Kode9 Feat. The Spaceape* ‎– Dubstep Allstars: Vol.03

Tempa ‎– TEMPACD 005
CD, Mixed

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Kode9 9 Samurai 2:37
2 Pressure (9) Dem A Bomb We
Vocals – Warrior Queen
3 Geeneus You Know 2:01
4 Digital Mystikz Haunted 1:45
5 Skream I
Remix – Loefah
6 D1 Bamboo 2:51
7 Skream Groovin' 2:14
8 Digital Mystikz New Life Baby Paris 1:41
9 Calenda Forever 2:38
10 Digital Mystikz Heartless Ninja 1:52
11 Skream 0800 2:23
12 Digital Mystikz Molten 2:54
13 Skream Tortured Soul 2:12
14 Digital Mystikz Intergalactic 1:05
15 Loefah Rufage 1:18
16 DJ Krave Minor Skank 1:12
17 N-Type Way Of The Dub 2:56
18 Skream Colourful 1:35
19 Benga Mammoth
Remix – Plasticman
20 Random Trio Haunted
Remix – Cyrus (9)
21 Skream Korma 1:45
22 D1 ET 1:43
23 Plasticman Unhappy Shopper 1:42
24 Blackdown Dis/East 1:24
25 Geiom Overnight Biscuits 2:37
26 D1 Cocaine 3:06
27 Random Trio Rebel 2:21
28 Burial Prayer 1:47



Track 3 is incorrectly titled 'You Know Me'.
Track 15 is incorrectly titled 'Ruffage'.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5030094123021
  • Matrix / Runout: TEMPACD5 100000 01
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI LV81
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI KA02



Add Review



January 16, 2010

If you are a follower of Hyperdub and it's ethos then you'll know that they have a thing about 'the virus', a sort of meta musical/sound infection, and allusions have often been made to noise and sound as weapons or their potential as weapons.
Well with these notions in mind it would be fair to say that Kode9, or Dr Steve Goodman to his pupils expounds these theories in his Dubstep Allstars 3 assault. Dubplates are his ammunition, Technics are his weapons, Spaceape is his Sergeant Major and their mission is to Infect and spread the Dubstep virus, which on this CD they do with the skill and dexterity of seasoned sonic soldiers.
Kode9's mixing is confident and fast, as most tunes air for approximately 1 or 2 minutes, but the mix doesn't feel rushed at all. It reminds me a little of Jeff Mills approach to mixing whereby the 'best' parts of tracks are used as opposed to giving each tune a full rinsing. This means that the tracks themselves become elements in an overall framework, like the hexagons stitched together on a football: individual pieces that help to maintain structure of a larger object/achievement.
Digital Mystikz are the most prominent producers featured on the mix and their tribal/rootsy/riddem take on Dubstep works well for Kode9 who favours a more rhythmical approach to the genre (as can be heard throughout his own body of productions).
Highlights on the mix include:
D1's Bamboo - such a hauntingly beautiful piece of music and probably the best thing he's ever done.
Digital Mystikz - Heartless Ninja. Can't believe this is the DMZ boys as it's so Grimey. Bouncy bassline, sinister breathing samples and stark claps and snares - really special.
Intergalactic mixed into Rufage into Minor Skank - an amazing section that's really bass driven and physical as hell.
Overall the whole mix is a triumph and really goes some way in showing the variety and versatility of Dubstep.