Various ‎– 101 + 303 + 808 = Now Form A Band

Sabrettes ‎– SBR 004 LP
2 × Vinyl, LP, Compilation


A1 Turbulent Force Metamorphic Structures
A2 Point Alpha Alpha Acid
A3 THD (6) Steel Mill
B1 THD (6) Spaldang
B2 Pod (3) Mollusk
B3 Turbulent Force Timer
C1 Point Alpha Data Blast
C2 Psyche (4) Street Stomper
C3 Pod (3) Geodesic Dome
D1 Lords Of Afford Do Laugh (Whitey Part 4)
D2 Psyche (4) Adrenalin Rush


Pod is given as Mat Roland on sleeve.

The title of this compilation follows the format of an infamous feature in the 1976 punk fanzine Sideburns (often credited to fanzine Sniffin' Glue in error). The original design gave diagrams for three guitar chords (A, E and G) with the captions "this is a chord / this is another / this is a third / now form a band" pushing the DIY ethos of the punk scene. Here the same philosophy is applied to techno music by referencing three vintage synths / drum machines made by Roland.

Other Versions (2 of 2) View All



Add Review



December 25, 2008

An interesting compilation here,from a label I know very little about,although a lot of it reminds me of early Industrial Strength/IST etc .The reason I bought this was for 4 tracks,which is a good result for something I had never heard of;Point Alpha's "Alpha Acid",with its hard kicks,high 303 line and metal-drum percussion is great,as is the constantly building-up "Adrenalin Rush" by Psyche.But the real ones that grabbed my attention are by Pod."Mollusk" has an overbearing kick and sounds similar to early AFX works,while "Geodesic Dome" carries on that feeling,but with more defined sounds and non 4/4 kickdrum patterning.I would advise people into what I mentioned previously to pick one up.