Label:Elektra – 61923-2
CD, Album, Stereo
Style:Alternative Rock, Hard Rock


1Ain't My Bitch5:04
22 X 45:28
3The House Jack Built6:38
4Until It Sleeps4:29
5King Nothing5:28
6Hero Of The Day4:21
7Bleeding Me8:18
9Poor Twisted Me4:00
10Wasting My Hate3:57
11Mama Said5:19
12Thorn Within5:51
14The Outlaw Torn9:48

Companies, etc.



Release is packaged in a clear jewel case with a clear disc tray. Includes a 32-page booklet with lyrics.

This pressing was available on the street release date; it is presumed that when Specialty transitioned to pressing discs with mould SIDs it happened sometime during the initial manufacturing order for this release. Therefore this pressing should never have a Repress/Reissue tag added.

Recorded at The Plant Studios, Sausalito, California at various points in time between May '95 & February '96.
Additional recording at Right Track Recording, New York.
Mixed at Right Track Recording, New York, March-April '96.
Additional mixing at Quad Recording Studios, New York.
Mastered at Sterling Sound.

℗© 1996 E/M Ventures.
Printed in U.S.A.

All songs © 1996 Creeping Death Music (ASCAP)

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Scanned): 075596192323
  • Barcode (Text): 0 7559-61923-2 3
  • Rights Society: ASCAP
  • Mastering SID Code: none
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1): 2 61923-2 RE-2 SRC+02 *M6 S2
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 2V1P
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2): 2 61923-2 RE-2 SRC+02 M5S17
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 2U2X
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 3): 2 61923-2 RE-2 SRC+02 XM3 S1
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 3): IFPI 2V2F
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 4): 2 61923-2 RE-2 SRC+02 M1S21
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 4): IFPI 2U3N
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 5): 2 61923-2 RE-2 SRC+02 M1S2
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 5): IFPI 2U2Q
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 6): 2 61923-2 RE-2 SRC+02 M5S17
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 6): IFPI 2U3L
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 7): 2 61923-2 RE-2 SRC+02 *M4 S7
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 7): IFPI 2V2D
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 8): 2 61923-2 RE-2 SRC+02*M4 S10
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 8): IFPI 2V2D
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 9): 2 61923-2 RE-2 SRC+02 M5S16
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 9): IFPI 2U3I
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 10): 2 61923-2 RE-2 SRC+02 M1S9
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 10): IFPI 2U2U
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 11): 2 61923-2 RE-2 SRC+02 M5S5
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 11): IFPI 2U4A
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 12): 2 61923-2 RE-2 SRC+02 M1S40
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 12): IFPI 2U3H
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 13): 2 61923-2 RE-2 SRC+02 *M3 S1
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 13): IFPI 2V2E
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 14): 2 61923-2 RE-2 SRC+02 M1S27
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 14): IFPI 2U4C
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 15): 2 61923-2 RE-2 SRC+02 *M5 S7
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 15): IFPI 2V2C
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 16): 2 61923-2 RE-2 SRC+02 M1S32
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 16): IFPI 2U2P
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 17): 2 61923-2 RE-2 SRC+02 M5S11
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 17): IFPI 2U3S
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 18): 2 61923-2 RE-2 SRC+02 M5S10
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 18): IFPI 2U2I
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 19): 2 61923-2 RE-2 SRC+02 *M6 S2
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 19): IFPI 2V2A

Other Versions (5 of 191)

View All
Title (Format)LabelCat#CountryYear
Load (CD, Album, PMDC France Pressing)Vertigo532 618-2Europe1996
Recently Edited
Load (CD, Album, CD, , All Media, Limited Edition)Vertigo, Mercury532 618-2Australasia1996
Recently Edited
Load (Cassette, Album)Vertigo532 618-4Europe1996
Recently Edited
Load (CD, Album, Stereo)SonySRCS 8000Japan1996
Load (2×LP, Album)Elektra61923-1US1996


  • dedean's avatar
    Great album. Seeing a cd from 1996 from this kind of SRC font is surreal in a way.
    • Joes-Garage's avatar
      If they took the best 12 songs off of load and reload on one disc it'd be classic metallica. Lots of filler hurts both releases but the good songs would have made a better album than the black one.
      • dr.rock.oz's avatar
        Whose blood and semen are in the photo on the front cover?
        • Coffee_Stain_Music's avatar
          I always have and always will love Load. Metallica could have rested on their laurels and made "Black Album 2" or force a thrash album out there just to please the hardcore fans. Instead, they went a whole new direction with a whole new look. For better or worse, Metallica went all-in with the Load era and the result is some of their more creative stuff.

          No, its not their heaviest album and may not be what you're looking for from a band called "Metallica" but the band sounds great, James vocals are perhaps better than ever (debatable, I know, but it's close) and the lyrics are on point and more personal than you typically got from previous Metallica releases.

          Here you see the band branching out, now mature adults in their 30's James teases his country and folk side and Kirk displays his love of blues guitar all threwout the album, while still maintaining the bands hard rock sound. Both James and Kirk also trade off rhythm and lead more on this album which really opens the songs up as well.
          • gvernon's avatar
            Edited 3 years ago
            Actual release date is June 4, not May 4. Metallica broadens its palette, writes stronger and more complex songs, so-called fans lose their grip. (Later: Metallica goes back to re-treading old territory, fans still bi*ch. Metallica can not win, but more likely for opposing the digital theft of their music.) For real fans who grew up with Metallica, Metallica grew up and Load is spectacular. As bonus, "King Nothing," a brutal takedown of an emotionally fragile former tour mate.
            • chameleon860p's avatar
              I bought this used along with Reload. Sounds great on CD. The songs range from hard rock,blues and country so great bunch of songs. Can't go wrong with this pressing.
              • *In a bored voice* Where's your crown king nothiiiiiiiiiing
                • NewportCorvo's avatar
                  I feel that if Metallica didn't focus on trying to fill a cd space and do what they did with Kill 'Em All and Ride the Lightning, this could have been a great album overall. But, it's focus goes EVERYWHERE. It's blues, it's rock, it's metal, it's country, it's alternative, it's southern rock, it's just all over. This album has some good tracks, and I'll even enjoy the entire album, but some tracks should have been cut. This could have been one of those releases where they have a main release, and then another disc with the filler songs or B-Sides, that way the entire album score wouldn't hurt.
                  • cartman's avatar
                    does anyone know anything about:
                    Load ‎(2LP, Album) Blackened Recordings BLCKND011-1



                    114 For Sale from $1.08


                    Videos (17)