Classix Nouveaux ‎– Night People

Cherry Red ‎– CD MRED 234
CD, Album, Reissue


1 Foreward 3:22
2 Guilty 4:39
3 Run Away 2:39
4 No Sympathy, No Violins 4:04
5 Inside Outside 4:18
6 623 2:27
7 Every Home Should Have One 3:54
8 Tokyo 2:38
9 Or A Movie 4:28
10 Soldier 3:43
11 The Protector Of Night 5:20
Bonus Tracks
12 The Robot's Dance 3:53
13 Nasty Little Green Men 3:13
14 Test Tube Babies 2:44
15 Night People 3:51
16 Old World For Sale 2:34
17 627 2:28
18 We Don't Bite 3:23

Companies, etc.



Reissue with tracks 12 to 18 being bonus tracks.
Originally Released in May 1981 on Liberty

Special thanks: Malcolm Mellows, Paul Boswell & The Cast Of Thousands, Charles Robin Kilgore, Tom Foster, Tim Madgwick

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 5 013929 123427
  • Barcode (String): 5013929123427
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI LP30
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 0734
  • Matrix / Runout: 50782600/CDMRED284 01

Other Versions (5 of 19) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
LBG 30325 Classix Nouveaux Night People(LP, Album, Gat) Liberty LBG 30325 UK 1981 Sell This Version
K28P-180 Classix Nouveaux Night People(LP, Album, Gat) Liberty K28P-180 Japan 1981 Sell This Version
31C 064 83143D Classix Nouveaux Night People(LP, Album, Gat) Liberty 31C 064 83143D Brazil 1981 Sell This Version
LSLIB 73127, LBG 30325 Classix Nouveaux Night People(LP, Album) Jugoton, Liberty LSLIB 73127, LBG 30325 Yugoslavia 1981 Sell This Version
TC-LBG 30325, 0C 262-83 143 Classix Nouveaux Night People(Cass, Album) Liberty, EMI TC-LBG 30325, 0C 262-83 143 UK 1981 Sell This Version



Add Review



March 25, 2005
edited over 12 years ago
The problem with many new wave bands is that they were producing music for kids - or better, kids who felt unlikely to the rest of the world labeled as 'usual'. The moment you outgrow such attitudes and start thinking conventionally, you will realise that groups like Classix Nouveaux which you fancied once so much, feel quite a shallow story. 'Night People' is a sort-of 'phantom of the opera'-styled rock with electronic touches here and there but obviously owing a great deal of debts to Ultravox. The opening number 'Forward' should've been a better choice if only left a merge of sequencers than later on added guitars and drums which destroyed it completely. 'Guilty', fares much better here on the LP than later single version, and remains one of the album's highlights. Occasionally, Sal Solo's operatic vocals might be of unusual quality to the whole if only he didn't use its patterns on more than one occasion ('Run Away', 'Every Home Should have One', 'Tokyo', 'Or a Movie', 'The Robot Dance') which proved far more annoying than of certain charm, which, generally speaking, there is. '623' is a powerful standout with synth-driven beats in a reggae-style, proving Classix Nouveaux could've been as innovative as their name suggests - this way it is a classic case of some quasi-Gothic, Nosferatu-misticism.