dj_norf_yurksha

Sasha And John Digweed* - Northern Exposure as reviewed by dj_norf_yurksha

June 29, 2019
As the LP is now ultra rare/expensive I have added extra info to the tracklisting like labels released on and year to help buyers find the right mixes of tracks they want on vinyl/CD/Beatport etc. Yes I was bored haha :-)

CD1 0°/North:
1-1 Keiichi Suzuki / Satellite Serenade (Transasianexpress Mix) Remix by The Orb (WAU! Mr. Modo) 1992
1-2 The Future Sound Of London / Cascade (Part 1) Virgin 93
1-3 Young American Primitive / These Waves (ZoeMagik) 92
1-4 God Within / Raincry (Submerged) (Hardkiss) 93
1-5 Rabbit In The Moon / Out Of Body Experience *Which mix folks?* (Hardkiss) 94
1-6 Morgan King / I'm Free (Playdo's Minimalist Mix + The Full-Length La Serrena Mix) (Btech) 91
1-7 Ultraviolet / Kites (Fantasy Flite Part One) Remix by Purple Haze (Big Life) 1990
1-8 Fuzzy Logic Feat. Eirie* / Obsession (Quantum Loop Mix) Remix by William Orbit (Guerilla) 92
1-9 William Orbit Feat. Beth Orton / Water From A Vine Leaf (Xylem Flow Mix) Remix by Spooky (Guerilla/Virgin) 93
1-10 Apollo 440 / Liquid Cool (Deep Forest Ice Cold @ The Equator Mix) Remix by Deep Forest (Stealth Sonic) 94
1-11 Banco De Gaia / Last Train To Lhasa (Original Version) (Planet Dog/Ultimate) 95

CD 2 0°/South
2-1 Dope On Plastic / Wave Dub (Wave) 94
2-2 Drum Club / Sound System (Underworld Mix) (Big Life/Butterfly) 93
2-3 Castle Trancelot (by Patrick Prins) / The Gloom (From Indoctrinate E.P.) (Slate) 95
2-4 Peter* Lazonby / Wavespeech (The Guitar Song) (Junior Vasquez Mix) (Pagoda/Brainiak) 95
2-5 Evolution / Phoenix (This wasn't released as a single on vinyl until 1999?) (Fluid)
2-6 The Light / Dusk (AAA Records) 96
2-7 X-Tracks / Plan '94 (The Voyage) (Off Sound) 94
2-8 Mellow Mellow / I Can't Stop (Parrot Trance) (Caroline/Music Man) 93
2-9 Banco De Gaia / Heliopolis (Eedupolis Dog Mix) Remix – Andy Guthrie, Michael Dog (Ultimate/Planet Dog) 94
2-10 Humate & Rabbit In The Moon / East (The Opium Den Mix) Remix – Rabbit In The Moon (Superstition) 95
2-11 Underworld / Dark & Long (Dark Train) (Junior Boy's Own) 94

Feel free to add anything that is usefull
teamcowper

Sasha And John Digweed* - Northern Exposure as reviewed by teamcowper

February 22, 2019
Who really cares if the North album was mixed on computer or turntables or thoughts and prayers? It contains a legendary selection of progressive electronic music that still gives me chills 20 years later...until those three house songs in the middle! It is truly jarring to experience some of the most engaging and beautiful sounds ever made in techno music (first 5 tracks), only to have some truly out-of-place vocal songs come along to make you want to rip your headphones off! It recovers somewhat before the end, but it's a little painful getting there! Oh well, I would argue most DJs have put songs on mixes that they wish they could take back years later...I wonder how Sasha & Digweed feel about this one?
Jughead_Joneser

Sasha And John Digweed* - Northern Exposure Jughead_Joneser

February 16, 2020
edited 10 months ago
dr2016
It matters that they let everyone believe they did it themselves on decks at a time when most people didn't even know that you could use software to make a fake mix like this one. Real dj's don't lie. They mix LIVE. Some people have standards even if you don't.


...and some people are uppity, self-entitled, pedantic tossers.
dr2016

Sasha And John Digweed* - Northern Exposure dr2016

September 17, 2019
teamcowper
Who really cares if the North album was mixed on computer or turntables or thoughts and prayers? It contains a legendary selection of progressive electronic music that still gives me chills 20 years later...until those three house songs in the middle! It is truly jarring to experience some of the most engaging and beautiful sounds ever made in techno music (first 5 tracks), only to have some truly out-of-place vocal songs come along to make you want to rip your headphones off! It recovers somewhat before the end, but it's a little painful getting there! Oh well, I would argue most DJs have put songs on mixes that they wish they could take back years later...I wonder how Sasha & Digweed feel about this one?

It matters that they let everyone believe they did it themselves on decks at a time when most people didn't even know that you could use software to make a fake mix like this one. Real dj's don't lie. They mix LIVE. Some people have standards even if you don't.
Sebibaba83

Sasha And John Digweed* - Northern Exposure Sebibaba83

February 1, 2019
This classic mix is absolutely timeless, and till this moment nobody could do the same. Ok let's be honest, the main winner card of the mix that so many styles were absolutely new and fresh this time,so much people never met them before , now times harder to show something new,everybody knows tech,deep,house,techno etc. but the mixes are not talks only about music,but selection and mixing. And S & D made it how others couldn't ever beat. This mix is absolutely a prophecy for wannabe DJ's and everyone who loves electronic music.
sp1cychick3n

Sasha And John Digweed* - Northern Exposure sp1cychick3n

February 18, 2020

Oh yeah? Well before this one? Please give me names of those. I'm genuinely curious and would like to listen to them.
dr2016

Sasha And John Digweed* - Northern Exposure dr2016

September 17, 2019
Sebibaba83
This classic mix is absolutely timeless, and till this moment nobody could do the same. Ok let's be honest, the main winner card of the mix that so many styles were absolutely new and fresh this time,so much people never met them before , now times harder to show something new,everybody knows tech,deep,house,techno etc. but the mixes are not talks only about music,but selection and mixing. And S & D made it how others couldn't ever beat. This mix is absolutely a prophecy for wannabe DJ's and everyone who loves electronic music.

Plenty of dj's made real mixes as good as this on turntables well before this was released and not on a computer like this FAKE mix was done.
sy1975

Sasha And John Digweed* - Northern Exposure sy1975

November 20, 2018
edited over 2 years ago

I think I have to try and add some balance to some suprisingly poor recent reviews of this seminal mix. I raved in the 90's, we had mixtapes of our favorite DJ's (usually poorly recorded with no track listings). Imagine that Millenials?

Then came the mix CD. Renaissance 1 was the benchmark - a classic to virtually all house heads. Unfortunately the flood gates then opended, literally 100's of mix CD's like ministry annual 34 or trance anthems 76, with the same tunes and bland mixes - you get my point.

This came out in 96 - I had been buying tunes for years but the depth of originality in this mix was breathtaking. Yes Im a Sasha fan, but this mix was so well crafted (those that slam the fact it was not created on 1210's should look at the talentless DJs of the last 10 years with their laptops and shut up).

The mix was fresh and so different to everything else out at that time. S & D were ground breaking. We are all different I still believe that musically this is perhaps the best soundscape on a mix CD I have ever heard. If you dont like it fine, go back to listening to Capital FM and buying yer tunes from ITunes!!
sp1cychick3n

Sasha And John Digweed* - Northern Exposure sp1cychick3n

February 18, 2020

Please enlighten us with these real good dj's before this fake mix instead of spamming on this board.
dr2016

Sasha And John Digweed* - Northern Exposure dr2016

September 17, 2019
sy1975
I think I have to try and add some balance to some suprisingly poor recent reviews of this seminal mix. I raved in the 90's, we had mixtapes of our favorite DJ's (usually poorly recorded with no track listings). Imagine that Millenials?Then came the mix CD. Renaissance 1 was the benchmark - a classic to virtually all house heads. Unfortunately the flood gates then opended, literally 100's of mix CD's like ministry annual 34 or trance anthems 76, with the same tunes and bland mixes - you get my point.This came out in 96 - I had been buying tunes for years but the depth of originality in this mix was breathtaking. Yes Im a Sasha fan, but this mix was so well crafted (those that slam the fact it was not created on 1210's should look at the talentless DJs of the last 10 years with their laptops and shut up). The mix was fresh and so different to everything else out at that time. S & D were ground breaking. We are all different I still believe that musically this is perhaps the best soundscape on a mix CD I have ever heard. If you dont like it fine, go back to listening to Capital FM and buying yer tunes from ITunes!!

This "mix" was not groundbreaking in any way. You obviously just hadn't heard any really good dj's before this fake mix. Pity.
handpicked-recordsUK

Sasha And John Digweed* - Northern Exposure as reviewed by handpicked-recordsUK

October 20, 2018
edited over 2 years ago
I don't know anything about mixes or mixing and I'm sure its flawless and groundbreaking whatever bullshit people are saying but its about the music and for me the music is dead dull.
I bought this for £35 as people raved about it but perhaps its of its time as I find it well boring and lifeless. Have listened couple times and am losing the will to live. Someone tell me where my ears are going wrong, looks like a bad case of emperors new clothes?
Maybe try it again when I'm pissed.
sy1975

Sasha And John Digweed* - Northern Exposure sy1975

March 11, 2019

See my comments above - i think you might have been pissed when you left your review.
davesandison1

Sasha And John Digweed* - Northern Exposure davesandison1

February 16, 2019
Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha. 10 more words.
dr2016

Sasha And John Digweed* - Northern Exposure dr2016

September 16, 2018
The "mixing" on this was done totally in Pro Tools so it's not impressive in retrospect. They fooled us all. Anybody can edit and overlay beats together using software. This was not done on decks in the classic dj sense. Stop mythologising this cd. It's not real. They've said so.
Vic66

Sasha And John Digweed* - Northern Exposure Vic66

November 11, 2020
Well written. Some idiots just don;t understand the difference between a collection of music to be chosen, licensed, re/mixed, released and listened to for
sheer enjoyment, as opposed to an UNmixed selection for a DJ to make the best of in his or her own set.
Some people, see my comments above, are still in their bedroom DJ mentality, circa 1995!

SYSTEM-J

Sasha And John Digweed* - Northern Exposure SYSTEM-J

November 11, 2020
edited 19 days ago

They only "fooled" people who didn't know the original records. It's totally obvious to anyone who has heard the originals that most of these tracks were edited and additional FX were used. S&D were very open about this in interviews, for example on the Triple J Mix-Up radio show in Australia in 1997 where they discuss the album. The whole concept of the album was to bring together a lot of personal favourites and more chilled out selections - tracks that were not necessarily designed for DJ mixing.

There are literally hundreds of recordings of Sasha and John Digweed live in clubs from this era that show how well they could mix on vinyl. Bootleg recordings of their performances were widely available. They had nothing to prove on this front. Again, it sounds like your comment is based on a degree of ignorance about both the records used and the DJs. "A little knowledge is a dangerous thing", as they say.
sp1cychick3n

Sasha And John Digweed* - Northern Exposure sp1cychick3n

February 18, 2020

Can you please name some mixes that sound this well on live turntables? I would genuinely love to listen to them!
dr2016

Sasha And John Digweed* - Northern Exposure dr2016

September 17, 2019
Booj1Boy
Yes, we're aware of this by now, and many still consider it to be a classic. It's still a great listening experience today.

I didn't say it wasn't a good compilation and you shouldn't try to speak for EVERYONE. It makes you look like an idiot.
dr2016

Sasha And John Digweed* - Northern Exposure dr2016

September 17, 2019
edited about 1 year ago
Souvlaki101
who cares? This was an epic release despite how it was made. It still takes a great deal of insight to visualize these tracks in ones head before either stepping up to the mixing board or computer . Regardless, these two were pioneers in releasing what is now defined by most to be an important release in this genre.

I don't care that you don't care. If you don't like the truth that's your problem. They didn't do anything pioneering or unique in this "mix". Everything they did on this compilation had been done before by true pioneers who actually did their mixes live on turntables not on a computer with editing software. It WOULD have been epic as you say if they had been able to do it live to tape instead of just letting everyone believe they did for 2 decades until admitting they took a shortcut.
dr2016

Sasha And John Digweed* - Northern Exposure dr2016

September 17, 2019
Vic66
Well said. It's music, not a turntablist competion some people are so dumb!

Turntablism is not even the correct term for what is being talked about here so your opinion has no credibility. Some people ARE so dumb. Lol.
Vic66

Sasha And John Digweed* - Northern Exposure Vic66

September 17, 2019
Well said. It's music, not a turntablist competion some people are so dumb!
Souvlaki101

Sasha And John Digweed* - Northern Exposure Souvlaki101

September 16, 2019
who cares? This was an epic release despite how it was made. It still takes a great deal of insight to visualize these tracks in ones head before either stepping up to the mixing board or computer . Regardless, these two were pioneers in releasing what is now defined by most to be an important release in this genre.
Vic66

Sasha And John Digweed* - Northern Exposure Vic66

October 3, 2018
edited over 2 years ago
Great comment. I played the vinyl ver. as a DJ, along with Bedrock & Communicate at the time, and got more adventurous mixes happening on my 1210s both 'Live' and in my bedroom. Even when I wasn't off my bollocks. All this stuff is also other people's [excellent] music, so it's basically just a 'selection chosen by S&D'. But 20 years ago, the DJ was the new pop star. Briefly / supposedly!

Booj1Boy

Sasha And John Digweed* - Northern Exposure Booj1Boy

September 28, 2018
Yes, we're aware of this by now, and many still consider it to be a classic. It's still a great listening experience today.