Matmos ‎– The Rose Has Teeth In The Mouth Of A Beast

Matador ‎– OLE 677-1
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album, 180 Gram

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Roses And Teeth For Ludwig Wittgenstein
Guitar [Twang Guitar], Performer [Electronics] – Jay Lesser*Performer [Cow Recordings, Goose Call], Mixed By – M.C. Schmidt*Performer [Roses, Teeth, Manure, Sampling, Sequencing, Digital Editing] – Drew DanielVoice [Excerpts From Ludwig Wittgenstein's Philosophical Investigations Read Aloud By] – Björk Guðmundsdóttir, Laetitia Sonami, Marcus Schmickler, Rose McKereghan, Werner Phillip Schmidt, Zum Zoom
A2 Steam And Sequins For Larry Levan
Drums – Steve GoodfriendGuitar [Electric Guitar], Horns [Peck Horn], Trumpet – Mark LightcapPerformer [Electronics] – John TalagaPerformer [Steam, Sewing Machine, Sequins, Arp 2600, Sampling, Sequencing, Digital Editing] – Drew DanielPerformer [V-synth, Tambourine, Shaker, Sauce Pan], Mixed By – M.C. Schmidt*Synthesizer [Arp 2600] – Matthew Curry*Voice – Kalonica McQuesten
A3 Tract For Valerie Solanas
Performer [Cow Uterus, Reproductive Tract, Vagina, Vacuum Cleaner, Plastic Gloves], Mixed By – M.C. Schmidt*Performer [Sampling, Sequencing, Digital Editing, Machete, Scissors, Knives, Paper, Personal Alarms (Rape Alarms)] – Drew DanielVoice [Excerpts From Valerie Solanas' The S.c.u.m. Manifesto Read By] – Barbara Golden, Yalie Kumara
B4 Public Sex For Boyd McDonald
Drums – Steve GoodfriendGuitar [Electric Guitar], Trumpet – Mark LightcapPerformer [Pen, Paper, Typewriter, Video Tape, Sampling, Sequencing, Digital Editing, Arp 2600] – Drew DanielSaxophone – Stephen ThrowerSynthesizer [Arp 2600, Sh 101, V-synth, Juno 6], Performer [Video Tape], Mixed By – M.C. Schmidt*
B5 Semen Song For James Bidgood
Arranged By [String Arrangement] – Jefferson FriedmanCello – Clarice JensenKeyboards [V-synth, Piano], Performer [Sampling, Sequencing], Mixed By – M.C. Schmidt*Performer [File Transfers, Effects] – Jon LeideckerPerformer [Sampling, Sequencing, Digital Editing, Toilet Paper Roll Panflute, Paper, Semen] – Drew DanielPiano [Prepared] – Matthew FuerstStrings – ACME (American Contemporary Music Ensemble)Viola – Bridget FitzgeraldViolin – Erik Carlson (2), Miranda CucksonVoice – Antony Hegarty
B6 Snails And Lasers For Patricia Highsmith
Double Bass – Brian O'Reilly (2)Drums – Steve GoodfriendFrench Horn – Amy VaillancourtPerformer [Sampling, Sequencing, Digital Editing] – Drew DanielPerformer [Sequencing, V-synth, Ms2000, Books, Brushes, Live Garden Snails, Glass Cylinder, Light-sensitive Theremin], Mixed By – M.C. Schmidt*
C7 Germs Burn For Darby Crash
Performer [Arp 2600, Wahl Hair Clipper, Hair] – M.C. Schmidt*Performer [Lighter, Cigarette] – Don BollesPerformer [Sampling, Sequencing, Digital Editing, Burnt Flesh, Cry Of Pain] – Drew Daniel
C8 Solo Buttons For Joe Meek
Arranged By [String Arrangement] – Lev "Ljova" Zhurbin*Bass – Jay Lesser*Cello – Jeffrey ZeiglerCo-producer, Written-By, Guitar – Mark LightcapDrums – Steve GoodfriendPerformer [Tapes, Synths, Sampling, Sequencing, Digital Editing] – Drew DanielPerformer [Whinging] – M.C. Schmidt*Strings – Kronos QuartetViola – Hank DuttViolin – David Harrington, John Sherba
C9 Kendo For Yuko Mishima
Performer [Field Recording, Tape Deck, Sampling, Sequencing, Digital Editing], Mixed By – Drew DanielPerformer [Field Recordings] – Rudolf Eb.erPerformer [Field Recordings], Mixed By – M.C. Schmidt*
D10 Rag For William S. Burrroughs
Goblet Drum [Darbuka] – Darcy BartolettiPerformer [Amateur Piano, Sampling, V-synth, Sequencing, Tape Recorder, Typewriter, Vacuum Cleaner Tube, Horns] – M.C. Schmidt*Performer [Burroughs Adding Machines, Film Projectors] – Michael Brown (2)Performer [Electronics] – Jay Lesser*Performer [Heidelberg Windmill, Chandler And Price Printing Presses] – Leif FairfieldPerformer [Sampling, Sequencing, Digital Editing, Bombard, Tape Recorder, Shortwave Radio, Marbles, Keys, Efx] – Drew DanielTrumpet – Mark LightcapViolin – Blevin Blectum
D11 Banquet For King Ludwig II Of Bavaria
Drums, Percussion [Sleighbells] – Steve GoodfriendFrench Horn – Amy VaillancourtPerformer [Glassware, Dishes, Coconuts, Sampling, Sequencing, V-synth] – M.C. Schmidt*Performer [Glassware, Dishes, Sampling, Sequencing, Digital Editing] – Drew DanielTuba, Horns [Peck Horn], Performer [Plastic Tube] – Mark LightcapVoice – Maja S. K. Ratkje

Companies, etc.



The sleeve states: "The subjects of these portraits have not granted their consent and do not in any way endorse these unauthorized tributes."
RTI 180 gram vinyl.
Track C9 "Kendo for Yukio Mishima" is not included on the CD-version of this album.
Tracks listed sequentially on jacket.

Matador Records has included a card with each copy of this vinyl edition with instructions on how to access a zip file of these tracks im mp3 format. Each card contains a unique code for a one time access to the mp3 zip file.
Unfortunately, track C9 (exlusive to the vinyl format and the Japanese CD pressing) is not included in the zip file.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 744861067719
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A run out, etched): OLE-671-1-A "BACK TO THE ROUGH GROUND" KPG@ATM 14241.1(3)
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B run out, etched): OLE-677-1-B "THAT SAILOR WAS WILD AS HELL" KPG@ATM 14241.2(3)
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C run out, etched): OLE-677-1-C₂ "DEFECTS IN A DEFECTS MIRROR KPG@ATM 14293.3(3)
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D run out, etched): OLE-677-1-D "SLOW MARBLE GHOST HANDS" KPG@ATM 14241.4(3)

Other Versions (5 of 8) View All