BoxhoundTKO

Nirvana - In Utero BoxhoundTKO

April 15, 2018
Can I rip this onto my PC or is it protected?
Sonic_Reducer_99

Nirvana - In Utero Sonic_Reducer_99

September 24, 2018
BoxhoundTKO
Can I rip this onto my PC or is it protected?

You should be fine. If I remember correctly, I managed to rip all three studio albums onto my last laptop with no problems.
Rick_Mayer

Nirvana - In Utero Rick_Mayer

March 27, 2016
The innocence that was constant throughout 'Nevermind' manifests itself into pure rage and aggression on their follow-up. Dave Grohl's drumming on 'In Utero' may just very well be the most mind blowing and hardest hitting album since Moon and Bonham were alive. Always imitated but never duplicated, this is a good and angry follow-up to the beast that was their breakthrough album with lots of Cobain fueled angst to make this a real keeper. Don't see a hit song here and somehow that might have been by design. THANK GOD!!!
aguynamedfrank

Nirvana - In Utero as reviewed by aguynamedfrank

September 25, 2013
Perhaps I'm wearing rose-colored glasses thanks to In Utero being my first Nirvana album in 1996 (and one of the first I ever bought along with Green Day), but the impact this record has had on my life is undeniable. After not listening to it for at least ten years, I happened to break it out again to listen less than two weeks ago. Let me tell you the story that led me here.

I was at an extreme low point in my life--personally, professionally, and mentally. It was 3am, the lights were off, and I sat in my studio alone contemplating everything that had led up to this point. Love, work, the contemporary state of music, commercialism, politics, how I got here, and what the future holds. And then I thought, "I need some fucking rock 'n' roll. Some proper, raw-as-fuck, balls-to-the-wall, distorted guitars, banging drums, and all the 'don't-give-a-fuck' attitude that has been missing from practically all commercial AND 'underground' music."

Thus, I found myself in a strange mindset that I hadn't felt since my teen years. I dug through the closet, found what I needed, and loaded my original disc from '96 into the drive. Turned the volume to the max, lit a candle, then a cigarette (I don't even smoke in my studio), and hit play. KSASHRRRRRAAAAAWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Fuck yeah, best album ever. It's been a little over a week since I listened to In Utero again, and life has oddly flipped the other direction--for the better. I don't know what hit me, or how, but something about turning on that first album--the only one I can sing every.single.lyric--and just jamming out in my room like I was an angst-filled 12-year-old again, but with all the hindsight and wisdom of being nearly 30 now at my disposal...changed my life for the second time.

Count me surprised when I decided to do some Discogs-ing today and just so happened to come across the 20th anniversary edition of THE ULTIMATE NIRVANA ALBUM released only a day ago. What are the fucking chances?!

Weird. Weird. Weird. But I'll take it. Never owned this one on vinyl, but I just ordered two copies. Let's rock.
ahmerality

Nirvana - In Utero as reviewed by ahmerality

March 17, 2011
edited over 8 years ago
You should already know whether you like Nirvana or not.Im just writing this because in my opinion its too significant an album for me not to mention.
Maybe the greatest post-metal guitar band ever and In Utero is arguably not definable in any category let alone “grunge”.
In Utero represented the end of the line for nihilism.Through his own success Cobain ultimately parodied a complete rejection of everything that came his way.And in the end he rejected himself.
He would do wouldn’t he,right?He was a junkie after all….no that’s not why he tapped into so many people.
Regardless of your moral stance on his suicide people connected with him not because of that but because he chose to reject convention.
Older listeners might moan that he borrowed sounds from many sources:the Beatles-esque sensibility in his basic tune composition,the raw anarchic feedback reminiscent of many sonic youth/sub pop digressions,the distinctive stop-start melody structure of the pixies. But ultimately this very insistence of the critics proves that this was a relevant band.
He rebelled against everything and he didnt seem to know why,whatever,nevermind.Something about that helplessness seemed to pervade thru to the MTV generation of the day
No complicated hi tech scale tapping or fretboard work.No long concept based over indulgent solos.No leather spandex.No ridiculous codpieces.No pretentiousness.He rejected the accolade.Not just rock n roll bad behaviour.This was the noisy ugly way of saying what Morrissey crooned about this side of the pond.
But Mozza wasnt immune to vanity.No,this was complete anti stardom ambivalence.
Cobain would walk off stage to standing ovations while the backing track was still playing.He clapped back sarcastically at his fans.He mocked their enthusiasm.He would crumble to the floor like a crippled shivering wreck ,have a nervous breakdown on stage and let the demise of his wreckage be photographed and spread over the album sleeves for all to see.
He played up the mundaness of his life,rejecting the glamour and glittery overcoats for unkempt dandruff infested cardigans ,imparting the trite and daily anguish of his chronic stomach pains,the prosaic and unresolved hurts of his childhood and just about anything else that pained him.
We thought the heroine was recreational and then realised he was going to self destruct.
And then in In Utero he let us watch his health deteriorate until he could barely stand anymore,screams reduced to a dying wheeze,his own dysfunctional solos at risk of petering into self destruction but right to the very end he squeezed out every grain of his agony into each tuneless,dischordant and isolated string until it left him battered,wasted and empty and then he would reach deep inside himself and vomit the last shred of his soul so he could finally lie down and bleed to death on tape so you could gaze at the raw ugly beauty of his innards and then see the nothingness left behind.
Maybe he was a very weak guy,almost pathetic.He left behind a daughter that he supposedly loved,was unable to break his drug addiction for his loved ones and ultimately took an exit clause from life cuz it obviously didnt give him enough reason to keep going.
But we're interested because of the gargantuan and hulking anger that came spewing out of that frail and acopic soul.The pop culture wants its artists to live and die with their hearts on their sleeves and damaged dysfunctional people are fished out for the kill in this business more than others maybe.
After so many repeated exorcisms of the soul maybe there was nothing left of him to blow away …only the body left waiting to be reunited.
www.monkeyswithtypewriters.com
ragazzodoro

Nirvana - In Utero ragazzodoro

October 2, 2011
edited over 7 years ago

REFERRING TO ABOVE TOO IMPORTANT COMMENT (ahmerality)

It seems you are talking about a person you know like a friend you talked face to face.
Stop talking s***t about always the same thing.
You just comment and take advantage of Cobain estethic and esterior acts, like about what he did at Live and Loud December MTV 1993.
You can't take all mentioned things to your side.
And please see that much more than the half adult fan of Nirvana thought about a suspicious suicide and considered a new vision about what Corporate Discography labels do with their gold cows in America.
Cobain was at the end of his days left alone without a friend and with a massive heroine withdrawal situation, forced to think about the market business when he finally wanted to quit and left everything away, his devil wife too but he loved his daughter, you cannot say the contrary.
How would you feel DEAD with your interestings blowed away from Major (ah just so the word) forces, having married the wrong person, having your artistic output come at a dissolving way plus the H withdrawal?
No one would survive, especially when you return home and someone you know shot at you an overdose and a mortal gunshot....(there were no fingerprints...)

Poor Kurt he entered the Music Mainstream Market.."He Died, To Let Another Be Inside" .
djproject

Nirvana - In Utero as reviewed by djproject

December 20, 2005
edited over 13 years ago

If Nirvana was going to end on a good note - in terms of acclaim, popularity and craft - this is the best way to do it.

If Nevermind was ended up being a reflection of their entry into indie/mega popular status, In Utero both solidified their popularity and confirm them as anti-pop stars. Employing the engineering skills and noise sensibilities of Steve Albini, Nirvana create a work that is more cathartic, aggressive and confrontational. Here the drums and the guitars sound like assault machine guns going a blaze. The lyrics have cobra's venom delivered by a Cobain that alternates between resigned melancholy and scathing assertion.

The lyrics here reflected a Cobain who was on edge. He was dealing with his old fans who thought Nevermind put them in the sell-out category, his new fans who were more fair-weathered, the media in general, fame, success and his family. Strangely enough, there are some moments where he hits upon an exit to his downward spiral (the final lines of "All Apologizes" for an example) but this was someone felt so depressed and so clouded with negativity that he couldn't take it anymore.

Personally I enjoyed this album more than Nevermind and consider this to be one of their finest. While it's fun to imagine what Nirvana could have done in the long run, there's also nothing wrong with this album being the last album and a final testament to an important and intriguing group that became popular on its own terms.