zdkaiser

Weezer - Weezer zdkaiser

May 10, 2018
Any one else notice the volume drop midway through Only in Dreams?
mbombink

Weezer - Weezer as reviewed by mbombink

December 17, 2017

#017960. although the volume is rather low, the sound quality is superb and clean.
TheAmnesiacKid

Weezer - Weezer as reviewed by TheAmnesiacKid

June 24, 2017
Not sure if it's because my copy is above the 30k mark but I am not very impressed at all... The top end is particular underwhelming (cymbal crashes sound like static)... A fair amount of surface noise but not enough to really distract. However, my pressing does have a nasty skip during the build-up to the climax in "Holiday". Overall, sounds kind of dull on top of the other issues. Bummer.
I.DIG.WAX

Weezer - Weezer I.DIG.WAX

July 16, 2018
I agree. Mine is 29215. The sound is very flat.
jforrest1980

Weezer - Weezer jforrest1980

June 4, 2017

Mobile Fidelity Sound lab killed this one as they pretty much always do. Mind you I purchased this album quite a few years ago when this version was first released. I would have to say out of my entire record collection, that even though this is not my favorite album (it's one of them), that it is most certainly one of the, if not the best sounding album in my collection, and I buy a lot of vinyl reprints.
conditionals

Weezer - Weezer conditionals

April 27, 2017

Just wanted to add that there aren't any real problems with volume on my new copy. Certainly not the loudest LP I've heard, but no cause for complaint.
brianjeremy

Weezer - Weezer brianjeremy

August 9, 2016
I got 29,517; must be a high print run...anyway this sounds fantastic. I've owned about 5 different copies of this album since it was released when I was a teenager. Hope it'll be the last copy too.
soad92

Weezer - Weezer soad92

July 14, 2016
Just bought a copy, #029565. At least it's under 30k haha. Very satisfied with my purchase, the price I paid was very reasonable too.
wickywacky69

Weezer - Weezer as reviewed by wickywacky69

June 17, 2016
edited over 2 years ago
First of all, like someone else here mentioned, the volume/output is WAAAY too low and sounds way too tame. Even after cranking the volume, it's still barely sufficient IMO. Sonically, there are definitely things I do like, I think overall, they did a fantastic job on the mastering, etc.. very full, nice low end, decent separation, acoustic guitars sound stellar, just enough clarity, although, it could stand to be a tad more generous on the top end which would've helped give it a more open sound but all in all, it sounds great, very natural for the most part, not amazing but really good.

As far as surface noise, my copy unfortunately has some minor ticking/popping throughout which for the most part is cancelled out by the music, but in the quieter passages i.e. "Say It Isn't So" and in between songs, it's very present(ugh) again, not horrendously noisy but for a pressing that supposed to be "audiophile" quality and for the money I spent, I'd expect that to NOT exist at all like most of my Music Matters pressings. But again, I suppose I can live with it since I don't hear it at all times.

And yes, like it's been mentioned, the best thing about the pressing is indeed the packaging. The cover itself is top notch and super sturdy as usual. I've never had an OG pressing so I can't compare it to this one, but looking really closely at the image on the cover, it doesn't look as sharp and clear as it should be, but again, I don't know if the OG press is the same. I just know that most reissues these days really fall short when it comes to the artwork being blurry and the colors being off. But having said that, I've definitely seen a lot worse. All in all and for the money I spent, it's not bad and for the most part, it's an enjoyable listen but could definitely be better IMO. I feel that MOFI in my experience, has always and continues to be kind of hit and miss but when you find the right one, it will be worth the money you spend. For now, I'll probably keep this one but seek out an OG UK press for the superior listening experience based off of what I've heard about those pressings but again, I think for a lot of people, this MOFI pressing will most likely suffice.
rasoren

Weezer - Weezer rasoren

October 9, 2016
Did you wash the record? I find most new records are quite noisy right out of the sleeve unless you wash them. Usually they clean up quite nicely and end up being super quiet.
.Richard.

Weezer - Weezer .Richard.

June 19, 2016
Its mastered low volume as MFSL tend to avoid compression, which is a good thing. Just use your volume control...
Siebener

Weezer - Weezer Siebener

April 16, 2016
Quick question: does it say "Original Master Recording" on the shrink wrap or on the actual cover art? Thanks in advance!
Dagasm

Weezer - Weezer Dagasm

April 21, 2016
It says "Original Master Recording" on the cover art itself.
sodapapa

Weezer - Weezer as reviewed by sodapapa

April 6, 2016

#27012, not quite a "limited edition", however it sounds Amazing. Warm tones, thick bass, and those nerdy themes. It's F'n brilliant and I love the packaging.
.Richard.

Weezer - Weezer .Richard.

May 28, 2016
All MFSL vinyl releases have the banner at the top of the artwork as far as i am aware...
Siebener

Weezer - Weezer Siebener

April 7, 2016
Quick question: does it say "Original Master Recording" on the shrink wrap or on the actual cover art? Thanks in advance!
wavepirate

Weezer - Weezer as reviewed by wavepirate

April 4, 2016
edited over 2 years ago

#22553..... well with that said, what a very amazing sounding record. Very deep acoustics that pour smoothly into your ears, makes me wish every other one of my records were mixed and engineered as great as this one. Easily the most played album i've listened to in my life (on Digital format). So playing this LP for the first time put the whole "how much of a difference can I tell between the cd and vinyl" test to a new level. Glad to say I was extremely impressed and have therefore determined that I will always be favor in for saying that yes, listening to this album again was like listening to it all over again for the very first time. Thank goodness for it.
ScottieElwood

Weezer - Weezer ScottieElwood

March 7, 2016
One of the best debut albums front to back. Is Pinkerton available in a master copy?...it should be
Arkay_East

Weezer - Weezer Arkay_East

March 30, 2016
edited over 2 years ago
Yes Pinkerton was pressed. It sounds great and I think still available.

I have 22217 of the Blue Album. Lots of copies out there compared to some other MFSL titles. Sounds awesome. Such a classic.
TravisFriedel

Weezer - Weezer TravisFriedel

February 24, 2016
I purchased a Master Copy about a year ago and honestly It sounds really great.
trail_spin

Weezer - Weezer trail_spin

February 13, 2016
#027703 - excellent sounding pressing, glad i purchased for sure.
mattmacneil

Weezer - Weezer mattmacneil

January 18, 2016
God damn. Wish I'd know they were repressing this. I paid 80 bucks for it 3 weeks ago.
jtung86

Weezer - Weezer jtung86

February 28, 2017
This version sounds so much better than the ones they just repressed.
alanjameshobson

Weezer - Weezer alanjameshobson

October 31, 2015
Inferior to the original UK pressing. I found I couldn't turn the volume up enough to give this the punch I expected. Not up to the usual standards for MOFI for the remaster but the packaging and pressing quality remain second to none and it's beautifully quiet too.