16 For Sale from $20.00


  • Have:

  • Want:

  • Avg Rating:

    4.68 / 5
  • Ratings:

  • Last Sold:

  • Lowest:

  • Median:

  • Highest:


Videos (10)


SwansThe Seer

Label:Young God Records – YG45
2 x CD, Album
All Media, Special Edition
Style:Post-Punk, Post Rock, Alternative Rock


1-2Mother Of The World9:57
1-3The Wolf1:35
1-4The Seer32:14
1-5The Seer Returns6:18
1-693 Ave. B Blues5:22
1-7The Daughter Brings The Water2:41
2-1Song For A Warrior3:58
2-3A Piece Of The Sky19:10
2-4The Apostate23:01
DVD-1No Words / No Thoughts18:50
DVD-3The Apostate19:31
DVD-4Beautiful Child (Fragment)3:43
DVD-6Sex God Sex7:13
DVD-7The Seer / I Crawled32:16

Companies, etc.


  • Artwork, Painting [Paintings], Photography By [Swans Photo Portraits]Simon Henwood
  • Cameraman [Additional Cameras]Alessandra Romeo (2) (tracks: DVD-1 to DVD-7), Dan Knight (2) (tracks: DVD-1 to DVD-7), Phil Tidy (tracks: DVD-1 to DVD-7), Rodney Ascher (tracks: DVD-1 to DVD-7)
  • Engineer [Additional Recording Assistant At Trout]Adam Sachs
  • Engineer [Additional Recording Engineer At Trout]Bryce Goggin
  • Film Director [Directed By], Cameraman [Filmed By], Film Producer [Produced By]Marco Porsia (tracks: DVD-1 to DVD-7), Simon Henwood (tracks: DVD-1 to DVD-7)
  • Film Editor [Edited By]Marco Porsia (tracks: DVD-1 to DVD-7)
  • Guest [Special Guest], Accordion [Various Songs]Cassis Staudt*
  • Guest [Special Guest], Accordion, Vocals, Dulcimer, Guitar, Piano, Instruments [Assorted Other Instruments]Caleb Mulkerin (tracks: 1-5), Colleen Kinsella (tracks: 1-5)
  • Guest [Special Guest], Backing VocalsDana Janssen (tracks: 2-3), Jarboe (tracks: 1-5), Miles Seaton (tracks: 2-3), Seth Olinsky (tracks: 2-3)
  • Guest [Special Guest], Backing Vocals, Voice [Voice Collage]Jarboe (tracks: 2-3)
  • Guest [Special Guest], BagpipesIain Graham (tracks: 1-4)
  • Guest [Special Guest], Cello [Steel Cello]Bob Rutman* (tracks: 1-4)
  • Guest [Special Guest], Cello [Various Songs]Jane Scarpantoni
  • Guest [Special Guest], Contrabassoon [Contra Bassoon]Stefan Rocke (tracks: 1-4)
  • Guest [Special Guest], Drums [Additional Drums]Kevin McMahon (2) (tracks: 1-5)
  • Guest [Special Guest], Electric Guitar, Sounds [Various Songs]Kevin McMahon (2)
  • Guest [Special Guest], HornsBruce Lamont (tracks: 1-4)
  • Guest [Special Guest], Jew's Harp [Jews Harp]Shon Mahoney (tracks: 1-5)
  • Guest [Special Guest], Lead Vocals [Lead Vocal]Karen O (tracks: 2-1)
  • Guest [Special Guest], Mandolin [Acoustic And Electric Mandolins], Clarinet [Various Songs]Sean Mackowiak (The Grasshopper)*
  • Guest [Special Guest], PianoBryce Goggin (tracks: 2-1)
  • Guest [Special Guest], Sounds [Fire Sounds (Acoustic And Synthetic)]Ben Frost (tracks: 2-3)
  • Guest [Special Guest], Violin [Various Songs]Eszter Balint
  • Guest [Special Guest], Vocals [Co-vocals]Al Of Low* (tracks: 1-1), Mimi Of Low* (tracks: 1-1)
  • Mastered ByDoug Henderson
  • Mastered By [Pre-mastering]Jamal Ruhe
  • Mixed ByKevin McMahon (2)
  • Performer [Honorary Swan], Piano, Organ, Electric Guitar, Acoustic Guitar, Drums, Percussion, Keyboards [Casio], Synthesizer, Bass Guitar, Voice, Other [Bird Idea]Bill Rieflin*
  • Performer [Swans], Bass Guitar, Voice, Other [Incredible Handshake]Christopher Pravdica*
  • Performer [Swans], Drums, Percussion, Bells [Orchestral Bells], Dulcimer [Hammer Dulcimer], Violin [Handmade Violin Thing], Vibraphone, Piano, Clarinet, VoiceThor Harris
  • Performer [Swans], Drums, Percussion, Dulcimer [Hammer Dulcimer], VoicePhil Puleo
  • Performer [Swans], Electric Guitar, VoiceNorman Westberg
  • Performer [Swans], Lap Steel Guitar [Lap Steel Guitars], Electric Guitar, VoiceChristoph Hahn*
  • Performer [Swans], Voice, Acoustic Guitar, Electric Guitar, Harmonica, Keyboards [Casio], SoundsMichael Gira
  • Producer [Produced By]Michael Gira
  • Recorded By [Assistants In Berlin]Boris*, Marco*
  • Recorded By [Berlin And New York]Kevin McMahon (2)


Recorded at Studio P4 and Andere Baustelle in Berlin, and at Marcata Studio, Gardiner, NY. Additional recording at Trout Recording, Brooklyn, NY.

Mixed at Marcata.

Mastered at Micro-Moose Berlin. Pre-mastering at West Westside Music.

The Seer DVD was recorded variously in the cities of Melbourne, Australia, Berlin, Germany, Brooklyn, NY, San Francisco, CA., LA, CA., and Torrance, California. The footage was filmed throughout the Swans tour(s) of 2010/2011. The film is a work in progress, and will ultimately result in a feature film / filmography of Swans.

Karen O appears courtesy of Interscope Records.

Issued in an 8-panel digipak with a 12-page folded booklet..
Copies pre-ordered from Young God Records signed by Michael Gira.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 658457004593
  • Matrix / Runout (CD1): CD204-247 YG45 The Seer CD #1 REV/CA
  • Mould SID Code (CD1): IFPI JL10
  • Matrix / Runout (CD2): CD204-248 YG45 The Seer CD #2 REV/CA
  • Mould SID Code (CD2): IFPI JL10
  • Matrix / Runout (DVD): DVD204-246 YG45 The Seer Live DVD REV/CA
  • Mould SID Code (DVD): IFPI 9F29

Other Versions (5 of 15)View All

Title (Format)LabelCat#CountryYear
The Seer (3×LP, Album)Young God RecordsYG45US2012
The Seer (2×CD, Album)Young God RecordsYG45US2012
The Seer (11×File, MP3, Album, VBR)Young God Recordsnone2012
The Seer (2×CD, Album, Promo)Young God RecordsYG45US2012
New Submission
The Seer (11×File, WAV, Album, 44kHz 16bit)Young God Recordsnone2012


21stCenturySchizoid's profile picture
Any difference between this and other than the year and that it says Special Edition? What makes this version Special over the other one?
slayerhatesusall's profile picture
This version is well worth getting, the dvd is very good quality and quite long also.