Mike.hoare

Curtis Mayfield - Curtis Mike.hoare

July 7, 2019

An OK pressing, but could do with more "life". 5 stars for the music
jon.torrez.3

Curtis Mayfield - Curtis jon.torrez.3

September 11, 2020
edited about 1 month ago

Haven't heard an original but I'm sure you're not wrong. I do like that the disc is flat and the pressing is (for the most part) surface noise free. The master is a little tame and safe, but this is not bad at all for a reissue. You won't feel burned with this one.
akosmvp

Curtis Mayfield - Curtis akosmvp

September 13, 2019
Completely agree. This vinyl is the reason because of which I don't fall anymore for these represses of classics like this one here.
Vulcatron

Curtis Mayfield - Curtis Vulcatron

February 27, 2019
I agree with preszende. I don't understand why so many "new" records have this much sibilance. Definitely returning this one; what's the point of keeping it if it sounds better (and doesn't hiss at me!) on YouTube?
jon.torrez.3

Curtis Mayfield - Curtis jon.torrez.3

September 11, 2020

I'll agree with moveceo. It's maddening but par for the course when listening to music on vinyl. I have records that others complain about that sound great on my setup and then of course the opposite is true for other releases. Try to find a stylus that tracks really well. Ortofon usually doesn't disappoint.
movceo

Curtis Mayfield - Curtis movceo

July 13, 2019
A lot of sibilance issues are stylus related. The recording itself is very sibilant and some styluses may reproduce it with some distortion. I didn't have any such issues with my copy of this.
movceo

Curtis Mayfield - Curtis movceo

October 11, 2018
I'm surprised to see some negative reviews for this version. It actually sounds much better than the other reissue that's on the market (the Scorpio one from the US). That pressing sounds very distorted and sibilant; this one sounds very clean and lively. Unless you're willing to pay $100+ for a minty original, this reissue should do just fine.
prezende

Curtis Mayfield - Curtis as reviewed by prezende

October 26, 2017
Didn't like this version. It's too high. The horns have no bright.
RobbeV

Curtis Mayfield - Curtis RobbeV

November 7, 2017

It sounds a bit flat indeed. I am also disappointed.