2 For Sale from $104.17


  • Have:148
  • Want:153
  • Avg Rating:4.6 / 5
  • Ratings:45
  • Last Sold:
  • Lowest:$26.04
  • Median:$31.25
  • Highest:$39.99

Videos (4)



Label:Space Cadets – NASA003
Vinyl, 12", 33 ⅓ RPM, EP
Style:Drum n Bass, Experimental, Ambient, Halftime



Companies, etc.

  • Pressed ByMPO



Track durations not listed on release.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A runout, etched): NASA 003 A NS MPO
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B runout, etched): NASA 003 B MPO

Other Versions (1)View All

Title (Format)LabelCat#CountryYear
New Submission
TMA-1 EP (4×File, WAV, EP)Space CadetsNASA003UK2012


djPXM's avatar
Space Cadets head honcho Empire describes the ethos of the label as ‘deep cosmic space music’, and this offering certainly fits the bill. It’s very much a blurring of the lines between Drum & Bass and other forms of electronic music; with the focus being on atmosphere and mood-altering soundscapes. The title track ‘TMA-1’ is a brooding, sparse roller with building tribal and filtered percussion throughout. Of the four tunes, it’s the most geared to the dancefloor, and reminds of the sort of material you’d hear scene stalwarts such as Doc Scott playing out these days. A menacing bass-line lurks beneath throughout to keep your head moving. When you move on to the rest of the E.P., melody and progression become the key words. In a pleasing display of musical variation the remaining three tracks create a sci-fi influenced environment; in line with ‘cosmic’ philosophy of the label. One could be forgiven for dreaming up accompanying images of deep space, black holes and the like. ‘Aqualoops’ is essentially a progressive ambient track at 170 BPM; mesmerising, lush synthesiser sounds float into your ears accompanied by a subtle clicking beat. It continues to develop as a deep reese bassline growls in gently underneath and layer on layer of samples are added, fitting right in with recent releases in the scene by the likes of Sunchase and Unquote.

Within all of the seductive music found here; progression is very much the key word. It’s borderline impossible to get fed up with any of it as rich elements are consistently being added throughout, meaning by the end of each song you’re full encapsulated by the spacey and distinctive vibe ASC has created. ‘Esper’, the highlight of the E.P., is something you’d be forgiven for leaving on repeat for a long time indeed. It’s an astoundingly lovely piece of music; beginning with clean, glitchy percussion and a thumping bass accompanied by Burial style vocal samples and twinkling melodies which flitter in and out of your consciousness. The initial eerie mood changes gloriously a few minutes into the track as it transforms into pure electronic euphoria; heavenly lush high choirs and vocals are added. Final tune ‘Sarang’ certainly doesn’t relent the musical quality; a dubby bassline vibrating through layers of clicky beats and uncanny, atmospheric samples.

The ‘Tma-1’ E.P. is of the highest quality and with four tracks fitted on to the 12” this is one mouth-wateringly diverse release and well worth the money. For Space Cadets it’s a continuation on into musical maturity from the first two releases by Russian producer Oak, certainly suggested to any fan of this style. To top it off, aesthetically, the vinyl cover is lovely, one for the collectors and vinyl heads out there. This is recommended to fans of electronic music in general, James Clements is a man at the top of his game and worthy of your attention.