Biosphere ‎– Insomnia

Origo Sound ‎– SOUND 15, Origo Sound ‎– sound 15
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Proem 3:16
2 Lounge 2:29
3 Forum 4:15
4 Field 4:37
5 Probe 1:30
6 Yard 1:17
7 Shade 2:26
8 Ride 2:44
9 Chamber 2:25
10 2nd Field 5:41
11 Rush 1:33
12 Transit 1:47
13 Visit 1:28
14 Gate 1:39
15 Quay 3:08
16 Tunnel 5:39
17 Insomnia (Alanïa Mix)
Remix – Alanïa, Ole Johan Mjøs*, Rune Lindbæk, Torbjørn Brundtland

Companies, etc.



© 1997 Origo Sound
℗ 1997 Geir Jenssen

Subtitled "No Peace For The Wicked". This is the soundtrack to the 1997 Norwegian movie 'Insomnia' directed by Erik Skjoldbjærg.

Track 17 mixed for Drum Island Production.

Cat# on artwork: SOUND 15
Cat# on CD: sound 15

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 7 040489 000156
  • Rights Society: n©b
  • Matrix / Runout: TOCANO DK 22132
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L851
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 2202

Other Versions (5 of 6) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
BIO5CD Biosphere Insomnia(17xFile, AIFF, Album) Biophon Records BIO5CD Norway 2007
BIO5CD Biosphere Insomnia(17xFile, FLAC, Album) Biophon Records BIO5CD Norway 2009
BIO5CD Biosphere Insomnia(17xFile, WAV, Album) Biophon Records BIO5CD Norway 2007
BS107CD Biosphere Insomnia(CD, Album, M/Print, RE, Dig) Beatservice Records BS107CD Norway 2007 Sell This Version
BS107CD Biosphere Insomnia(CD, Album, RE, Dig) Beatservice Records BS107CD Norway 2007 Sell This Version



Add Review



May 2, 2012

Biosphere's soundtrack to Erik Skjoldbjærg's Nordic detective noir film, INSOMNIA, shows both the strengths and weaknesses of soundtracks in general. Strengths: excellent evocation of atmosphere. Weakness: lack of proper context for the sounds. Thus while the low throb that punctuates "Proem" or the disembodied voice on "Lounge" might amplifying a visual cue, taken from the film, they feel underdeveloped. "Forum" has a quiet haunt to it, while the plucked bass and guitar strums that comes emerge on "Ride" contrast the synth-based ambience elsewhere. The pervading sense on the album, however, is definitely paranoia, with contrasting high tones and low bass hits that keep the listener slightly off balance -- not to mention the angular harmonics ("Transit" manages all three at once). As fitting a soundtrack, most of the individual tracks are short, but they occasionally blend together. The longer "Tunnel," however, allows for a cut-up voice to appear, accompanied by a "Novelty Waves"-like bassline. The final track, a mix of various parts of the soundtrack by fellow Norwegians Alanïa, puts a downtempo spin to the what's come before. Enjoyable, but soundtracks are always sort of a mixed bag.