withoutatrace

Dopplereffekt - Gesamtkunstwerk as reviewed by withoutatrace

August 6, 2007
edited over 13 years ago
This is indeed a classic techno album. Everything is appropriately done, from the titles of the tracks to the levels of the instruments, to the cover art. It's one giant cold slab of dance music that gives me a twisted vision of some white room in which scientists are creating pornographic movies starring mannequins. The hammer and sickle on the cover harks to an age or culture in which emotions are somewhere near last place. This could have been the soundtrack for much of the film Kontroll. No, it isn't overly ornate, impressively intricate, or ever time-signature bending. But Gesamtkunstwerk IS moving.
TIM

Dopplereffekt - Gesamtkunstwerk as reviewed by TIM

July 23, 2007
edited over 13 years ago

The heralded Dopplereffekt release "Gesamtkunstwerk" leaves me a little cold. Although a big drexciya fan i find most of these beats a bit cheesey. The production is raw and singular. There isn't much room to breath as a listener, you cannot drift into any other emotion than the emotion they are force feeding you thanks to the drab and often corny lyrics like in "Scientist". "Rocket Scientist" gets back to the basics, a decent dancefloor number and then to a ok ass wiggler in "Master Organism". You would think as a fan of Kraftwerk and Drexciya related music i would like this album but songs like "Pornoactress", "pornoviewer" & "plasiphilia" just seem like bad rip-offs of classics like "Sex Object" or "telephone call" by Kraftwerk. Thankfully two songs save this cd from being sold or trashed: "Voice Activated" will kill any manic dancefloor and "Infophysix" is a real nice number. Lets not blow things out of proportion on this release, it's got a couple of moments but it's no Rembrandt.
shapeshifter

Dopplereffekt - Gesamtkunstwerk shapeshifter

November 7, 2016
I know this review is 9 years old, but just as a hint to new readers: listen to the two EPs/ mini-albums that are compiled here as they were originally released - separately.

They not only make a lot more sense that way, they'll also be easier to digest emotionally. The atmosphere, lyrical themes and the mastering/ EQing are vastly different on each, and the brevity and (ideally) the following pause helps to absorb the ideas more easily.

I loved both EPs when they were new in 96 and I still do, but I could never stand listening through the entire CD. Too much variation and too many ideas crammed into one hour, both musically and conceptually. Remember, "dosage makes poison out of medicine and vice versa".

We live in the age of custom playlists, so...
Brisk

Dopplereffekt - Gesamtkunstwerk as reviewed by Brisk

October 16, 2006
edited over 14 years ago

If you're only going to listen to a single electro album in your lifetime, then this is the one. Absolutely every track is a classic, and it is probably the best work Gerald Donald has been involved with. And considering he is one half of Drexciya, as well the mind behind Arpanet, Der Zyklus, and Japanese Telecom, it is high praise indeed. Stunning.
electronic_beat

Dopplereffekt - Gesamtkunstwerk as reviewed by electronic_beat

August 1, 2002

It's a classic. Pure and minimal Detroit Techno. What else can be said about this amazing record?
Sexual influences are eXposed (with interesting vocals)in tracks like Plastiphilia/Plastiphilia 2, Pornoactress or Pornoviewer, contributing for a special touch...
Anyway, my pick goes for Rocket Scientist, an amazing and very technical track.