funkynial

Snoop Doggy Dogg* - Doggystyle as reviewed by funkynial

December 12, 2018

A digital remaster but it sounds okay! Clean flat pressing. Detailed sound but a little heavy on the compression and that sucks some of the life out of the tracks. Early pressings capture a much fuller, warmer and rich sound. Very listenable and a good price for want you get.
Seansulll

Snoop Doggy Dogg* - Doggystyle as reviewed by Seansulll

September 24, 2018

I'll agree with most of the comments on here, it does sound like they did a major bass boost to album. Take that as you will, people seem to love it or hate it. Me personally, I think its a little overkill but if you find yourself in a spot where this is a good price, I would grab it.
tennstrong

Snoop Doggy Dogg* - Doggystyle as reviewed by tennstrong

August 23, 2018
edited about 1 year ago
One of my best sounding records, I can only imagine the 93 press has different mastering (as mentioned in the "remastered" versions here-forth) as this sounds amazing. 0 regrets in getting this version, sounds very clean (personally more detailed than digital, but that gets into semantics and debates I guess)
VintageMetal

Snoop Doggy Dogg* - Doggystyle VintageMetal

March 17, 2018
Just picked up a sealed copy and gave it a good cleaning before playing. It sounded pretty good to me, better than my recent downloaded version, and none of the negatives that others mentioned.
The only cons for me was the quality control of the vinyl itself. Swirl marks on both sides and a couple of rough edges. As condition is important for me, I was not happy opening a sealed copy to see that.
Regardless, sounds very good, no distortion, excellent clean sounding bass, and clean mixing from Dre. It definitely brought me back to 1993 when I first bought the CD and became a new instant Snoop fan!
largekro

Snoop Doggy Dogg* - Doggystyle largekro

June 9, 2017
Needed to correct my comment by just having listened to both once again. 93 press wins hands down for me. They raised the bass too much and overprocessed the master on the 2LP repress wich makes it sound closer to the CD version than a vinyl. A lot of gain but it lacks seperation and deepness in the mix. But still it sounds clean, it's just a matter of taste.
largekro

Snoop Doggy Dogg* - Doggystyle largekro

June 5, 2017
To compare this one with my 1LP 1993 US repress they made due to the sampke clearence. I must admit on the good side that it's a pleasure that I do not need to raise the gain all the way up like on the 1993 release. But to me none is better than the other, they just sound different. It might have to do with both the change of master, now going digital to analog while it was tape analog to analog on the 1LP press. On this repress they managed to expand bass seriously, but it does not go to the ridiculous point of the "What's my name ?" single CD wich sounds too much, muddy. The original press gives a better separation of the different tracks (instruments) to me while it seems to lack just a bit of bass and has a whole lower playing level. Now I don't know if this is a view of my mind, but most of my single LP that I don't like for their lack of gain, on the other side give me a true satisfaction when it comes to mix equalisation and separation. May be someone can correct...
Tupring

Snoop Doggy Dogg* - Doggystyle Tupring

May 15, 2018
You aren't joking around about What's My Name lol even though it's labeled as LP Version on the single, it sounds a lot different.
wintersun1984

Snoop Doggy Dogg* - Doggystyle wintersun1984

May 26, 2017
Listening to this now and it sounds great on my system. Crisp and clear. The bass sounds amazing.
gannon

Snoop Doggy Dogg* - Doggystyle as reviewed by gannon

May 17, 2017
Yeah not a good remastering here, sounds distorted probably best to avoid
uncdoug

Snoop Doggy Dogg* - Doggystyle uncdoug

October 20, 2017
Just picked it up from Amazon, and on the first spin, I agree. I know the CD very well--and this is a questionable vinyl press. Very sibilant at the end, and with a system that cuts down on IGD, this is an example of lazy mastering.
Elmo_Redneal

Snoop Doggy Dogg* - Doggystyle Elmo_Redneal

March 2, 2017
I recently purchased this record BRAND NEW and sealed (in 2017). It was from London Drugs in Canada. The strange thing is...it looks IDENTICAL to THIS 2001 2x LP pressing. Even the numbers / letters engraved into the runout appear the same. Unfortunately I don't have a 2001 pressing to compare with. I find it hard to believe that London Drugs (which stocks only new vinyl) could have a 2001 pressing...but it SURE looks like the pics of a 2001 pressing.
NodakGameChaser

Snoop Doggy Dogg* - Doggystyle NodakGameChaser

March 11, 2017
It's because this is considered new. This 2001 version has never been out of print or out of stock. They made so many of them tha record stores are still able to orde and stock it
warismoney

Snoop Doggy Dogg* - Doggystyle warismoney

November 2, 2016
edited over 2 years ago
I only own the remastered version (this one). I´ll try to listen to the original one, until now and without knowing how the original one sounds i thought this copy sounds okay.
sudont

Snoop Doggy Dogg* - Doggystyle as reviewed by sudont

August 22, 2016
I'm surprised to hear people say this version sounds lousy. On my stereo, this thing sounds amazing. If the original sounds any better than this, it'd be worth the big bucks they're asking for it.
I mean, I get it. You kinda pity the naiveté of people who once thought plastering "Digitally Remastered" on a jacket was a selling point. But if it's hurt this album any, I can't hear it.
And sound is what this album is all about, IMO. Especially side one, it's just so...immersive. The snaky, fuzzy, low-end bass synth, topped with sensual/spooky synth lines and sleigh bells - it's just an amazing record, very visceral. Still fresh as fuck, today. For me, it's always about the music, the sound, the production. The music is definitely there on this disc, and Snoop's got a very laid-back flow. Laaaaaid, back. A stone classic.
Atwerkz

Snoop Doggy Dogg* - Doggystyle Atwerkz

November 6, 2015
The problem with this release is that they raised the Loudness up too high, and the whole thing just sounds distorted as hell. Not a great pressing. Yea the bass is cranked but I'd rather have less bass and less distortion.
djclass1

Snoop Doggy Dogg* - Doggystyle djclass1

April 28, 2017
Yep, my thoughts exactly! on vinyl, louder is not better..
cottonmouthVII

Snoop Doggy Dogg* - Doggystyle cottonmouthVII

August 5, 2015
edited over 4 years ago

I seem to be having the opposite experience of everyone else who has reviewed this, so for what it's worth my copy sounds fantastic. To me they did a great job spreading the tracks out and the sound is full. Bass sounds great and so do the vocals. No distorted s's even, which are very common on lower quality rap recordings in my experience. I snagged this in my local store on a whim and did not even notice the "Digitally Remastered" on the cover until I got on this page. That would have scared me, but it actually sounds fantastic on my setup. And hardly any surface noise at all.
ArchEnemy79

Snoop Doggy Dogg* - Doggystyle ArchEnemy79

February 7, 2017

Mine sounds amazing Crystal Clear too my TT set up is nothing to fancy a Reloop 4000m with stock Ortofon OM Black, Yamaha HTR 5150's built in phono stage, and Paradigm V4 Atoms and a 10 in PS Series Sub.
oblivion138

Snoop Doggy Dogg* - Doggystyle oblivion138

August 14, 2015
edited over 4 years ago
Yeah, I'm with you on this one. I'm not feeling any distortion. Bass is clear and defined, even when booming, and doesn't obscure the vocals at all. Surface noise is practically nonexistent. Overall, on my system, this remaster and pressing sound great.