in any way near the Abbado Stravinsky Printemps, from only a soundwise perspective, of course. … two different „animals“ admittedly. Pressing is quite quiet, unfortunately sends my cartridge on a wavy ride. Lack of proper QC at Optimal, again or still ongoing? … tired of returning so many expensive records these days. Still a solid 4 out of 5 stars thus very recommendable.
          • Jinpa32's avatar
            Edited 7 months ago
            It's good to have this AAA pressing. The realism of analog is wonderful. However, as other reviewers have noted, during loud passages the music sounds compressed and, yes, shrill. This is probably an unavoidable consequence of vinyl's dynamic range. Overall, I prefer the 24/96 version. The hi res digital format seems to better preserve the full dynamic range of the recording.
            • hjpetsch's avatar
              Edited 7 months ago
              About the misconception about CCIR: the tape recording and reproduction was done with corrections according CCIR, naturally, most tape recordings are done that way. The cutting was certainly following the RIAA curve. The record sounds wonderful, according the recording techniques of the time. A phono stage with switchable curve corrections may serve a individuals‘ taste, though.
              • DINOSGR's avatar
                Edited 7 months ago
                First: I don't review interpretations I just want to say that this one is concidered the best 7th (I prefer Teodor Currentzis, Ludwig van Beethoven, Musicaeterna - Beethoven Symphony No. 7 In A Major Op.92)
                Second: Again (as Franz Schubert – Emil Gilels • Amadeus-Quartett • Rainer Zepperitz - Forellenquintett • Trout Quintet • Quintetto »La Trota«) has been mastered via CCIR (see insert). So when listened via RIAA it sounds without air and punch (lifeless), 2D also strings are very shrill (to quote a previous reviewer). But when listened via CCIR is a 3D, full body attack.
                So again avoid it if you don't have a phono with CCIR EQ curve.
                • gammaut's avatar
                  This is a great win by DG! Looking forward to the other reissues on this series.
                  • eld.umd's avatar
                    Edited 8 months ago
                    I have to agree with the previous comment. First, the recording is pretty good: lots of detail and air around the instruments. However, my issue is with the performance... It is a too nice interpretation of the 7th. I mean, very light, smooth, with no punch. And that you can hear by the lean tone of the double bass section. Do not get me wrong: the recording and pressing are pretty good. But this interpretation did not captivate me.

                    Analogue frontend: Bergmann Galder+Odin with Nagra Reference Cartridge.
                    • vinyl_marmalade's avatar
                      I'm not so convinced by the record's greatness here - in contrast to Igor Stravinsky, London Symphony Orchestra • Claudio Abbado - Le Sacre Du Printemps of the series, which sounds absolutely three-dimensional and fantastic. In this pressing the strings sound very shrill to me - in comparison with a 1984 pressing (Ludwig van Beethoven - Carlos Kleiber, Wiener Philharmoniker - Symphonie No. 7).
                      I'm obviously not a fan of this pressing, maybe it's a listening habit I need to overcome. It's not a wow!-record for me.... unfortunately.


                      For sale on Discogs

                      Sell a copy

                      6 copies from $70.43


                      • Have:685
                      • Want:149
                      • Avg Rating:4.82 / 5
                      • Ratings:84