Hybrid ‎– I Choose Noise

Distinct'ive Records ‎– DISNCD172
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

0 Everything Is Brand New 3:06
1 Secret Circles 0:52
2 Dogstar
Bass – Peter HookGuitar – Peter DistefanoVocals [Featuring], Lyrics By – Perry FarrellWritten-By – Farrell*
3 I Choose Noise 5:28
4 Falling Down
Bass – Tim HuttonGuitar – Mike TrumanVocals [Featuring], Lyrics By – Judie TzukeWritten-By – Tzuke*
5 Last Man Standing
Cello [Electric] – Martin TillmanWritten-By – Tillman*
6 Hooligan Spirit 4:33
7 Choke
Vocals [Featuring], Lyrics By – John GrahamWritten-By – Graham*
8 Keep It In The Family
Cello [Electric] – Martin TillmanPiano – Stephen Barton
9 Until Tomorrow
Acoustic Guitar – Adam TaylorDrums – Tim HuttonGuitar [Electric] – Tom Greenwood (4)Guitar [Twelve String] – Peter DistefanoVocals [Featuring], Lyrics By – John GrahamWritten-By – Graham*, Distefano*
10 Dream Stalker
Bass – Peter HookEffects [Vocal] – Perry FarrellVoice – Tony Scott (6)
11 Just For Today
Guitar – Bob MellorVocals [Featuring] – Kirsty HawkshawWritten-By – Hawkshaw*



CD also contains a hidden bonus track - "Everything Is Brand New" (track 0). To listen to it, just go to the first track and rewind it, you'll see it start going into the negative numbers.

Track 3 is misspelled "I Chose Noise" on the sleeve and in the notes.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 881824107720
  • ASIN: B000H80LDQ
  • Matrix / Runout: DISNCD172
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L135
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 04AT

Other Versions (4 of 4) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
84-456 Hybrid I Choose Noise(CD, Album) Distinct'ive Records 84-456 Russia 2006 Sell This Version
none Hybrid I Choose Noise(CDr, Promo) Distinct'ive Records none UK 2006 Sell This Version
none Hybrid I Choose Noise(CDr, Promo) Distinct'ive Records none UK 2006 Sell This Version
DISNCD172 Hybrid I Choose Noise(CD, Album, Unofficial) Distinct'ive Records (2) DISNCD172 Russia 2007 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



August 8, 2011

one of the best album in electronic music history.


October 28, 2006
edited over 11 years ago
I first heard this on radio some days ago, and recorded with analog cassette player (the analog natural noise gives a texture, and it doesn't have the feel of being, to the same extent, a mere 'copying', but allows the music to become more known). It is, within the genre, perhaps the best I have heard so far. I hope that the willingness to experiment aesthetically will also, with the perfume of excellence, approach the notion of experimenting with the mechanical rhythm which is still dominant in modern music -- and, in a powerful way, bring in the arrythmical. But let's hear all Hybrid is doing first!


September 26, 2006
edited over 11 years ago
In view of Hybrids last album I'm stunned like ever before by this "I Choose Noise". I really loved the "Wider Angle" album for its string arrangements, and MY GOD I'm glad they've started building vividly harmonic and mellow tracks again. This time with a slightly dedicated tonus towards modern musicality other than mindless dancefloor fillers.

John Grahams appearance on "Until Tomorrow" is nothing but awesome. This phenomenal piece of music combines a moody guitar anthem with thick clouds of stringent melodics and effective vocals. This is by far the best track of the album.

Other tracks worth mentioning for their unique foundation of strings, breakbeats and random appearance of vocals: "Dogstar", "I Choose Noise", "Hooligan Spirit", "Choke", "Keep It In The Family" and "Just For Today".