Various ‎– The Fruit Of The Original Sin

2 × Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Reissue

Tracklist Hide Credits

A Means To An End
A1 Peter Gordon The Fruit Of The Original Sin
Recorded By, Engineer, Mixed By, Producer – Peter Gordon
A2 The French Impressionists Boo Boo's Gone Mambo
Bass – Campbell*Engineer – Davy HendersonGuitar – Roddy*Piano – Malcolm FisherVocals – Paul Quinne*
A3 The French Impressionists My Guardian Angel
Bass – Campbell*Engineer – Davy HendersonGuitar – Roddy*Piano – Malcolm FisherVocals – Paul Quinne*
A4 Durutti Column* The Eye And The Hand
Written-By, Producer – Vini Reilly
A5 Soft Verdict Multiple 12
Viola – Frans VosWritten-By, Producer – Wim Mertens
A6 Cécile Bruynoghe Clair De Lune
Composed By – Claude Debussy
A7 Marine (2) A Man And A Woman
Mixed By [Live Mix] – Russell WebbWritten-By – Francis Lai
A Rhythm
B1 Paul Haig Mad Horses
Engineer – Wilf SmartiesProducer – Paul*
B2 Marine (2) Animal In My Head
Written-By, Producer – Marine (2)
B3 323 Affectionate Silence
Bass – Mick DeutzDrums – Gerrit BosVocals, Guitar, Bass, Synthesizer – Harold Schellinckx*
B4 Swamp Children Flesh
Producer – Simon Topping
B5 DNA (4) Taking Kid To School
Written-By, Producer – Arto Lindsay, Ikué Mori*, Tim Wright (2)
B6 DNA (4) Cop Buys A Donut
Written-By, Producer – Arto Lindsay, Ikué Mori*, Tim Wright (2)
B7 DNA (4) Delivering The Goods
Written-By, Producer – Arto Lindsay, Ikué Mori*, Tim Wright (2)
A Purpose
C1 Rhine River III An End Remains 3:49
C2 Richard Jobson The Happiness Of Lonely
Soloist, Piano – Virginia AstleyWritten-By [Poem], Voice – Richard Jobson
C3 Marguerite Duras Interview With Marguerite Duras
Music By [Background Music - "A Long Absence"] – Virginia AstleyProducer – Annie Declerck
C4 Richard Jobson India Song 4:24
C5 The Names Music For Someone 1:55
C6 Unknown Artist Unknown Title 0:16
A Landscape
D1 Orange Juice (3) Three Cheers For Our Side
Engineer – Davy HendersonWritten-By – James Kirk (2)
D2 Thick Pigeon Sudan (Acoustic)
Cello – Arthur RussellDrums – Ikué Mori*Piano – Carter BurwellProducer – Ed Bahlman
D3 Durutti Column* Party 3:35
D4 Arthur Russell Sketch For 'Face Of Helen' 3:44
D5 Durutti Column* Experiment In Fifth 3:37
D6 Winston Tong The Next Best Thing To Death
Music By [Music Generated By, During Concert On October 2, 1981 In Plan K, Brussels] – Tuxedomoon
D7 WS.Burroughs* Twilight's Last Gleaming
Producer – James Grauerholz

Companies, etc.



In gatefold sleeve.
Track C4 not listed on insert/label.
Track C6 not listed on insert/label. It sounds like a soundbite from a movie (Orchestral score, a woman asks "Can I Help You, Sir", man replies "You're Wasting Your Time")

Includes track A7, a 4 page gatefold insert, has printed inner sleeves and A-side matrix etchings in Hungarian.

A1: Recorded, engineered, mixed, produced in 1h15min. Brussels July 25, 1981.
A2, A3: Recorded in June 1982. This was the first somewhat shambolic recording of the group one week old with their only song at the time, Roddy and Campbell of Aztec Camera stood in on guitar and bass. Engineered on his four track studio.
A4: Written and produced sometime in 1980 in Brussels, published by the Movement of the 24th January Publishing.
A5: Recorded in Brussels May 8, 1981.
A7: Recorded in Hell July 13, 1981, published by Saravah Éditions.
B1: Recorded at Wilfs Planet in Edinburgh on April 27, 1981, Paul is also singing in Josef K.
B2: Recorded in Brussels, June 3, 1981
B3: Recorded in Amsterdam, March 81, working on top of a bass/drum basis on TEAC 4 track.
B4: Recorded at Hologram, Manchester on July 9, 1981
B5 to B7: Written and produced in early 1981, was used as soundtrack to Squat Theater's "Mr. Dead And Mr. Free", published by Upside Publishing (BMI)
C2: Homage to Marguerite Duras, poem by Richard Jobson, recorded in Townhouse Studios, London, June 22, 1981.
C3: Realisée en Avril 1981.
D1: Recorded at Hellfine Club in June 1981, Glasgow, please note that this song will be re-recorded in a different version for their first LP "You Can't Hide Love Forever". published by Postcard Publishing.
D2: A town, NYC; A shy girl, Miranda and impressions fading away, recorded at Sorcerer Studios.
D3: Sad Song by Vini Reilly, that was a tragedy.
D5: Experimental piece using the intervals of a fifth.
D6: Incantation. Recorded in Brussels on October 3, 1981. Music generated during concert on October 2, 1981 in Plan K, Brussels
D7: Reading from the Red Night Tour with John Giorno, Keystone Corner, San Francisco, May 16, 1981, this is the first appearance of Dr. Benway, this is also a mixing experience reading recorded both from the audience and the from the dressing room.

The Zebras by Vasarely are dedicated to Martyn Atkins.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A): TWI 035 - A 58289 "SZOTLAN SZERELMED VESZEEIBEN VAN MINDING"
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B): TWI 035 B//58290-1
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C): TWI 035-C//58371-1
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D): TWI 035-D//58372-1

Other Versions (5 of 6) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
twi 035 Various The Fruit Of The Original Sin(2xLP, Comp) Les Disques Du Crépuscule twi 035 Belgium 1981 Sell This Version
VDP-5151 Various The Fruit Of The Original Sin(CD, Comp, RE) Les Disques Du Crépuscule VDP-5151 Japan 1988 Sell This Version
IPCD 72002 Various The Fruit Of The Original Sin(CD, Comp) Interphon IPCD 72002 Germany 1987 Sell This Version
TWI 035-2 Various The Fruit Of The Original Sin(CD, Comp, RE) Les Disques Du Crépuscule TWI 035-2 Belgium 1989 Sell This Version
LTMCD 2497 Various The Fruit Of The Original Sin(2xCD, Comp, RE, RM) LTM (4) LTMCD 2497 UK 2007 Sell This Version



Add Review



October 26, 2014
My copy has labels on B and C side in blue and not in cream as pics seen here. Pressed in Belgium 1981. TWI035.