leonthepro

Pink Floyd - The Dark Side Of The Moon as reviewed by leonthepro

April 16, 2018
edited 3 months ago

Now being able to compare the releases I have including this one on my own system its time to take a closer look at the differences.
The most apparent qualities of the MoFi is its smoothness and depth. It goes beyond any other release Ive heard and really gives you the impression that this is what Pink Floyd wanted you to hear. It is by no means fuzzy however and gives great clarity with the right playback system. The shortcomings of the 2016 remaster are now more apparent than before being harsher and less deep. But the strength in that comes in giving a more present performance on the remaster while the MoFi is left more whimsical. I miss the in your face vocals of Time and even The Great Gig, if only slightly.
But even more so I miss the bass. The Mofi does deliver bass but on its own terms in limited doses while the 2016 cut dumps my oh so needed craving of a tight earthquake in masses. It again circles around to the balanced nature of the Grundman remaster where even the lowest of low end mucks can be heard, felt and appreciated.
But despite their differences the 2 are still sort of similar in delivery, just with these few but character defining traits. Both are cut about equally as quiet, demanding you to crank the volume knob. The advantage then shows in the MoFi as the vinyl is extremely quiet, almost as dead silent and void creating as my Japanese Pro Use copy, but thats just because the Pro Use doesnt need to be played nearly as loud. Its only really noticeable at the start and end of songs on the 2016 issue but still a very real difference.
Grundmans cut stands as the well rounded and enjoyable alternative for anyone short on money and time, just inheriting a slight harshness and lack of reverb.
The one Id give my nod to however is the MoFi for its impressive realism and smooth delivery. Despite the few shortcomings it probably has the best sounding version of Money that genuinely made me go "Holy shit..." and its the one I say is the essential AAA version for every Pink Floyd fan to own.
For me the Japanese Pro Use is still on top because of its great presence and airy clarity despite its loudness problems. But this might change over time. If the MoFi rectified its slight slouching on bass plus vocal presence and punch it would easily rise to the top right away!

Current ranking:
1. MoFi's Side 2 (This)
2. Japanese PRO USE's Side 1
3.UK Original A3/B3
4. 2016 Grundman Cut
?. MoFi UHQR
?. 30th Anniversary

Equipment Used:
Rega RP1 with Nagaoka MP-200 Cartridge
Cyrus 2 Amplifier
System Fidelity SF-3050 Tower Speakers
Custom made HQ Speaker Cables
leonthepro

Pink Floyd - The Dark Side Of The Moon leonthepro

April 23, 2018
edited about 1 year ago

I dont think the Dutch version had a full blue triangle. Only the first generation UK and Japanese had that.
snowtrooper1966

Pink Floyd - The Dark Side Of The Moon snowtrooper1966

April 23, 2018
edited about 1 year ago
I’m actually very interested in the Dutch blue triangle you mentioned...
Have it saved in my want list, just have to find the right one
leonthepro

Pink Floyd - The Dark Side Of The Moon leonthepro

April 22, 2018
edited about 1 year ago

I first heard about it on Rons old video here:
https://youtu.be/vgD08b6y0Kg

But I dont agree that everyone should run out and buy it. Its got loudness problems as mentioned and really is expensive. The MoFi I think is a much safer all around audiophile record that just about anyone could enjoy. I havnt heard an absolute first blue triangle UK or UHQR MoFi yet but they might just beat out the PRO USE if Im guessing right. The PRO USE was kind of a lucky deal for me though since I got it for less than 20$ on a local online auction site, nobody else seemed to realize what it was without the OBI. But in any case its one of the top dogs for sure and you can read about it more in detail in the review I wrote on its Discogs page I linked.
Good luck, and let me know if you learn something really interesting about it!
snowtrooper1966

Pink Floyd - The Dark Side Of The Moon snowtrooper1966

April 22, 2018
There it is, thanks!
Guess I need to google it now for some history...
snowtrooper1966

Pink Floyd - The Dark Side Of The Moon snowtrooper1966

April 22, 2018
Japan Pro use?
Don’t see that listed, source please. Would dig finding out more...
senninha8

Pink Floyd - The Dark Side Of The Moon as reviewed by senninha8

February 17, 2018
edited about 1 year ago

Super excited to have acquired this very well preserved 1979 MoFi version. In comparison to the 2016 copy, my first impression was that the sound levels have a more realistic, balanced natural sound with nice detailed separation. The remastered versions of pretty much everything nowadays sound BIG, and that can be great too, especially if you're listening from a more entry level, basic system. But if you have a decently accurate or high level system, this is especially important. Because (like many others) I prefer to listen to this whole album really loud!! This allows the quiet passages to be heard with all its delicate intricacies, while not having the loud passages way too bright (e.g. clocks going off) and off putting. That's what I noticed anyways, of course, it'd be delightful to have an opportunity to listen to the original pressings but we're not all that lucky, hopefully one day...
leonthepro

Pink Floyd - The Dark Side Of The Moon leonthepro

January 18, 2018
edited about 1 year ago

Having heard this myself I cant say Im blown away. I listened with different equipment in a different environment but I believe I heard the essence of the record still. Its good dont get me wrong, but it really made me realize how good the new 2016 remasters are. The MOFI is from what I heard better dynamics wise. Its quieter than the 2016 one but not louder. It might also be slightly more defined and airy as well but its not hugely different. Grundman and Ricker might have had the same vision for the sound of their respective cuts. Unlike the early UK and Japanese cuts, the UK being what I prefer by memory with a present, punchy sound and clear vocals. The Japanese being my least favorite so far with a really bright sound like the Japanese usually do. They are all good in their respective ways and you can choose what you simply prefer.

Update:
And this shows how quickly an opinion can change with different equipment and a little time to evaluate things. The Mofi is a must have for Pink Floyd fans in my eyes.
crowvillerecords

Pink Floyd - The Dark Side Of The Moon crowvillerecords

July 10, 2016
my buddy just left a copy of this on my porch. it was kind of like hearing it for the first time. i compared it to my u.s. first press and the original was more bass heavy and muffled. they both are in vg+ condition and play with no pops and very quiet for the age. there are not a lot of huge differences but the omr version just has way more definition. this original master version is worth your time to track down. from now on I will be grabbing this version to play. some day I hope to hear the english first pressing.
djchroma

Pink Floyd - The Dark Side Of The Moon djchroma

May 10, 2016
Which pressing of this album is considered the best? Original UK?
leonthepro

Pink Floyd - The Dark Side Of The Moon leonthepro

October 14, 2017

Many are great actually. The best ones usually agreed on are these original master recording ones, especially the super HQ one, the first few japanese releases, some prefer the 2003 reissue and personally I also like the new 2016 remastered one. They can all be good in their own right and at some point its really just personal preference. Generally this album is respected and taken care of by anyone who gets the rights to release it so I wouldnt worry too much. But if you want the best of the best, any of those that I mentioned should be good choices.
At this point you probably already got one however, if so, which one and how did you like it?
LostWax

Pink Floyd - The Dark Side Of The Moon LostWax

March 19, 2016
Wondering if this came with the posters or stickers...My copy does not have them.
MJWals

Pink Floyd - The Dark Side Of The Moon MJWals

June 6, 2016
Mine has no poster or post cards either. Just the Mobile Fidelity Advertising.
Lucas220

Pink Floyd - The Dark Side Of The Moon Lucas220

April 14, 2016
I didn't get any inserts in my copy except the OMR propaganda
Dr_Layne

Pink Floyd - The Dark Side Of The Moon Dr_Layne

March 21, 2016
According to the Pink Floyd Archives run by Vernon Fitch (and he is the one of the foremost experts on Pink Floyd releases worldwide) the only inserts are:

Inserts:
1) A white, cardboard, 4-page, wrap-around inner sleeve cover with "SUPERDISCS, SUPERTAPES, SUPERSTARS, SUPERQUALITY" on the front, and "An Audiophile's Dream Come True" on the back. The inside is blank.
2) An 8 inch by 5 inch yellow certificate of Limited Warranty from Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab, with a form on back for return of a defective record.
3) An 8 1/2 inch by 11 inch advertisement for MSFL that with a picture of a record coming out of a sleeve.