mikkel

Floating Points - Elaenia as reviewed by mikkel

August 6, 2016
edited over 5 years ago
I opened a new copy and there is a 1 min scratch in A1. Not my lucky day.
MimmwaRecords

Floating Points - Elaenia MimmwaRecords

September 21, 2016
happened to me before. managed to get another copy from the label in question
snobo

Floating Points - Elaenia as reviewed by snobo

June 19, 2016
The album itself is incredible - composition, production, mastering, sound and everything. Totally agree that it's one of the very best of 2015. I just want to add some comments regarding the 2016 Pluto repress. I bought it from HHV and had to return it TWICE, because of the SAME defect in the SAME place - in the middle of the 1st track, where it reaches its volume peak, the groove is broken, resulting in two very loud distortions. Apart from it, the pressing is good. So as I returned it twice, I assume it might be a common problem... I ended up bying Luaka Bop regular version, and it's flawless. I am not exactly sure, but it seems even slightly better than Pluto's pressing soundwise...
Adzbiz

Floating Points - Elaenia Adzbiz

May 2, 2017

I have this.. absolutely no problem, in fact beautifully lathed. Maybe check your set up?
mulder

Floating Points - Elaenia mulder

July 22, 2016
Both are the same 1/2 speed cut from the same master. I would like to know where the Luaka Bop version is pressed though, if you can find out.
Shaneski75

Floating Points - Elaenia Shaneski75

February 12, 2016

A fine body of work - a classic for years to come.
joey_p87

Floating Points - Elaenia joey_p87

January 20, 2016
Infuses jazz and classical elements with electronic music. Layers are excellently orchestrated. Drums are crisp. You feel the dynamic professionalism. As mentioned below, one of 2015's finest for sure.
BrianRix

Floating Points - Elaenia BrianRix

December 12, 2015
Certainly one of this years finest.
gapapad

Floating Points - Elaenia gapapad

November 26, 2015
The inside of the sleeve has a full colour picture printed on it. It looks like a 360 view of his workspace with lots of synths keys and consoles all around.
catalist

Floating Points - Elaenia catalist

January 12, 2016
I noticed there is something in there but to see it you would have to 'Gatefold' the album so I hesitated.
accoutrements

Floating Points - Elaenia as reviewed by accoutrements

November 3, 2015
edited over 5 years ago
Amazing release, absolutely flawless.

Comes with a polylined inner sleeve and a paper insert which describes the equipment used on each track, credits and harmonograph drawings.

Peroration Six reminds me a lot of Talk Talk's 'Ascension Day'. The way it builds into an epic climax and then abruptly ends in silence.
sixergixer

Floating Points - Elaenia sixergixer

December 27, 2015
Ah yes. Never has the ending of a record been my favorite part. Brilliant build up.
Akiraaaaaaa

Floating Points - Elaenia Akiraaaaaaa

November 5, 2015
Thanks for the spoiler!