Big Black ‎– The Hammer Party

Homestead Records ‎– HMS044
Vinyl, LP, Compilation

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Steelworker 4:14
A2 Live In A Hole 3:01
A3 Dead Billy
Vocals [Yelled A Little] – Mark Hayes
A4 I Can Be Killed 4:28
A5 Crack 3:51
A6 RIP 2:21
B1 Cables 2:39
B2 Pigeon Kill 1:46
B3 I'm A Mess 1:56
B4 Texas 4:02
B5 Seth 4:39
B6 Jump The Climb 2:52

Companies, etc.



Pressed by Rainbo Records with the Shigaku Trading Co. Ltd. text on the back cover.
This album is a re-issue of the first two Big Black EPs. Lungs, originally released in December, 1982 and Bulldozer, released the following December.

Lungs was recorded in two different apartments in bad neighborhoods in Chicago. It was mixed at Studiomedia. Bulldozer was recorded at a real live studio and mixed at another one. Iain Burgess engineered it.

Mastered At, Mastered By uncredited, identified from Side One runout stamp and etching.

Track times are not listed, but were manually timed.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side One Runout): HMS-044 A MASTERING BY FRANKFORDWAYE Cg (Bat Symbol) S-18178 A- ▻
  • Matrix / Runout (Side Two Runout): HMS-044 B S-18179 A- ▻

Other Versions (5 of 17) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
HMS044 Big Black The Hammer Party(LP, Comp) Homestead Records HMS044 UK, Europe & US 1986 Sell This Version
HMS044 Big Black The Hammer Party(LP, Comp, RE) Boudisque HMS044 Netherlands 1990 Sell This Version
TG92CD Big Black The Hammer Party(CD, Comp, RE) Touch And Go TG92CD USA & Canada Unknown Sell This Version
HMS044-2 Big Black The Hammer Party(CD, Comp, RE) Homestead Records HMS044-2 US 1988 Sell This Version
HMS044C Big Black The Hammer Party(Cass, Comp, Chr) Homestead Records HMS044C US 1986 Sell This Version