Einstürzende Neubauten ‎– Silence Is Sexy

Potomak ‎– 957051
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album, Limited Edition, Reissue

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Sabrina
Arranged By [Strings] – Tim IsfortBass Drum, Drums – AC*Cello – Florian DöhlerElectric Guitar [E-bow Guitar], Vibraphone, Backing Vocals – AH*Organ [Hammond] – BB*Viola – Christoph Rabbels, Magnus DöhlerViolin – Alexandra Kratsch, Ruth-Maria Kosow, Sebastian Reimann
A2 Silence Is Sexy
Choir – The Audience Of The Mexico City Concerts Of EN, Oct. 1999Drums [Big Drum] – RM*Guitar [Tinitus] – JA*Percussion [Plastic] – AC*Performer [Cigarette] – BB*
A3 In Circles
Drums [Snare], Percussion [Metal Sheet], Bells [Pythagorean Tube Bells] – RM*Maracas, Performer [Jet Turbine] – AC*Percussion – AH*Performer [Microphone Performance] – BB*
A4 Newtons Gravitätlichkeit
Percussion [Hi-hat, Wood Percussion], Organ [Hammond] – AC*Piano [Clavichord], Vibraphone – BB*
A5 Zampano
Percussion [Amplified Large Spring], Performer [Plastic Wind Instruments] – RM*Performer [Amplified Pneumatic Piston And Electric Signal Horn Installations, Engraving Stick], Percussion [Amplified Metal Percussion, Bass Spring] – AC*Synthesizer [Korg Ms 20], Performer [Amplified Pneumatic Piston] – AH*Tape [Tape Speed Manipulation], Performer [Amplified Pneumatic Piston] – BB*
B1 Heaven Is Of Honey
Cymbal – AC*Performer [Small T-beams] – BB*Tape [Tape Echo], Synthesizer [Korg Ms 10] – AH*Vibraphone – JA*
B2 Beauty
Performer [Polystyrene], Voice [Recitation] – RM*Performer [Presence] – AC*Vibraphone, Performer [Jamman], Voice [Recitation] – BB*Voice [Recitation], Performer [Silk] – AH*Written-By – Wilsdorf*
B3 Die Befindlichkeit Des Landes
Backing Vocals – Julia RegehrElectric Piano [Fender Rhodes], Organ [Hammond], Performer [Tv-set], Effects [Electronic Treatments] – BB*
B4 Sonnenbarke
Organ [Hammond], Performer [Bass Pedals], Percussion [Bass Spring] – AC*Percussion [Blue Bin] – AH*Performer [Jet Turbine] – RM*
C1 Musentango
Arranged By [Strings], Cello – Jan Schade*Backing Vocals – Ingo Krauss, JA*, Marc WeisPerformer [Brushes, Birkenstocks], Backing Vocals – AH*Performer [Spanish Drills], Backing Vocals – AC*Performer [Vase], Drums [Big Drum], Backing Vocals – RM*Viola – Manuel KleinViolin – Cecilia Braun, Natalia Domagala
C2 Alles
Performer [Free Falling Objects] – AC*, JA*Performer [Vibrator, Free Falling Objects] – AH*
C3 Redukt
Arranged By [Strings], Cello – Jan Schade*Percussion [Metal Bar] – AC*Viola – Manuel KleinViolin – Cecilia Braun, Natalia Domagala
C4 Dingsaller
Choir – AH*, JA*, O. Kult, Peter FunkeLoops [Vocal Loops] – BB*Percussion [Blue Bin], Choir – AC*Performer [Chains, Car Tire], Percussion [Electronic Percussion Treatments], Choir – RM*
D1 Anrufe In Abwesenheit
Arranged By – Hacke*, Chudy*, Bargeld*, Arbeit*, Moser*Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes], Performer [Cellular Phone] – BB*Percussion [Amplified Springs] – AC*Voice [Speaking] – AH*Voice [Telephone] – Christian Meyer, Elsa Wormeck, Fetisch, Frank Künster, Jan Schade*, Johannes Beck, John Norris, Kain Karawahn, Lars Rudolph, Peer Martiny, Peppi, Petra Wende, See Sea, Stefan Plank, Thomas Wydler, Tristan Thönnissen, Ulrike Haage, Violetta CyrolWritten-By – Trad.*
D2 Pelikanol
Performer [Installation Of Metal Stripes And Electric Drill Motors] – AC*Performer [Jamman, Glass] – Boris Wilsdorf

Companies, etc.


  • Bass DrumRM* (tracks: A2 to B1, B4, B4, C2 to D1)
  • Bass Guitar [Electric]AH* (tracks: A1 to C3)
  • Design [Cover Design]Blixa Bargeld
  • Design [Cover]Béla Stetzer, Gerwin Schmidt
  • Electric GuitarJA* (tracks: A3 to A5, B3, B4, C2 to D1)
  • Electric Guitar [Slide]BB* (tracks: A1, B3, C1)
  • Lyrics ByBlixa Bargeld
  • Mastered ByMichael Schwabe
  • Mixed By, Recorded ByBoris Wilsdorf
  • Percussion [Metal]AC* (tracks: A4, B3, C2, D1), RM* (tracks: A2, A4 to B1, B3 to C3, D1)
  • Percussion [Plastic]RM* (tracks: A4, A5, B4, C2, D1)
  • Photography – Anno Dittmer, Thomas Rabsch
  • ProducerBoris Wilsdorf, Einstürzende Neubauten
  • Recorded By [Assistant Conny's Studio], Mixed By [Assistant Conny's Studio]Marc Weis
  • Recorded By [Assistant Trixx], Mixed By [Assistant Trixx]Peter Funke
  • VocalsBB* (tracks: A1 to B1, B3 to D2)
  • Written-ByHacke* (tracks: A1 to C4, D2), Chudy* (tracks: A1 to C4, D2), Bargeld* (tracks: A1 to C4, D2), Arbeit* (tracks: A3, B3, B4, C2, C3), Moser* (tracks: A3, A5, B3, B4, C2, C3)


Recorded and mixed at Schwedenstrasse, Hansa and Trixx Studios, Berlin and at Conny's Studio, Wolperath, Germany between April 1998 and January 2000. Mastered at Skyline, Düsseldorf.

℗ + © 2011 Potomak & Einstürzende Neubauten
Made in Germany.

180g audiophile pressing.
Released in a gatefold-sleeve with printed inner sleeves.

First 500 orders from neubauten.org received with a limited edition pack of "Silence is sexy" matches.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 4 047179 570510
  • Label Code: LC 07149

Other Versions (5 of 16) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
RTD 100.0001.2 Einstürzende Neubauten Silence Is Sexy(CD, Album, Dig) Rough Trade, Potomak RTD 100.0001.2 Germany 2000 Sell This Version
RTD 100.0002.2 Einstürzende Neubauten Silence Is Sexy(2xCD, Album, Ltd, Dig) Rough Trade, Potomak RTD 100.0002.2 Germany 2000 Sell This Version
gh 002 Einstürzende Neubauten Silence Is Sexy(2xLP, Album, Ltd) Rough Trade, Potomak gh 002 Germany 2000 Sell This Version
CD STUMM 182 Einstürzende Neubauten Silence Is Sexy(2xCD, Album, Dig) Mute CD STUMM 182 France 2000 Sell This Version
CDSTUMM182 Einstürzende Neubauten Silence Is Sexy(2xCD, Album, Dig) Mute CDSTUMM182 UK 2000 Sell This Version



Add Review



January 9, 2019
Sound is a solid 8/10, vinyl is quiet. Good repress.