Tomasz Stanko* ‎– Leosia

ECM Records ‎– ECM 1603, ECM Records ‎– 531 693-2
CD, Album


1 Morning Heavy Song 6:43
2 Die Weisheit Von Le Comte Lautréamont 6:07
3 A Farewell To Maria 7:41
4 Brace 4:10
5 Trinity 5:03
6 Forlorn Walk 2:11
7 Hungry Howl 9:51
8 No Bass Trio 5:58
9 Euforila 5:06
10 Leosia 9:22

Companies, etc.



Recorded January 1996
Rainbow Studio, Oslo

An ECM Production

℗ 1997 ECM Records GmbH
© 1997 ECM Records GmbH

Jewel case packaged in O-card case. Barcode is present only on the O-card case.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Printed): 7 31453 16932 6
  • Barcode (Scanned): 731453169326
  • Label Code: LC 2516
  • Rights Society: GEMA
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1): 531 693-2 01 /
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1): MADE IN GERMANY BY PMDC
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI L003
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 01F7
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2): 531 693-2 01 /
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2): MADE IN GERMANY BY PMDC
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI L003
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 01J5

Other Versions (2 of 2) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
ECM 1603, 531 693-2 Tomasz Stanko* Leosia(CD, Album, RP) ECM Records, ECM Records ECM 1603, 531 693-2 Germany Unknown Sell This Version
none Tomasz Stanko* Leosia(10xFile, FLAC, Album, 44.) ECM Records none Europe 2018


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



November 14, 2018
Crown Status Recording In Penguin Guide to Jazz Recordings. About .005% are given this status. I’m not biased I’m not selling it.


September 17, 2013
Review by Michael G. Nastos
As ECM recordings go, Leosia is one of the label's, and certainly trumpeter Tomasz Stanko's, definitive introspective and sedate musical statements. Not that in either instance these qualities have been in short supply, but here those themes of lush romanticism, thinly veiled mysticism, and pure ethereal thought could not be more concentrated or emphasized. As sparse a brass player as there is in contemporary improvised music, Stanko takes it even further with hushed tones and thoughtful, fully formed melodies, reinforced by the always lovely piano playing of Bobo Stenson, able bassist Anders Jormin, and the reined-in drumming of the usually energetic Tony Oxley. The CD is bookended by the entire group performing together, but in the middle, duets and trios provide the center section of their boldly extraterrestrial improvisations. In the full quartet setting, the self-explanatory "Morning Heavy Song" sets a sad, funeral tone, followed by the duality of time faster than the melody lines in "Die Weisheit Von Le Comte Lautreamont" and "A Farewell to Maria" in a free-floating final parting. Five smaller groupings feature Oxley's tiny cymbal and percussive flickings with Jormin's bowed bass on "Brace," and "Trinity" with Stenson added, while Stanko swings "Forlorn Walk" in a free bop mode alongside Jormin and Oxley, but "Hungry Howl" and "No Bass Trio" continue the reflective sounds. The conclusionary "Euforila" and the title selection exude hope at the outset, but a somber mood returns, although Stanko's bolder trumpet asks more loudly for attention, and Stenson's piano rambles a bit in non-plussed disbelief. Clearly a project moved by the death of a friend, it is a reminder of how life is fleeting, and words unspoken until it is too late can muster these feelings of abject regret.