Symphony X ‎– Twilight In Olympus

Inside Out Music ‎– IOMCD 021
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Smoke And Mirrors
Lyrics By – Romeo*, Allen*, Miller*Music By – Romeo*, Miller*
2 Church Of The Machine
Music By, Lyrics By – Symphony X
3 Sonata
Music By [Based On Sonata #8 in C Minor)] – Ludwig van Beethoven
4 In The Dragon's Den
Lyrics By – Symphony XMusic By – Pinnella*, Romeo*, Miller*
5 Through The Looking Glass (Part I, II, III)
Lyrics By – Romeo*, Miller*Music By – Pinnella*, Romeo*, Miller*
6 The Relic
Lyrics By – Allen*, Miller*Music By – Pinnella*, Romeo*, Miller*
7 Orion - The Hunter
Lyrics By – Allen*, Miller*Music By – Romeo*, Miller*
8 Lady Of The Snow
Lyrics By – Allen*, Miller*Music By – Pinnella*, Romeo*

Companies, etc.


Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 4001617286821
  • Matrix / Runout: Panteon 388AZ8
  • Rights Society: GEMA
  • Label Code: LC 1414

Other Versions (5 of 15) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
505 Symphony X Twilight In Olympus(Cass, Album, Unofficial) Angel's Of Hell Records 505 Russia 1998 Sell This Version
3089372 Symphony X Twilight In Olympus(CD, Album, Enh, S/Edition, Dig) Nothing To Say 3089372 France 2003 Sell This Version
3037312 Symphony X Twilight In Olympus(CD, Album) CNR Music France 3037312 France 1998 Sell This Version
none Symphony X Twilight In Olympus(Cass, Album, Unofficial) Not On Label (Symphony X) none Bulgaria 1998 Sell This Version
M-SYMP Symphony X Twilight In Olympus(CD, Album, Unofficial) Спюрк M-SYMP Russia Unknown Sell This Version



Add Review



February 8, 2018

It would seem a near-impossible task for a band to not only match, but surpass 'The Divine Wings of Tragedy', but if anyone can do it, it's the albums creators themselves, for with 'Twilight in Olympus', Symphony X have unleashed a pure masterpiece of progressive metal upon the world.

Comfortable and confident with their sound, the interplay between all the musicians on this release is breathtaking, with each member given ample time to shine. Michael Romeo's guitars are at their neoclassical best, with keyboard player Michael Pinnella matching him note for note. The rhythm section, despite the long compositions and intricate structures, are as solid as ever, and Russell Allen's vocals are truly at their peak. From aggressive to melodic, from deathly growls to the highest wails, this truly is one of the most versatile singers in the world, fronting some of the most technically proficient musicians in the world.

Despite being a continuation of the style they'd honed and perfected over the last few albums, nothing on 'Twilight' sounds forced or stagnant. The band sound more focused and driven than ever. While every song here is a true highlight in the bands discography, it's the first half of the album that deserves particular attention. 'Smoke and Mirrors' and 'In the Dragon's Den' are relentless in speed and technique, and 'Church of the Machine' and 'Through the Looking Glass' are two of the greatest "epics" the genre has to offer.

With its blend of metal, progressive and neoclassical elements, virtuoso musicianship and solid production, Symphony X's 'Twilight in Olympus' is an absolute beast of an album, and is without a doubt one of progressive metal's finest offerings.