mundayschild

808 State - Pacific mundayschild

September 2, 2017
Landmark, one of those tunes we can all (just about) remember where we were when we first heard it.
Chemically altered or not. In a field or a sweaty basement club somewhere, or a warehouse, on pirate, on the M25, in a club in Leeds...
Still sounds as fresh today as it did back then.
annexxe

808 State - Pacific annexxe

August 15, 2017

Almost 30 years and it is still fresh as fuck.
xza23

808 State - Pacific xza23

October 10, 2017
This is just crazy how ahead of the time they were.
dgpmusic

808 State - Pacific as reviewed by dgpmusic

July 30, 2017
edited over 3 years ago
One of the most influential dance tracks out there, very chill. I love this track so much that I can't even put it into words. 808 FOR LIFE!!
Deeplicious-DJ

808 State - Pacific as reviewed by Deeplicious-DJ

August 6, 2013
edited over 7 years ago
The story on a Guy Called Gerald is new to me. I guess I never got into the complete story. Never the less this is my all time favorite. The first time I ever saw / heard this track was on MTV party zone. It never got out of my system. And even today it's still one of best electronic records ever. Pacific 202 covers al large spectrum of fantastic sounds. The perfect mixing will keep it standing out for ever!!
Veroli

808 State - Pacific as reviewed by Veroli

July 14, 2012
edited over 8 years ago
It's interesting to see when people feel to have to make a comment on this record. There are years between the single reviews. Kind of space travelers land on planet discogs.com to leave an impression. In a galaxy far, far away :) I would like to comment the review from squishmusic: today this record is already 23 years old and still an all-time classic, it will always stay fresh.
yarham

808 State - Pacific as reviewed by yarham

December 21, 2011
edited over 9 years ago

This is the originl pioneering jazzy techno masterpiece that I am sure inspired Underground Resistance's World 2 World and Nation 2 Nation, as well as inspiring Dave Angel and Red Planet. This release is so smooth and easy on the ears. This tune has got to be one of the all time top 10 techno tracks of all time. AMAZING!
Record_Claw

808 State - Pacific Record_Claw

December 22, 2011

I think this track inspired many artists and many many listeners. Its like the foundation stone of electronic music IMO, not because it was the first (because it isn't) but because it is the most beautiful!
bass12

808 State - Pacific as reviewed by bass12

February 11, 2008

Do we need another review of this record? Well, it is an acid-house milestone and, I believe, just about as good as instrumental electronic music of any sort can get. Yep, this track is just about perfect - and all of the variations (including those mixes not found here) are equally enjoyable. In terms of who wrote the piece (as there seems to be some disagreement on the subject), I guess only the guys from 808 really know for sure. What I've heard (for what it's worth) is that Gerald Simpson wrote the bassline (and not the entire track). Regardless, this remains the track I play for people who don't know "techno" or "acid house" - just to show them how good it can get.
Universe

808 State - Pacific as reviewed by Universe

September 30, 2006
edited over 14 years ago

This is one of the most important and best electronic releases of all time. Along with 'Voodoo Ray' by A Guy Called Gerald (a former 808 State member, and allegedly he wrote 'Pacific' anyway) which charted about the same time, these two records were the first time that the original Detroit techno pioneers were surpassed.

'Pacific' is pure mastery. It's like a jazz tune from the planet liquid techno. Absolutely every sound, from the rain forest samples through to the wiggly acid is perfect.

Those who listen to this with a brand new cartridges and a top of the range amp & speakers will be rewarded with hitherto unheard sounds revealing themselves.

Look out for the promo video as well, one of the first computer animated videos for a techno record.

A release that simply refuses to show any signs of ageing.
squishmusic

808 State - Pacific as reviewed by squishmusic

October 20, 2004
edited over 16 years ago

Yes indeed its hard to believe this track is 15...I said 15 years old!!!
F**king ace
I t was the track that turned me away from listening to erasure/psb and launched me into dance music
I even bought a keyboard, played it on it and was producing my own stuff 4 years later
thanks 808 doods!!!
THE best dance record for me with those lush chords and sexy sax solo
I mean sexy not sickening like all sax solos are on TV;)
squishmusic

808 State - Pacific squishmusic

December 12, 2019

30 years and still going strong. I had the pleasure last December to finally see 808 live and ofc this track took the house (well club) down (and up)!
squishmusic

808 State - Pacific squishmusic

April 13, 2012

Happy 23rd birthday! Still awesome.
knife_of_justice

808 State - Pacific as reviewed by knife_of_justice

July 17, 2004
edited over 16 years ago
It's so ahead of it's time. It's hard to believe it shared its UK chart run with Debbie Harry's "I Want That Man" !
charliemingpot

808 State - Pacific as reviewed by charliemingpot

May 25, 2003
Sorry, just a follow on from that - it actually first appreared on 808 State 'Quadrastate'(1989 UK 6-Trk 12" E.P. incl. "Pacific State", "106", "State Ritual", "Disco State", "Fire Cracker", "State To State" p/s - STATE004)
charliemingpot

808 State - Pacific as reviewed by charliemingpot

May 25, 2003
You say ripped off, but did you know it was originally penned by Gerald Simspon AKA A Guy Called Gerald. He joined The Hit Squad during the eighties which became 808 State. It took a long time for the truth to surface that it was actually Gerald who wrote 'Pacific State'. After a long dispute Gerald received public acknowledgement as a writer of this ground breaking title.
rev.robert

808 State - Pacific as reviewed by rev.robert

November 21, 2002

this song came like a breath of fresh air, when it seemed that i was about to give up on dance music. this opened a lot of doors for me.