Public Enemy ‎– It Takes A Nation Of Millions To Hold Us Back

Def Jam Recordings ‎– C 44303, Def Jam Recordings ‎– FC 44303, Columbia ‎– C 44303, Columbia ‎– FC 44303
Vinyl, LP, Album, Stereo, Carrollton Press

Tracklist Hide Credits

Side Silver
A1 Countdown To Armageddon 1:41
A2 Bring The Noise 3:47
A3 Don't Believe The Hype 5:20
A4 Cold Lampin With Flavor 4:13
A5 Terminator X To The Edge Of Panic 4:30
A6 Mind Terrorist 1:18
A7 Louder Than A Bomb 3:37
A8 Caught, Can We Get A Witness? 5:03
Side Black
B1 Show 'Em Whatcha Got 1:57
B2 She Watch Channel Zero?! 3:50
B3 Night Of The Living Baseheads
Scratches [Rhythm] – Johnny Juice Rosado
B4 Black Steel In The Hour Of Chaos 6:25
B5 Security Of The First World 1:22
B6 Rebel Without A Pause 5:05
B7 Prophets Of Rage 3:15
B8 Party For Your Right To Fight 3:27

Companies, etc.



Direct Metal Mastering (DMM).

Characteristics of this pressing:
- cat # (label): C 44303
- cat # (spine): FC 44303
- labels: have both the Def Jam Recordings and Columbia logos and includes the track listing (see images).

Although similar to the other version, this version can be distinguished by silver text printed on both labels, which is absent on the other version.

There is also a very similar version with the catalog number BFW 44303 printed on its labels, which also can be distinguished by the absence of the Columbia logo around the perimeter of its labels and was likely released subsequent to this version. Furthermore, this version can also be distinguished by the black background found on the back cover of the jacket, which on the BFW 44303 version is red.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 0 7464-44303-1
  • Barcode (String): 07464443031
  • Barcode (Scanned): 074644430318
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A label): AL 44303
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B label): BL 44303
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1; Side A runout - etched): AL-44303-1C MASTERDISK-DMM G2 A2
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1; Side B runout - etched): BL-44303-1C MASTERDISK-DMM G2 A6
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2; Side A runout - etched): AL-44303-1C MASTERDISK-DMM G1 B10
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2; Side B runout - etched): BL 44303 1A D G1 A4
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 3; Side A runout - etched): AL-44303-1C MASTERDISK-DMM G2 A1
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 3; Side B runout - etched): BL-44303-1C MASTERDISK-DMM G2 A5
  • Pressing Plant ID (Etched): G


Reviews Show All 4 Reviews

Add Review



July 25, 2019
This album was released in the first week of July in the United States. I don't know of any country in which it had an April release. Don't Believe the Hype was released as a single a couple weeks before the album, in June, but also not in April. That April date should probably either be cited or corrected to July 1988.


August 17, 2018
The differences between the 88 vinyl release and the 2000 release at a quick A/B comparison is the reissue is between 1.5 to 2 db louder and there is a wide boost centered around 5K also it seems they have slightly dropped via a low shelf everything below 300hz slightly on the reissue. Also the side info on the reissue has some scratchy distortion on the vocals which you sometimes get from lower res mp3’s, so I don't know what that is all about.


July 14, 2017

The BFW 44303 version has the PE name in Yellow, instead of Black. Yellow is used in non-US released versions. Apparently all US version have the PE title in Black. Can someone verify? Thanks.