Various ‎– In The Dark (The Soul Of Detroit)

Still Music ‎– STILLMD12001
2 × Vinyl, 12", Compilation


A1 Marcellus Malik Pittman* A Walk Thru Osaka
B1 Rick The Godson Wilhite* & S. Ingram* Cosmic Jungle
B2 Delano Smith Hot-N-Funky
C1 Keith Worthy & Malik Alston Ecoutez
C2 Raybone Jones, Marcellus Malik Pittman* & Rick The Godson Wilhite* In The Dark
D1 Mike Huckaby Melodies From The Jazz Republic


  • Executive Producer – Jerome Derradji


In The Dark

In the dark is a reality, a small example of how much music and cultural activity thrives in Detroit.
All the artists involved in this project are essential creators and perpetuators of the musical heritage of the motor city.
Everyday and night, through their hands, ears and mouths, the future of Detroit's music is being shaped.
Nobody can take that away from them.
All we can do is listen and dance in the darkness of a sweaty club.

Respect - Jerome Derradji - Still Music - Chicago - April 2005

All photos on this artwork were shot at the legendary underground dance party joint, the JoHansen Charles Gallery in Eastern Market in 2002, Detroit, Michigan.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 8271700664650

Other Versions (4 of 4) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
STILLMCD001 Various In The Dark (The Soul Of Detroit)(CD, Comp) Still Music STILLMCD001 US 2005 Sell This Version
STILLMDLP005 Various In The Dark - The Soul Of Detroit(2x12", Comp, W/Lbl) Still Music STILLMDLP005 US 2012 Sell This Version
STILLMDCD005 Various In The Dark (The Soul Of Detroit)(CD, Comp + DVD) Still Music STILLMDCD005 UK & Europe 2012 Sell This Version
STILLMDLP005 Various In The Dark - The Soul Of Detroit(2x12", Comp) Still Music STILLMDLP005 US 2012 Sell This Version



Add Review



August 11, 2005
edited over 11 years ago

Malik Pittman's "A Walk Through Osaka" is a really sweet warm minimal house jam. Delano Smith's "Hot-N-Funky" has a kinda early 90's New York groove to it. Mike Huckaby's "Melodies From The Jazz Republic" has that super deep Harmonie Park vibe to it. The Worthy/Alston jam "Ecoutez" rocks a keyboard solo over minimal beats. Rick Wilhite and Sheldon Ingram's "Cosmic Jungle" is on the synthy downbeat house tip. Altogether they give a good overview of the different sounds that come from Detroit. However, it is the Raybone Jones, Marcellus Pittman, and Rick Wilhite collaboration on the title track "In The Dark" that shows the true depths of Detroit house. It's very slow and grimey stroll through Detroit's night life, stopping and starting and endlessly pounding. Abstract and abrasive, this is the kind of track that will make people freak out on the dance floor in Detroit.