Kelly David ‎– Broken Voyage

Rocky Mountain Records ‎– RMR0001
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Off The Map 16:59
2 Coastwatcher 4:07
3 Shadow Side
Percussion [Electro Groove] – Steve RoachPercussion [Hand Percussion] – Kailani Yaksich
4 Buka Passage
Percussion [Hand Percussion] – Kailani YaksichPercussion [Whisper Groove, Ambient Percussion] – Steve Roach
5 Cargo Cult
Guitar – Michael Brugman
6 Coastwatcher Reprise 3:53

Companies, etc.


  • Composed By, Recorded By, Producer, Synthesizer [Analog And Digital], Percussion, Performer [Samples, Ambient Field Recordings], Programmed ByKelly David
  • Design [Graphic]Sam Rosenthal
  • Edited ByGene Splice
  • Mastered ByRoger King (2)
  • Mixed By, Art Direction, Performer [Spatial Enhancements On All Tracks]Steve Roach
  • Photography ByMatthew Zinn


Original sound sources composed and recorded at the Edge, Denver, Colorado.
Final mix at the Timeroom, Tucson, Arizona.
Digital editing at the Chop Shop, Tucson, Arizona.

Packaging: Standard jewel case with transparent tray with 4-panel front insert
Total Time: 64:02
©℗2002 Area P-56 Music, BMI

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 6 34479 28562 2
  • Matrix / Runout: bv441 U032502



Add Review



January 4, 2012
edited over 5 years ago

Kelly David "Broken Voyage" CD

Debut album of Kelly David, Colorado based sound journeyer is dated back to 2002 and released on his own Rocky Mountain Records. "Broken Voyage" is initiated with 17-minute overture entitled "Off The Map" and sculpted by highly attractive industrial elements, Mors codes, strange voice samples, field recordings... and drones, all wrapped in richly colored and freshly effective alterations and movements. Sailing through various territories, ranging from atmospheric industrial through rhythm-infused to ultra deep droning. An amazing start of this spectacular sea expedition! "Coastwatcher" is observed though deep misty sceneries by cavernous heavy drone mastery enriched with diverse beaconing environmental sounds. Another superb piece! Dense drones overlap to the next composition, a 22-plus minutes long opus "Shadow Side" featuring as guests Steve Roach (electro groove) and Kailani Yaksich (hand percussion). Soon we hear invading echoed primal rumbling sounds welcoming us in deeply mysterious realms. Later we are shifted into trancey groove heavy beats sounding like a speedy train roaring down the tracks. But around 13th minute the texture glides into slightly peaceful floating structure colored with industrial rumbles and gurgles, transmission voices and trancey grooves hidden on the background. But always extensively textured and effectively intense. Certainly another masterful performance!!! "Buka Passage", again with both above guests in action, is flavored with strong organics where softly tinkling bells and aerial washes become at times more massive. Gently colorful and extremely tranquil soundscaping! Highly mesmerizing trancey cyber grooves fragrance the following piece, "Cargo Cult", presenting a new guest, Michael Brugman on guitar. Again moving across diverse passages, from minimal pulses and beats through more dramatic and massive to experimentally eclectic funky-charged ventures with buzzing electric guitar. Kelly David at his most adventurous and weird!!! "Coastwatcher Reprise" is wrapped in celestial atmosonics and enriched by gradually spiraling dramatic passages, a fine outro! I don't know how much praised was this album after its release by the audience, but I feel this amazingly distinguished work showcasing tremendous talent and potential of its creator still remains unexplored. Undeservingly!!! Only two albums are on Kelly David's credit, but both of them are top-notch, this guy definitely deserves much more attention!!! As a bonus you get with "Broken Voyage" top sound quality, mixing by Steve Roach and mastering by Roger King, and stunningly looking artwork designed by Sam Rosenthal. "Broken Voyage" is without any doubt a hidden treasure!!! And just the same as with Kelly David's second "Angkor" album, I still keep on dreaming about his next sonic wizardry...

Richard Gürtler (Jan 04, 2012, Bratislava, Slovakia)