Dreadzone ‎– Once Upon A Time

Functional Breaks ‎– FBCD 008
CD, Album


1 First Steps (Intro) 0:57
2 King Dub Rock 5:28
3 Once Upon A Time (In Jamaica) 5:31
4 Iron Shirt 6:02
5 Ska Con Queso 7:03
6 Elevate 5:15
7 Games People Play 5:10
8 I Know 5:05
9 The Warriors 4:15
10 Here We Go 6:20
11 Dancehall Priority 5:43
12 First Steps 7:07

Other Versions (2 of 2) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
FBCD 008 Dreadzone Once Upon A Time(CD, Album, Promo) Functional Breaks FBCD 008 UK 2005 Sell This Version
FBCD 008 Dreadzone Once Upon A Time(CDr, Album, Promo) Functional Breaks FBCD 008 UK 2005 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



March 5, 2007
edited over 10 years ago

Too bad, but for me Dreadzone kind of lost it on this album. Whereas their sound is known for its specific, organic, lively vibe, with clever use of samples, this albums just can't hide its computer roots. It's too formulaic, too digital and - never thought I would have to say this about the Dreadzone that gave us 360°, Performance, Second Light and Biological Radio - a tad uninspired. Potentially interesting ideas just never seem able to escape or grow out their place of birth : a dead sounding, repetitive and mechanical computer. Some hardcore rockers might get their stereotype vision on electronics confirmed : this breathes Reason and other Fruityloops and it does it way too hard. Maybe this material might sound somewhat better live, but the album version lets me down. No thriving and overall far too clean rhythms, rather stereotype synths, even the bass isn't rolling as usual. That's said with all the pain in the heart a fan of Dreadzone's massive sound can have. Far from Zion now, I'm afraid.