Leadbelly ‎– Leadbelly's Last Sessions Volume One

Folkways Records ‎– FP 241
2 × Vinyl, LP


A Band I
A1 I Was Standing In The Bottom
A2 Yes, I'm Goin' Down To Louisiana
A3 I Ain't Goin' Down To The Well No More
A4 Dick Ligger's Holler
A5 Miss Liza Jane
A6 Dog-Latin Song
A7 Leaving Blues
A Band II
A8 Go Down, Ol' Hannah
A9 Blue Tail Fly
A10 Nobody In This World Is Better Than Us
A Band III
A11 We're In The Same Boat, Brother
A12 Look-y, Look-y Yonder
A13 Jolly O The Ranson
A Band IV
A14 Ship Of Zion
A15 Bring Me A Little Water, Silvy
A16 Mistreatin' Mama
A17 Black Betty
A18 Ain't Goin' Down To The Well No More
B Band I
B1 I'm Goin' Back Down In Louisiana
B2 I Don't Know You, What I Done
B3 Rock Island Line
B4 Old Man, Will Your Dog Catch A Rabbit
B5 Shorty George
B6 Stewball
B7 Bottle Up And Go
B8 You Know I Got To Do It
B9 Ain't It A Shame To Go Fishin' On A Sunday
B10 I Ain't Going To Drink No More
B Band II
B11 My Lindy Lou
B12 I'm Thinking Of A Friend
B Band III
B13 He Neber Said A Mumblin' Word
B14 I Don't Want No More Army Life
B15 In The World
B16 I Want To Go Home
C Band I
C1 New Iberia
C2 Dancing With Tears In My Eyes
C3 John Henry
C Band II
C4 Salty Dog
C5 National Defense Blues
C6 Easy, Mr. Tom
C7 Relax Your Mind
C Band III
C8 Bottle Up And Go
C9 Polly Wolly Wee
D Band I
D1 Pig-Latin Song
D2 Hawaiian Song
D3 Drinkin' Lum Y A Alla
D4 The Grey Goose
D5 Silver City Bound
D6 The Titanic
D Band II
D7 Death Letter Blues
D Band III
D8 Mary Don't You Weep
D9 He Never Said A Mumbling Word


Recorded (with Vol 1) over 3 nights in September/October 1948 in the NYC apartment of Frederic Ramsey Jr. Apart for a few minor edits, the sessions are presented as recorded, including Leadbelly's often illuminating introductions and general between-song chat.

Other Versions (2 of 2) View All



Add Review



August 13, 2015

Two stars? This is an interesting set. Very raw, not great, but certainly not two stars. 4 Stars for me.