Pet Shop Boys ‎– Winner

Parlophone ‎– CDR 6869, Parlophone ‎– 50999 9 14189 2 0
CD, Single

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Winner
Drums, Recorded By [Drums] – Ryan HoyleEngineer, Mixed By – Andrew DawsonProducer – Andrew Dawson, Pet Shop BoysProgrammed By [Additional Programming], Engineer [Additional Engineering] – Pete GleadallProgrammed By [Additional Programming], Guitar – Andrew DawsonWritten-By – Neil Tennant And Chris Lowe*
2 A Certain "Je Ne Sais Quoi"
Mixed By – Bob KraushaarPerformer, Producer – Pet Shop BoysProgrammed By, Engineer – Pete GleadallWritten-By – Neil Tennant And Chris Lowe*
3 The Way Through The Woods (Long Version)
Engineer – Jim Caruana, Mike Riley, Pete GleadallEngineer [Assistant] – Anna UgarteMixed By – Bob KraushaarMusic By – Neil Tennant And Chris Lowe*Performer – Pet Shop BoysProducer [Long Version] – Pet Shop BoysProducer [Original Track] – Andrew Dawson, Pet Shop BoysVocals [Additional] – Alex Brown, Carmen Carter, Julie Waters*, Luther Waters, Maxine Waters, Oren Waters, SonosWords By – Rudyard Kipling
4 I Started A Joke
Engineer [Additional] – Pete GleadallMixed By – Bob KraushaarPerformer, Producer – Pet Shop BoysWritten-By – Barry Gibb/Maurice Gibb/Robin Gibb*

Companies, etc.



Comes in a card sleeve.

Release dates:
- Germany, Austria & Switzerland: 3 Aug 2012
- UK: 6 Aug 2012

1: Published by Sony ATV Music. Drums recorded at Live Drum Tracks Studios, Los Angeles CA.

2 & 3: Published by Sony ATV Music

4: Published by Universal Music Publishing MGB Limited/Warner Chappell Music Ltd.

All tracks mastered at Sterling Sound New York.

℗ 2012 The copyright in this sound recording is owned by Pet Shop Boys Partnership Ltd under exclusive licence to EMI Records Ltd. © 2012 Pet Shop Boys Partnership Ltd under exclusive licence to EMI Records Ltd.
© 2012 EMI Records Ltd.

Made in the EU

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 50999 9 14189 2 0
  • Barcode (Scanned): 5099991418920
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1 & 2): 99141892 AC82787-01 manufactured by optimal media GmbH
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 1 & 2): ifpi L573
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 9702
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 9707
  • Rights Society: SDRM/BIEM
  • Label Code: LC0299

Other Versions (5 of 29) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
none Pet Shop Boys Winner(CDr, Single, Promo) Emi Music Denmark none Denmark 2012 Sell This Version
PCD-3594 Pet Shop Boys Winner(CD, Single, Promo) EMI Music Japan PCD-3594 Japan 2012 Sell This Version
none Pet Shop Boys Winner Remixed(CDr, Single, Promo) EMI none UK 2012 Sell This Version
none Pet Shop Boys Winner (Mixes)(CDr, Single, Promo, Unofficial) Parlophone (2) none UK 2012 Sell This Version
none Pet Shop Boys Winner(CDr, Single, Promo) EMI Music Finland none Finland 2012 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



February 26, 2013
I have to say I think this is one of their weakest singles in their whole career. It's very safe, and really it sounds like it could have been recorded by anyone. It just lacks something that I can't quite put my finger on. I like the melody/production, I think what puts me off it though is the chorus. I can't quite crack if its meant to be uplifting or rather a more realistic portrayal that the feeling of winning won't last. I really don't get why its on Elysium though. Its not only one of the weaker songs (along with Hold On) but it also just doesn't fit in on it. A Face Like That should have been the lead single if you ask me. The song isn't exactly aided by its video either, which I personally consider their worst ever.

Having said that, there is a wealth of strong remixes and B-sides as part of the Winner package. I absolutely love the Andrew Dawson Happy Sad Mix Of Winner. Now that would have fitted in on Elysium if included I think. Even better are the B-sides: The Way Through The Woods and A Certain Je Ne Sais Quoi being two very good original tracks. Their cover of the Bee Gee's I Started A Joke is beautiful too: Neil Tennant's voice has rarely sounded better. What I love is that the B-sides are varied and like a tiny showcase for three things they excel at: a great piece of electro-pop, an experimental number and a strong cover version. So whilst the Winner single itself is weak, the B-sides are worth the price of the CD single alone. Don't rule out the remixes either. Whilst not their best, the B-sides prove they haven't lost their touch.


August 23, 2012
edited over 5 years ago

Although the single is one of their weakest - the 3 b-sides make up for it. They are very good.


August 16, 2012

It's a shame the beating this song is taking with the PSB faithful. No, it's not on the same level as “Can You Forgive Her?", but it's a better single than "Home and Dry", "Before", or even "Se A Vida É". Some fans say it's not cynical enough, but the lyrics are about enjoying victory because you know it won't last. It's perfectly timed with the Olympics, where they debuted this live.

The only missteps with this single are: 1) the horrible video and 2) the "Andrew Dawson HappyHour Remix", where Dawson is determined to make the track fit an elevated tempo even if he has to kill the song.