JQ1017

Radiohead - In Rainbows JQ1017

May 27, 2018
edited about 1 year ago

The mastering on this pressing is sub-par. There's surface noise, it sounds muddy / distorted and mixed a bit too low for my liking. It really doesn't do the album justice given how much of an amazing aural experience the album is.

3 stars for the pressing , 5 stars for the album itself.
DLoew

Radiohead - In Rainbows DLoew

March 11, 2018

While not the best sounding pressing in my collection, certainly not as bad as others are saying. Maybe some bad batches out there not sure. Mine isn’t noisy at all.
BlueRodland

Radiohead - In Rainbows BlueRodland

October 27, 2016
There's more than one misprint, too. Some lines are printed when they aren't even sung on the song, and "shore" on Reckoner is misspelled.
benchox

Radiohead - In Rainbows as reviewed by benchox

September 25, 2016
Ok This pressing sounds terrible, a totally waste of money!
rasoren

Radiohead - In Rainbows rasoren

July 29, 2016
This pressing is so dirty and noisy! Thank God I have the special edition. Can't recommend that one enough.
mtngchi

Radiohead - In Rainbows as reviewed by mtngchi

July 9, 2016
edited over 3 years ago

I think the mastering is okay, but the pressing quality is kind of a mess. Fair amount of surface noise and light skips, it's almost like they've used worn out stampers. Also theres a small bump on the first two tracks of side A, but the record itself isn't warped. It was pressed by United (there's the (U) signature on the runouts), so no surprises here.
hrobb

Radiohead - In Rainbows as reviewed by hrobb

May 31, 2016
edited over 3 years ago

The date is wrong. When I buy from my local barnes and noble, they have a date for when they received it. So when it said 2008, I was pretty sure I had a good copy. Opened, nope. Same matrix, same misprint, same pressing issues. I have had experience with this awful goddamn pressing before. When you're trying to listen to Nude or any of the more quiet songs on this album, it is distracting when there are repetitive pops and clicks all over. I use a record doctor v and a carbon brush. I am appalled that these are even allowed to be sold. Do yourself a favor, find the 2007/2008 records without the misprinting, or better yet the special edition. This is crap. Awful crap. The record looks cloudy, even. Nonfill, mishandling, etc.... who knows what the hell happened to this press run. Be wary of buying this album, especially this version. This is something only United records could aspire to do. At least United doesn't fuck up the printing. I've been through three copies now. All of them were crap. Each one progressively worse than the other.
theabolitionist

Radiohead - In Rainbows as reviewed by theabolitionist

May 10, 2016

Got my copy new for $10 and honestly wasn't too impressed. The music is phenomenal but this pressing isn't. Cranked my system in to 7ish and it still seemed too quiet.
bradleyhanson

Radiohead - In Rainbows bradleyhanson

May 10, 2016
Great pressing. Very clean and present. Funny about the misprinted/double-printed lyrics...
hrobb

Radiohead - In Rainbows as reviewed by hrobb

March 27, 2016
edited over 3 years ago

Never mind. Read my above review. Apparently I can't delete this
Big_Buckaroo

Radiohead - In Rainbows as reviewed by Big_Buckaroo

August 23, 2015

This pressing sucked.
T.J.E

Radiohead - In Rainbows T.J.E

May 9, 2015
How many of these are there? I got mine just from Amazon.
1manband

Radiohead - In Rainbows as reviewed by 1manband

December 11, 2014

I just picked up a copy of this version of the album, sounds great to me.
jaimescreams

Radiohead - In Rainbows jaimescreams

January 30, 2014
I have never listened to the CD version of In Rainbows, but the vinyl version sounds really good.
OneBagTravel

Radiohead - In Rainbows OneBagTravel

January 24, 2014

Going through my first listen through and I gotta say the levels are pretty low on this album. I'm having to turn it up louder than my regular albums. I'm fairly new to vinyl so I'm not sure if this is a good thing or a bad thing. After bring the volume up everything sounded clear and less muffled. I'll give this a few more listens and add some followup thoughts.
oh_alvin

Radiohead - In Rainbows oh_alvin

February 18, 2014
Vinyl is mastered differently than a CD is generally mastered. Having to turn it up is a good thing. That means there is dynamic range and the album has not been mastered too "hot".
elektr0bi

Radiohead - In Rainbows elektr0bi

February 12, 2014
check your equipment first