Alva Noto + Ryuichi Sakamoto ‎– Summvs

Raster-Noton ‎– r-n 132
CD, Album, Digipak

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Microon I 3:00
2 Reverso 6:57
3 Halo 7:10
4 Microon II 2:38
5 Pionier IOO 5:46
6 Ionoscan 4:08
7 By This River
Written-By – Brian Eno, Dieter Moebius, Hans-Joachim Roedelius
8 Naono 11:20
9 Microon III 3:00
10 By This River - Phantom
Written-By – Brian Eno, Dieter Moebius, Hans-Joachim Roedelius

Companies, etc.




The title "Summvs" refers to the latin word "summa" (eng. sum) and "versus" (eng. towards) serving as a metaphor for the work being oriented towards a collaborative whole.

Recorded at Onkio Haus (Tokyo, Japan), Victor Studio (Tokyo, Japan) and Hansa Studios (Berlin, Germany).

The tracks 01, 04 and 09 contain recordings of one of the 15 pianos using a 16th tone interval tuning built by Sauter, Spaichingen/Donaueschingen, Germany. The original "piano metamorfoseador en dieciseisavos de tono" was designed by Julián Carrillo Trujillo. Thanks to the music department of Berne University Of The Arts for making this instrument available.

© 2011 edition carsten nicolai, budde music germany and kab america inc. – administered by sony/atv tunes llc (ascap), except tracks 07, 10 eg music ltd.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 4260115991327
  • Matrix / Runout: CA RN132 @@
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 1261
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI LY88
  • Label Code: lc01293

Other Versions (3 of 3) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
r-n 132 Alva Noto + Ryuichi Sakamoto Summvs(CDr, Promo) Raster-Noton r-n 132 Germany 2011 Sell This Version
r-n 132 Alva Noto + Ryuichi Sakamoto Summvs(10xFile, WAV, Album) Raster-Noton r-n 132 Germany 2011
r-n 132 Alva Noto + Ryuichi Sakamoto Summvs(CD, Album) Raster-Noton r-n 132 Germany 2011 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



May 6, 2012
The only other greatest collaboration between Ryuichi Sakamoto and his contemporary electronic musicians besides Christian Fennesz (and as I have recently witnessed live, Taylor Deupree), is his ongoing critically acclaimed work with Alva Noto. The duo first got together in 2002 for their worldwide lauded Vrioon release. Three years later Insen fluttered the modern classical and minimal glitch scenes alike, only to be followed up with Ensemble Modern collaboration on _utp in 2008. This Virus series concludes with a final installment of Summvs, in which Noto and Sakamoto continue to explore the sparse electronic micro rhythms layered with abstract glitchy piano notes. I only say “final” because Raster-Noton published a collector’s boxset that features all of the above four full-lengths, plus a Revep EP! Besides Noto and Sakamoto’s work showcased at its best, there are a few more surprises on the album. The “microon” tracks contain recordings of a 16th tone interval tuning piano – “piano metamorfoseador en dieciseisavos de tono”. The album also features two covers of the track “By This River” originally composed by Brian Eno, Dieter Moebius, and Hans-Joachim Roedelius in 1977. “In their instrumental versions of the song Nicolai and Sakamoto create and investigate the song’s appeal in both normal speed and slow motion.” The title of the album derives from Latin “summa” (sum) and “versus” (towards) hinting at an overall wrap up of a collaborative project. And although I refuse to accept this release as their, I must admit that it is their very best!


October 29, 2011
I wish they would release it on vinyl too..!