mixmanlfc

The Future Sound Of London - Papua New Guinea mixmanlfc

March 8, 2018
Weatherall mix is the one for me and deffo a great track :).
djxray

The Future Sound Of London - Papua New Guinea djxray

February 23, 2018
Never liked this - it’s just a blatant rip-off of the mighty , Radio Babylon , by Meat Beat Manifesto, which is an absolute banger - this, on the other hand is completely shit IMO.
Duck_aka_Ontology

The Future Sound Of London - Papua New Guinea Duck_aka_Ontology

September 2, 2018
Good Question We Should Analyze This From The Existentialist Perspective To Determine Infinite Eagle Ultimate Inside The Inner Mind Temple TO ensue Maximum Tubular Yes Time Man Universe YEah.
soluman

The Future Sound Of London - Papua New Guinea soluman

May 30, 2018
Electrohound, so eloquently put. djxray, i'm really sorry that your brain doesn't jizz a tsunami of dopamine through your brain when you hear this tune like it does to millions of other people. For the record, both tunes deplete my dopamine and serotonin reserves in equal measures.
indicadreams

The Future Sound Of London - Papua New Guinea indicadreams

May 2, 2018
djxray
Never liked this - it’s just a blatant rip-off of the mighty , Radio Babylon , by Meat Beat Manifesto, which is an absolute banger - this, on the other hand is completely shit IMO.

That made me laugh. Best review I have read in ages.
Electrohound

The Future Sound Of London - Papua New Guinea Electrohound

March 4, 2018
edited 6 months ago
Well, Radio Babylon's main structural beat was taken from a hip hop record and that from an old funk record. So, not clear to me why we're being precious about "blatant" and "rip-off" when that was common at that time -- sample at breakneck pace and see what weird combos can be created. Also, FSOL admitted they were and were open about sampling it. That was the point in a way for that period of music IMO, it was underground and people were doing whatever they could to push it forward, and maybe pay the bills. They weren't the only ones to sample MBM back then, either. And, of course, many folks sampled FSOL as well over the years. The genius of Papua New Guinea is they in turn created a very different feeling from some of the source material, by also throwing Dead Can Dance into the mix, slowing down the bass line, arranging it in a more drop out fluid molasses direction versus a sound system shakedown vibe, giving it an ambient expanse, and voila, translating some of Radio Babylon into a different wave. Does that mean it is completely original? No. No more than most artists borrow, steal and emulate all the time. That's including Jack Dangers, who borrowed, stole and emulated back then too. In any case, I don't begrudge the opinion. But "completely shit" seems a bit harsh simply because they sampled another artist. Without sampling, there would be no Radio Babylon.
DanC690

The Future Sound Of London - Papua New Guinea DanC690

February 13, 2017
Possibly the best electronic track of all time. 25 years old and it still sounds more out there than anything i can think of!
jimij

The Future Sound Of London - Papua New Guinea jimij

February 18, 2015
This is one of many electronic singles I came across when I first got into house and techno after seeing The Chemical Brothers & Andrew Weatherall in the summer of 1995. Absolutely beautiful tune, as someone else has pointed out there are many situations where it is the perfect track.
samh72

The Future Sound Of London - Papua New Guinea as reviewed by samh72

December 19, 2014

While I love the original, the truly epic Weatheralll mix (complete with what sounds like a sample of a load of seagulls) is the one for me. Shame the vinyl version is a really shitty cut.
TimeIsoldsome

The Future Sound Of London - Papua New Guinea TimeIsoldsome

January 31, 2014
A stone cold classic. Also see 'Meat Beat Manifesto: Radio Babylon'
baj

The Future Sound Of London - Papua New Guinea baj

January 5, 2010
edited over 8 years ago

What can I say, this track changed my life.

I first heard it on the 1992 Cool World Soundtrack: http://www.discogs.com/Various-Cool-World-Original-Motion-Picture-Soundtrack/release/74241

This track combined my interest in "tribal" beats, ambient and industrial (I bought the CD for the Ministry, MLWTKK, Electronic, Cult, Eno tracks -- the ravey stuff was an afterthought).

The track forced me to dance and move and musically think in new ways. This is the track that got me into techno!
Mark_Anthony

The Future Sound Of London - Papua New Guinea as reviewed by Mark_Anthony

May 29, 2007
edited over 8 years ago

I dont know if there's a track that exists on the face of the earth right now that hits me any harder emotionally than the original mix of Papua New Guinea. For me, it truly is melodic perfection. I can't really think of any better way to describe the beauty of this, so I'll just leave it at that. If heaven exists, I imagine this is the soundtrack playing in the background, on repeat. This song will NEVER get old for me.
dexterfeng

The Future Sound Of London - Papua New Guinea as reviewed by dexterfeng

August 31, 2005
edited over 13 years ago
Snap up one Dead Can Dance sample. Throw it atop a breakbeat a nice simple bassline, some keyboard washes and you got yourself an anthem and the rest is history.
An early pioneering track unlike anything else being made at the time. While twits like Enigma and later, Deep Forest plied us with their off kilter ethno warblings. FSOL reminded us that things could be better. Papua New Guinea could also be played nearly anywhere and in nearly any situation and no one would bat an eyelid.
Stick with the original mix. There's really no need to venture too far from what's already basically perfect, unless you've got some point to prove.


moogacid

The Future Sound Of London - Papua New Guinea moogacid

June 4, 2012
Yes sir..! I'd just add that the 'nice simple bassline' was also a total bite of Meat Beat Manifesto's 'Radio babylon'
DJPASQUEZ

The Future Sound Of London - Papua New Guinea as reviewed by DJPASQUEZ

April 11, 2002
There is no doubt that the original 12" mix is the best. Often music writers are misunderstanding this track as Chill Out and though it´s featured on many whacky Chill Out and "Cafe del Mar" Clones. But also for you sophisticated discog users this track is highly recommended. Funky oldschool breakbeat with an offbeat percussion, breathtaking ethnosamples and a wonderful piano. Check this track out, it´ll rock every party....