Fingers Inc. ‎– Another Side

Jack Trax ‎– FING 1
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Decision 4:46
A2 Bye Bye 5:35
A3 Never No More Lonely 5:29
A4 Shadows 4:28
B1 Another Side 5:49
B2 So Glad 6:18
B3 I'm Strong 5:21
B4 A Love Of My Own 6:00
C1 Distant Planet
Vocals [Additional] – Harry Dennis
C2 Feelin' Sleazy 5:07
C3 Music Take Me Up 6:39
C4 Mystery Friend 5:07
D1 Mysteries Of Love 6:28
D2 A Path 5:39
D3 Bring Down The Walls 5:36
D4 Can You Feel It 5:45

Companies, etc.


  • Arranged ByFingers Inc. (tracks: A1, A3, B1, B3, B4 to D4), Larry Heard (tracks: A2, A4, B2)
  • ArtworkDCS (8)
  • Concept By [Album Concept]Damon D'Cruz
  • EngineerMike Konopka, Tommy White
  • Keyboards, Programmed By [Keyboard, Drum], Backing Vocals, Mixed By, Producer, Photography [Candid Shots]Larry Heard
  • Lead Vocals, Backing Vocals, Artwork By [Sleeve Concept]Ron Wilson
  • Lead Vocals, Backing Vocals, Recorded By [Additional Assistance]Robert Owens
  • Liner NotesSimon Witter
  • Mixed ByMike Konopka
  • Other [Administered By] – Indigo Music
  • Other [Make-up] – Joyce Taft
  • Other [Represented By] – General Talent International
  • Photography ByPaul Natkin



Typesetting by Jefferson Typesetting

Digitally recorded and mixed at Seagrape Recording Studios, Chicago, Ill.
Can You Feel It/Bring Down the Walls appear courtesy of Trax Records, Chicago, Ill.

Bootlegged in 2002.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Scanned): 5015793200112

Other Versions (5 of 11) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
CD FING 1 Fingers Inc. Another Side(CDr, Album, Unofficial) Jack Trax (2) CD FING 1 UK 2010 Sell This Version
CFING 1 Fingers Inc. Another Side(2xCass, Album) Jack Trax CFING 1 UK 1988 Sell This Version
FING 1 Fingers Inc. Another Side(2xLP, Album, Unofficial) Jack Trax (2) FING 1 UK 2002 Sell This Version
ML-9001 Fingers Inc. Another Side(3xLP, Album, RE, W/Lbl, Sta) Alleviated Records ML-9001 Netherlands 2015 Sell This Version
ML-9001 Fingers Inc. Another Side(12xFile, WAV, Album, RM) Alleviated Records ML-9001 US 2017


Reviews Show All 6 Reviews

Add Review



March 27, 2017
Anyone know if there is a plan to release a decent Fingers inc/Larry Heard compilation especially all the tracks off Alleviated? Much needed and wanted!!


April 10, 2014

If any house album (that rare thing), or music release of any kind, deserves the title "classic", this does. House music, no dressing, just straight to your heart and soul. I can celebrate to this record, I can dance to this record, I can mourn to this record. For me, listening to this record label to label is, basically, a religious experience.

What these young geniuses did in their 20s so long ago still astounds almost 30 years later. The beauty of it is the unshakable feeling of artistic integrity, a lack of pretense, of marketing, of any other core intention than to make great music. Obviously they wouldn't have balked at superstardom. But like all artists, the real purpose for these guys here seemed, in my opinion, really to make some personal expression that could serve as a medium to inspire and connect with others.

This album is a work of FINE ART that deserves to be treasured for centuries to come.


April 16, 2003

"On a distant planet in the jacking zone Finger Inc.have been displaying another side of House music sincebefore anyone knew there was one. Far and free from the defects that have conspired (in vain) to weaken house music's
exploding popularity - musical thieving, unimaginative productions, hokey singings and dirty deals - Fingers Inc. have filtered their dreams and experiences through a bittersweet blend of hypnotic electronics and oozingly emotional singing to become one of the scene's most popular and respected acts. The Fingers story began in late 1983, when touring R'n'B/Jazz drummer Larry Heard was
coaxed by family and friends into vinylisinga tune he'd been fooling around with called 'Mysteries Of Love'. Larry known to his younger brother as 'loose fingers', due to his keyboard playing style - felt that the song demanded a
singer, and local DJ Robert Owens was the man. So Mr. Fingers became Fingers Inc. and, in April '86, 'Mysteries Of Love' was released on the DJ International label. What followed was to become, for Chicago, a depressingly typical

30.000 people bought the 'Mysteries...' 12", putting it at Nr. 10 in Billbord's national sales chart, but the initial advance from DJI was all the money the group was to receive. To get out of their contract, Fingers had to give DJI another record, so they recorded 'A Path', an introspective career analysis detailing their bad experiences with DJI (echoes of Marvin Gaye's 'Here, My Dear'). In reality their options were limited, and so their career beat a path to the door of Trax Records where, after releasing 'Bringing Down The Walls' and the 'Can You Feel It' EP, they suffered a similar treatment, and decided to stop stop recording for any Chicago labels.

'I don't know the music business anywhere else', says Larry, 'but the small labels in Chicago are not very honest. At least we got somethig off every record. Some people got nothing, or had their songs stolen.'

In the second half of '87, they released 'I'm Strong' and 'A Love Of My Own'on their own Alleviated label, content - after their previous experiences - to be less visible but more independent. Independence has always characterised Finger Inc., not least at all in the subject matter department.

'Jack means nothing to me', claimed Larry at the height of Chicago's jackmania, 'Our songs are about experiences and beliefs. 'A Path' is almost religious.' Roberts lyrics span everything from love wars to Ethiopia and, on songs like 'Feelin Sleezy', reflect their heavily sexual/druggey ambience of Larry's music.

'Feeling Sleezy', explains Robert, 'IS sexually motivated. It's about the all-American feeling of beeing at home, bored, on your own, and wanting someone, going out to find them. Fingers Inc. is about looking at your life, the battle to fit into the circuit of life.'

This lyrical idiosyncrasy - coupled with with sophisticated rhythms and subtle productions - has meant that Fingers Inc. have, despite their popularity, never been the victims of blatant musical piracy. But the influence of their style has been enormous. From 'Mysteries Of Love' to their latest single 'Distant Planet' - a collaboration with Dennis 'The It' Harris and Frankie Knuckles - they've pioneered the spaced-out, moody acid tracks House style, and singles like 'Can You Feel It' have profoundly influenced the now-in-vogue atmospheric Detroit sound (Rythim Is Rhythim has often assuemed to be a Fingers pseudonym).

'Another Side' is Fingers Inc. complete work up to date, the definitive document, featuring all the DJI, Trax and Alleviated singles, 'Distant Planet' and another nine previously unreleased tracks, many featuring new group member Ron Wilson (on vocals). It's the consumate debut LP
of a Chicago group who any House insider will tell you, possess talent and integrity in unusual abundance. Don't take it from me. Just put the needle on the record!"

Simon Witter, NME

(this story was taken from the left side inside the gatefold sleeve cover of this compilation)