yourdadsbff

Martin Nonstatic - Granite as reviewed by yourdadsbff

January 13, 2017
This has quietly been one of my favorite dub records since it came out. Very nice stuff--don't listen to the joyless cynics. ;p
Articuno

Martin Nonstatic - Granite as reviewed by Articuno

August 21, 2016
edited over 2 years ago

Extremely boring music, lacking in inspiration, simplistic, and with nothing memorable about it. Ultimae appears to be transitioning into generic, bland ambient, "dub techno", and glitchy sorts of music. There are already many other labels releasing this sort of stuff, and unfortunately someone keeps buying it indiscriminately. There seems to be no standards of quality required in this genre, where almost every release you can find is always rated 5/5 and very highly reviewed. I guess this kind of music is considered trendy these days, or at least nobody has the guts to openly state when it's junk.

This can very safely be skipped. It's nothing like the music Ultimae used to release. You'll find much better ambient and IDM music on FAX and Carpe Sonum. Ultimae should stick with their roots.
PurpleScroll

Martin Nonstatic - Granite PurpleScroll

September 5, 2017

So it's obvious you never actually looked at my profile if you tell me to listen to a broader range.

It's also rather rich of you to tell me to grow up considering your profile pic, but what am I to expect from someone to start lashing out at others just because they disagree with you.
Articuno

Martin Nonstatic - Granite Articuno

September 5, 2017

Grow up and out of your genre attachments, listen to a broader range of music, and you'll find much more interesting stuff than is here. Good luck!
PurpleScroll

Martin Nonstatic - Granite PurpleScroll

September 5, 2017

Uh, that's probably because I listen to downtempo, not ambient?
Articuno

Martin Nonstatic - Granite Articuno

September 1, 2017

I don't think you understood my comment. I appreciate great music in a variety of genres - including ambient - but this is simply not great music. Stuff like this is a dime a dozen. From the looks of your profile you have very little familiarity with ambient music.
PurpleScroll

Martin Nonstatic - Granite PurpleScroll

September 1, 2017

I highly disagree here and I'm rather disappointed this is considered the most helpful review. I have CDs from Ultimae dating all the way back to Fahrenheit Project 1 and constantly find similar sounds from then up until now. The fact is, artists need to experiment with their music, they can't just simply keep pumping out the same stuff for so many years. Look at downtempo back when it was in the 90s, do you really think people would be able to keep producing that same sound from back then? I honestly like where Ultimae is going and I listen to other projects that have the similar sound and flavour.
erosandthanatos

Martin Nonstatic - Granite as reviewed by erosandthanatos

January 12, 2016
edited over 3 years ago

Within the first moments of Martin Nonstatic's 'Granite,' it is immediately clear that we are hearing the creation of an artist who is at the height of his creative powers. It would be shameful if he doesn't get the recognition he deserves for this subtle masterpiece. At the same time, given the trajectory of his creative development, it is clear that he is far from finished. A must listen for fans of Yagya, Fatih Tuter, the work of Ryuchi Sakamoto and Alva Noto, and Loscil.
patrickdanneker

Martin Nonstatic - Granite patrickdanneker

September 16, 2016
I coulnd't agree more. It grows on you every time you listen to. He also has a very distinct style which is really a pleasure to listen to.