Clipping. ‎– CLPPNG

Sub Pop ‎– SP1071
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Body & Blood
Body Percussion [Footsteps] – Devra GoldenWritten-By – D. Diggs*, J. Canady*, J. Snipes*, W. Hutson*
A2 Work Work
Lyrics By [Additional], Vocals [Additional] – Cocc Pistol CreeWritten-By – C. Watts*, D. Diggs*, J. Snipes*, W. Hutson*
A3 Summertime
Lyrics By [Additional], Vocals [Additional] – King T*Scratches – Derrick "Baseck" Estrada*Written-By – D. Diggs*, J. Snipes*, R. McBride*, W. Hutson*
A4 Inside Out
Vocals [Additional] – Frank ChiaroWritten-By – D. Diggs*, J. Snipes*, W. Hutson*
B1 Tonight
Vocals [Additional] – Cristina BercovitzVocals [Additional], Lyrics By [Additional] – Gangsta BooWritten-By – D. Diggs*, J. Snipes*, L. Mitchell*, W. Hutson*
B2 Dream
Sounds [Additional Field Recordings] – Christopher FleegerWritten-By – D. Diggs*, J. Snipes*, W. Hutson*
B3 Get Up
Vocals [Additional] – Mariel JacodaVocals [Whispered] – Nico CaryWritten-By – D. Diggs*, J. Snipes*, W. Hutson*
B4 Or Die
Lyrics By [Additional], Vocals [Additional] – GuceWritten-By – D. Diggs*, J. Snipes*, W. Hutson*
C1 Taking Off
Alto Saxophone, Soprano Saxophone – Casey Anderson (2)Written-By – C. Anderson*, D. Diggs*, J. Snipes*, W. Hutson*
C2 Story 2
Piano [Final Chord] – Bear McCrearyWritten-By – B. McCreary*, D. Diggs*, J. Snipes*, W. Hutson*
C3 Dominoes
Contractor [Choir], Vocals [Additional] – Bobbi PageVocals [Additional] – Claira Titman, Emily Mae Titman, Karissa Lee, Micah Lee, Shane Lee (2)Written-By – D. Diggs*, J. Snipes*, W. Hutson*
C4 Williams Mix
Performer – Tom ErbeSounds [Additional] – Christopher FleegerSounds [Prepared And Created By] – Clipping.Written-By, Composed By – John Cage
C5 Run Out
Written-By – D. Diggs*, J. Snipes*, W. Hutson*
D1 Untitled
D2 Untitled
D3 Untitled
D4 Untitled
D5 Untitled
D6 Untitled
D7 Untitled
D8 Untitled
D9 Untitled
D10 Untitled
D11 Untitled
D12 Untitled
D13 Untitled
D14 Untitled
D15 Untitled
D16 Untitled
D17 Untitled
D18 Untitled
D19 Untitled
D20 Untitled
D21 Untitled
D22 Untitled
D23 Untitled
D24 Untitled
D25 Untitled
D26 Untitled
D27 Untitled
D28 Untitled
D29 Untitled
D30 Untitled
D31 Untitled
D32 Untitled
D33 Untitled
D34 Untitled
D35 Untitled
D36 Untitled
D37 Untitled
D38 Untitled
D39 Untitled
D40 Untitled
D41 Untitled
D42 Untitled
D43 Untitled
D44 Untitled
D45 Untitled
D46 Untitled
D47 Untitled
D48 Untitled
D49 Untitled
D50 Untitled
D51 Untitled
D52 Untitled
D53 Untitled
D54 Untitled
D55 Untitled
D56 Untitled
D57 Untitled
D58 Untitled
D59 Untitled
D60 Untitled
D61 Untitled
D62 Untitled
D63 Untitled
D64 Untitled
D65 Untitled
D66 Untitled
D67 Untitled
D68 Untitled
D69 Untitled
D70 Untitled
D71 Untitled
D72 Untitled
D73 Untitled
D74 Untitled
D75 Untitled
D76 Untitled
D77 Untitled
D78 Untitled
D79 Untitled
D80 Untitled
D81 Untitled
D82 Untitled
D83 Untitled
D84 Untitled
D85 Untitled
D86 Untitled
D87 Untitled
D88 Untitled
D89 Untitled
D90 Untitled
D91 Untitled
D92 Untitled
D93 Untitled
D94 Untitled
D95 Untitled
D96 Untitled
D97 Untitled
D98 Untitled
D99 Untitled
D100 Untitled



The LP version does not include the songs “Intro” and “Ends” found on the CD/digital version (“Ends” is included on the bonus 7” given to all LP/CD pre-orders though!) but does include a slightly longer version of the track “Body and Blood”.

The vinyl version also includes a bonus feature of 100 locked groove audio samples on side D, which are exclusive to the vinyl version of this release.

The Vinyl Version of Williams Mix Is different to the digital version of the track and C5 Is also a hidden track, which ends with a locked groove.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 098787107111

Other Versions (5 of 7) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
SP1071 Clipping. CLPPNG(14xFile, MP3, Album, 320) Sub Pop SP1071 US 2014
SP1071 Clipping. CLPPNG(14xFile, FLAC, Album) Sub Pop SP1071 2014
SP1071 Clipping. CLPPNG(2xLP, Album, Ltd, Whi) Sub Pop SP1071 US 2014 Sell This Version
PROCD214 Clipping. CLPPNG(CDr, Album, Promo, Cle) Sub Pop PROCD214 2014 Sell This Version
TRCP-163 Clipping. CLPPNG(CD, Album) Sub Pop TRCP-163 Japan 2014 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 10 Reviews

Add Review



October 12, 2017
edited about 1 year ago

I really love this releases sound and packaging, to me it's fantastic. The triple gatefold showing all the band members really is a treat. But what I don't like so much is the exclusion of 'Intro' and 'Ends' from this pressing. Seriously, what is the point of cutting tracks off of the album? Not having enough space? Well that's obviously bullshit seeing as there's an entire unused side filled with 100 locked grooves. Because they wanted to change the album and didn't like the tracks? Nope. The tracklist is the same on every single recent release of this album, with the only exception being the vinyl release. So.... why would they do this? Well, this is where my speculation veers towards the record label. And their yearning for cold hard cash.

Initially they sold a more expensive 'loser' version of this album on white vinyl. Which, if you pre ordered it you'd get a bonus 7" with - and here's the cherry on top - one of the excluded tracks.
Yes, they cut off 'Ends' to get more pre orders. Now, you may ask why 'Intro' is cut off. Probably because they thought that they couldn't cut off the outro without also cutting the intro off aswell, and that it's only a minute long so no one would care.
Well, I do. This is the equivalent of triple-A video game publishers cutting up their games so they can sell DLC at a later date, but more shitty. As those paying a premium to get it on vinyl are getting a lesser amount of content than those who buy it on CD - who get the tracklist and album experience the artists intended.
Although I could be wrong, but I can't think of any other reason as to why they'd do this. Other than just be inconvenient. Capitol did it in the 60s for US Beatles pressings, and I guess this greed didn't die down.
(If anyone can come up with an alternate justifiable reason - I'll stand corrected. But at this moment in time I personally cannot)

EDIT: Ooooooo! Even better! I didn't realise this at first but the tracklist running order is also fucked. Great. Now I just think they fucked with this release for no discernible reason. Why would you do this?


June 7, 2017
My LP doesn't have a locked groove on C5. Anybody else's copy like this?


May 8, 2015

Refreshing and crisp sound. Vinyl version mixed perfectly in stereo. The locked grooves on the D side is a neat touch too. Packaging is well done too. Recommended pick-up.


December 9, 2014
edited over 4 years ago
I bought my copy at Amoeba Music in Berkeley yesterday, it was new but the records look awful; covered in marks that look like finger prints or scuffing straight out of the package and stuff, even what looks like some staining on the D-side. I'm not near a turntable until the 3rd so I can't test how they'll sound but did anybody else's look like that? I've gotten two other Sub Pop releases (the Earth 2 reissue and Helplessness Blues) and they've sounded pristine yet looked similar, so I'm wondering if it's just some problem with the vinyl the pressing plant uses.


November 16, 2014
So annoying that the Intro and Ends aren't on here.