NJoi* ‎– Mindflux / Malfunction / Phoenix / Rhythm Zone

RCA ‎– 07863 62162-1
Vinyl, 12", 33 ⅓ RPM, EP


A1 Mindflux 6:41
A2 Malfunction 4:20
B1 Phoenix 4:49
B2 Rhythm Zone 5:27

Companies, etc.



Tmk(s) ® Registered • Marca(s) Registrada(s) General Electric, USA. BMG logo ® BMG Music © 1991 BMG Music • Manufactured and distributed by BMG Music, New York, N.Y.

EMI Music Publishing Ltd.
℗ 1991 BMG Records (UK) Limited
TMK(s)® General Electric Corp.-U.S.A.
Made in U.S.A.

Manufactured and distributed by RCA Records, a label of BMG Music.

Incidental info:
Mastered at The Hit Factory, DMS, NYC
Pressed at Specialty Records Corp

Artist is credited as NJoi on the picture sleeve, but as N-Joi on the center labels.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Label side A): 07863 62162-1-A
  • Matrix / Runout (Label side B): 07863 62162-1-B
  • Matrix / Runout (Full inscription side A): 07863-62162-1 A – 2 1-1 DMS cg☮ SRC
  • Matrix / Runout (Full inscription side B): 07863-62162-1 B – 1 1-1 SRC
  • Matrix / Runout (Etchings side A): 07863-62162-1 A – 2 1-1 DMS cg☮
  • Matrix / Runout (Etchings side B): 07863-62162-1 B – 1 1-1
  • Matrix / Runout (Machine stamp, both sides): SRC
  • Barcode (Label text): 78636 21621
  • Barcode (Jacket text): 0 7863-62162-1
  • Barcode (Scanned): 078636216218

Other Versions (5 of 6) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
07863-62162-4 N-Joi Mindflux(Cass, Single) RCA 07863-62162-4 US 1991 Sell This Version
RDCD62162-1 N-Joi Mindflux / Malfunction(12", TP) RCA RDCD62162-1 US 1991 Sell This Version
RDJ 62238-2 N-Joi Mindflux(CD, Single, Promo) RCA, Deconstruction RDJ 62238-2 US 1992 Sell This Version
RI 0027 N-Joi Exito BMG Garantizado(12", EP, Promo) BMG RI 0027 Colombia 1992 Sell This Version
07863 62162-2, 07863-62162-2, 62162-2 NJoi* Mindflux / Malfunction / Phoenix / Rhythm Zone(CD, EP) RCA, RCA, RCA, Deconstruction, Deconstruction, Deconstruction 07863 62162-2, 07863-62162-2, 62162-2 US 1991 Sell This Version



Add Review



December 13, 2010
edited over 5 years ago

An outstanding EP of techno from England's legendary rave band n-joi.

Mindflux begins proceedings, and it is rightly the lead track. Massive 'ardkore riffs thunder over classic vocal samples ("Drop The Bass Now", "Rock Your Soul To Make A Building Shake" etc), and some twisting acid lines à la Carlos Peron / Recall IV really make this a proper oldschool anthem. Mindflux indeed!

Malfunction is an earlier track that was previously included as a b-side to n-joi's 1990 classic "Anthem".

A rasping mid-range bassline-cum-riff stings the ears over excellently executed percussion, so it's an obvious inclusion on this US EP.

Phoenix starts off to all intents and purposes like a Prodigy track of the same era, a tight breakbeat grooving over spacey sfx and sub-bass. Bizarrely, it fades out halfway through to introduce a completely different track. This impression is not gained because of the fadeout, but through sheer difference in style. A chunky, electro bassline throbs under a Chicago (think Armando - 100% Of Disin' You) riff and things could not be any more different to the music that was playing in the same track literally a minute earlier!

It really doesn't work to play Phoenix as a whole track, it just sounds wrong.

Thankfully Rhythm Zone restores the EP back to some form of credibility. Very Detroit in flavour but with a Chicago nod to acid, it's much less busy than the a-side tracks but no less effective. The bassline drop halfway through is just lethal when the hi-hats kick in, one of those short but sweet moments just guaranteed to light up a dancefloor (think the stuttering kick break in Daft Punk's "Revolution 909").

All in all, a great EP that managed to bring some proper UK rave-infused-techno to the States.