Propaganda ‎– Wishful Thinking (Is Disturbdances Of Five Songs)

Salvo ‎– SALVOCD055, ZTT ‎– Element 23
CD, Album, Reissue, Remastered, Gatefold Cardboard Sleeve

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Abuse 3:30
2 Machined 6:54
3 Laughed! 8:54
4 Loving 0:47
5 Jewelled 7:44
6 Loved 6:43
7 Abuse 4:18
8 Thought 2:38
9 Strength To Dream (Outtake 04.02.84)
Engineer – Stephen LipsonEngineer [Assistant] – Paul Gomersall
10 p:Machinery (The Beta Wraparound)
Guitar – John McGeoch
11 The Murder Of Love (Murderous Instrumental)
Engineer – Bob Kraushaar, Stephen LipsonEngineer [Assistant] – Mike Drake*
12 Dr Mabuse (Outtake 24.04.85)
Producer [Assistant] – Mike Drake*
13 Frozen Faces (A Secret Sense Of Rhythm)
Producer [Assistant] – Bob Kraushaar
14 p:Machinery (The Voiceless Beta Wraparound Edit)
Guitar – John McGeoch

Companies, etc.



[exact release title on sleeve spine and disc]
'WISHFUL THINKING' is disturbdances of five songs by Propaganda

[front cover and booklet cover]
(for the footsteps and the heartbeats of the connoisseur)
is disturbdances of five songs

[sticker on shrinkwrap]
"Propaganda Remixed / The Classic Remix Album of A Secret Wish, Remastered, featuring: Duel (Jewelled), Dr Mabuse, and p:Machinery + five previously-unreleased bonus tracks. / Element 23 / SALVOCD055 / ZTT "maddened"".

[on sleeve inside]
There is, surprisingly, a remarkable ferocity in all this (this being ZTT’s wishful, bashful Element Series) – but can it be carried too far? Wishful Thinking – reactivated with intent – appears as part 23 in the Element Series. A product of Zang Tuum Tumb, the organisation of pop. Coming next? No more clues...

[in booklet]
All tracks sourced from original master tapes except for '(the beta wraparound of) p:Machinery'. Zang Tuum Tumb was unable to retrieve the original master for this track. Instead, a new master has been created for this release, based on multiple vinyl transfers, which significantly improves on the quality of the vinyl transfer which appeared on WEA Japan’s 1994 CD edition of A Secret Wish.
With thanks to Chas Chandler (Salvo), Alan Kading (Perfect Songs), Dean Murphy and Andrew Popplewell (Advanced Music Restoration) and Ian Usher (Tumb Modern).
All tracks published by Perfect Songs, except 'Laughed' by Complete Music/Domino Publishing Company.
All tracks ℗ + © 1985 ZTT Records, except tracks 09, 11-14 ℗ + © 2012 ZTT Records.

[on sleeve back]
Tracks 9, 11, 12, 13, 14 >> previously unreleased. Total running time >> 74:30.
℗ 2012 ZTT Records Ltd, under exclusive license to Union Square Music Ltd.
© 2012 ZTT Records Ltd / Union Square Music Ltd. Salvo is a Union Square Music label
Further information: and
A Union Square Production

[on disc]
Manufactured in the EU.
- - -

Tri-fold cardboard sleeve, approx. 13,2x13,5 cm
12-page booklet: credits, photos, 'Curator's Commentary' by Ian Peel

In the booklet, in the notes to 'Curator's Commentary', track numbers refer to the wrong bonus tracks. In 'H', 1 & 5 should read 1 & 4. In 'N', 3 & 2 should read 2 & 5.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 698458815521
  • Rights Society: MCPS
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1): | SALVOCD055 | *052946 |
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2 and 3): | SALVOCD055 | *053710 |
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 1, 2 and 3): IFPI L011
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1 and 3): IFPI 5Q93
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 5085

Other Versions (5 of 26) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
ZAS 20 Propaganda Wishful Thinking(LP, Album) ZTT ZAS 20 UK 1985 Sell This Version
L 18005 Propaganda Wishful Thinking(LP, Album) Island Records L 18005 Australia 1985 Sell This Version
I 207.408 Propaganda Wishful Thinking(LP, Album) Island Records I 207.408 Spain 1986 Sell This Version
CZAS 20 Propaganda Wishful Thinking(Cass, Album) ZTT CZAS 20 UK 1985 Sell This Version
ZTT 119 CD Propaganda Wishful Thinking(CD, Album, RE, RP) ZTT ZTT 119 CD UK 1999 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 4 Reviews

Add Review



June 4, 2012
Remix albums can be hit or miss affairs, more often miss than hit. The original release of this album in 1985 was a commercial miss, although in the true ZTT style of contradiction, the material contained within was a hit with the fans of it’s authors. Paul Morley & Bob Kraushaar deconstructed Propaganda’s debut parent album “A Secret Wish”, then reconstructed, remixed, re-edited and reshaped it into the rebellious, all dancing “Wishful Thinking”. At the time the group were one the first acts to put out an entire remix album, and perhaps the first to release one with all exclusive mixes.

For almost 27 years Action Series number 20 has remained untouched, until now. With a new running time of 74 minutes and 30 seconds, this new expanded edition becomes number 23 in the ZTT/Salvo Element Series and features no less than 5 previously unreleased tracks from the archives. This latest addition to the series does not disappoint the listener as a lot of thought, effort and time have been put into making the additional “Deviations” tracks blend perfectly with the original “Disturbdances”.

Including additional tracks to any album can be tricky at the best of times as quite often they become nothing more than fillers, however this is a fine example of getting it right and actually improving a release rather than reducing the impact of a well loved classic. Thankfully only one disc is included, a second would have alienated the listener and disrupted the perfect balance of the material. However well intentioned the 2002 “Outside World” remix compilation album may have been, it never had the same impact, elegance or perfection that “Wishful Thinking” has, and now all of those qualities have been given a new lease of life.


May 2, 2012
My GOD!!! With all the re-releases, when will they ever finally put the original 7" mix of "Jewel" on CD???? It's unutterably frustrating - absolutely my favourite of all their tracks....