Miles Davis ‎– Big Fun

Columbia ‎– PG 32866
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album, Stereo, Gatefold

Tracklist Hide Credits

A Great Expectations
Bass – Ron CarterBass Clarinet – Bennie MaupinDrums – Billy CobhamElectric Bass [Fender Bass] – Harvey BrooksElectric Guitar – John McLaughlinElectric Piano – Chick Corea, Herbie HancockPercussion – Airto MoreiraSitar [Electric], Tambura – Bihari Sharma, Khalil BalakrishnaSoprano Saxophone – Steve GrossmanTrumpet – Miles Davis
B Ife
Bass – Michael HendersonClarinet, Flute – Bennie MaupinDrums – Al Foster, William Hart*Percussion [African] – Mtume*Piano – Lonnie Liston SmithPiano, Sitar – Harold "Ivory" WilliamsSoprano Saxophone – Carlos GarnettSoprano Saxophone, Flute – Sonny FortuneTabla – Badal RoyTrumpet – Miles Davis
C Go Ahead John
Bass – Dave HollandDrums – Jack DeJohnetteGuitar – John McLaughlinSaxophone – Steve GrossmanTrumpet – Miles Davis
D Lonely Fire
Bass – Dave HollandBass Clarinet – Bennie MaupinDrums – Billy Cobham, Jack DeJohnetteElectric Bass [Fender Bass] – Harvey BrooksElectric Piano – Chick CoreaElectric Piano, Organ [Farfisa] – Joe ZawinulInstruments [Indian] – Airto Moreira, Khalil BalakrishnaSaxophone – Wayne ShorterTrumpet – Miles Davis

Companies, etc.


Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Rights Society: BMI
  • Other (Disc 1 Catalog Number): C 32867
  • Other (Disc 2 Catalog Number): C 32868
  • Matrix / Runout (Label A): AL 32867
  • Matrix / Runout (Label B): BL 32867
  • Matrix / Runout (Label C): AL 32868
  • Matrix / Runout (Label D): BL 32868
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout A, Variant 1): P P AL-32867-1A I ∴ :
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout B, Variant 1): P P BL-32867-1A I C :
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout C, Variant 1): P P AL-32868-1A I C :
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout D, Variant 1): P P BL 32868-1B C B :
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout A, Variant 2): P P AL-32867-1A I ∴ :
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout B, Variant 2): P P BL-32867-1A I C :
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout C, Variant 2): P P AL-32868-1A I C :
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout D, Variant 2): P P BL 32868-1B 1 C

Other Versions (5 of 35) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
S 88024, CBS S 88024, CBS 88024 Miles Davis Big Fun(2xLP, Album) CBS, CBS, CBS S 88024, CBS S 88024, CBS 88024 Europe 1974 Sell This Version
88024 Miles Davis Big Fun(2xLP, Album, RE, Gat) Columbia 88024 Europe 1996 Sell This Version
none Miles Davis Big Fun(2xCD, Album, RE, Unofficial) Not On Label (Miles Davis) none Unknown Sell This Version
SICP 836~7 Miles Davis Big Fun(2xCD, Album, RE, RM) SME Records SICP 836~7 Japan 2005 Sell This Version
PG 32866 Miles Davis Big Fun(2xLP, Album, Gat) Columbia PG 32866 US 1974 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 7 Reviews

Add Review



March 7, 2017
Does anyone have any information on Joe Zawinul's track "Muhler Laranja" credited right after Great Expectations on Side 1's label? On my copy it says Great Expectations M. Davis/ Muhler Laranja J. Zawinul (TT 27.34) I don't see anything on here that references that in any of the pressings listed.


November 1, 2016
Great album, at once funky and atmospheric and with so many stretches of great musicianship. The 2000 reissue really adds value - unlike another reviwer here I feel "Recollections" is not boring at all, it has exquisite playing and subtle changes of mood and harmonics. The abundance of sitar and Indian-influenced drumming across several tracks (such as the opener "Great Expectations" is unusual and blends very nicely with Miles' band.

"Ife" is one of the high points of the set, dramatic and groovy and with great interpaly between keyboards, trumpet and drums. For some reason there is no credit for the prominent organ, though it kicks in at once at the opening of the track and then continues for several minutes, and returns in the closing section: does anyone know who is playing here? I was thinking perhaps Keith Jarrett, who was still with Miles' band in the summer of '72 when "Ife" was recorded but left soon afterwards, and who may have had contractual or musical reasons not to want to be credited here when the track was relased two years later. He is known to have played organ in this band, but also sometimes outside of it.

"Go Ahead John" which opens the second disc is an amazing track,. both in its fast and slow sections, and Jack DeJohnette (who is playing drums on many of the tracks) is especially funky in this one.


March 4, 2013
Corky McCoy's artwork is almost reason enough to own this record. The two brothers with afro's and bellbottoms wearing RED, BLACK and GREEN can also be found on Davis' On the Corner album. Musically, Big Fun sounds like a jazz mixtape; with each song the personnel changes so any sembelance of continuity is non-exsistant. If you are familar with Bitches Brew or any other Davis production from the period, you will recognize that Big Fun is essentially outtakes edited into new songs.


March 20, 2011
Don't be afraid to listen to "Lonely Fire" every day for a few months if you need to. It helps.