JamboLinnman

Paul McCartney And Wings* - Band On The Run as reviewed by JamboLinnman

September 15, 2020

I finally received a NM copy of this after three attempts (other two overgraded), all bought on Discogs.

This sounds great - an excellent recording and pressing (I have a -2/-2).
jtm1967

Paul McCartney And Wings* - Band On The Run jtm1967

January 26, 2019

Absolutely nothing beats a clean copy of this pressing! Nothing!! Tried em all and this one wins hands down. As a matter of fact, my 1st U.K. Ram is the best for that lp as well.
leudanielm

Paul McCartney And Wings* - Band On The Run leudanielm

April 19, 2018

Look no further than this pressing! It has a warm, full sound. Perfect tonal balance.
steamybrown2003

Paul McCartney And Wings* - Band On The Run as reviewed by steamybrown2003

January 7, 2018
edited about 1 year ago
“Band On The Run” was McCartney’s full return to critical and commercial prominence. After being punished for his ill preceived breakup of “The Beatles”, and several critically panned albums, he somehow managed to strike the right balance, finally scoring high with the critics, and on the charts (the album had no less than four hit singles helping to sustain it’s longevity, while making many a rebound to #1-it remains Paul’s sole “blockbuster”). The undeserved complaints about his debut were that it is was too simple, incomplete sounding, and sketch-like, etc...the resounding sentiment was, “He broke up the Beatles for this?”, but “McCartney” was just that, simple..., a back to basics, very revealing look at how the man wrote, played, constructed, and fine tuned “his own” music, the “McCartney Template” if you will. Misunderstood and underrated, his work was almost entirely written off as junk, except for “Maybe I’m Amazed”. Obliged, Paul rammed on, but “Ram” was also poorly received, Paul (and Linda) tried to answer and accommodate for what the naysayers said “McCartney” was not. The music was rich and imaginative on his sophomore effort, and the melodies changed on a dime, “Ram” was anything but lazy, his most “Beatles like” solo offering, and in my opinion, it is his and Linda’s mini-masterpiece. Two more critically panned albums came in quick succession with his newly formed band “Wings”...enter “Band On The Run”, a record that almost never happened...Truly a musical genius beyond any critic’s bias, it is only as of late that Paul’s work on “McCartney” & “Ram”, together with “Band...”, have been praised and recognized for what they represent, the culmination and evidence of a young man that was “The Mastermind” behind the biggest band in “Rock Music History”. McCartney was still brimming when the Beatles fell apart-obviously he had a lot of ideas still, or at least a few more good tricks up his sleeve to dazzle listeners and record buyers, for not only is he a musical genius, but a bewildering musical magician. From 70’ to 75’, had “The Beatles” stayed together, McCartney’s music alone could have sustained them, and that is the truth. John was losing his bite by 73’, and was certainly ready to take a break by 75’, Ringo had had his run of two back to back commercially successful albums by 74’, mostly with a little help from his friends, and George had blown his wad with the massive “All Things Must Pass” (which could have been two great albums really), after that, he too seemed to be running out of ideas, and by 74’, he fell victim to his own major falling out with the critics. McCartney’s daring quest for musical adventures were just getting started still, and they brought him well into the next decade, with “Wings” basically still at it’s commercial peak in 76’.
martinjanet

Paul McCartney And Wings* - Band On The Run martinjanet

August 5, 2020

Given how many mothers and stampers were made from lacquers 1 & 2 and how many records pressed from each stamper that's a bit of sweeping statement.
LK_79_ONTIVEROS

Paul McCartney And Wings* - Band On The Run LK_79_ONTIVEROS

July 6, 2017
LA EDICION DE EMI CAPITOL DE MEXICO. SLEM-506. INCLUYE LA CANCION "HELEN WHEELS".
INCLUYE UN POSTER CON FOTOGRAFIAS DE PAUL McCARTNEY
henry.phillpotts

Paul McCartney And Wings* - Band On The Run henry.phillpotts

March 20, 2017

My -2 -2 copy of this pressing sounds very good and has a cut corner on the bottom right of the inner sleeve.
mikkris

Paul McCartney And Wings* - Band On The Run mikkris

November 8, 2015
Yex 929-2, Yex 930-5 got title and band + PAS 1007 on spine only. Yex 929-2, Yex 930-4 got it on both spine and top edge of sleeve. Can't find it on discogs.
1stminutewinner

Paul McCartney And Wings* - Band On The Run 1stminutewinner

July 19, 2019
This may have beem sorted long ago,if so apologies,I am new here, but I have Yex 929-2 and Yex 930-5.,PAS 10007 is on spine and top edge of sleeve. Don't see this on Discogs data base.
arriggle

Paul McCartney And Wings* - Band On The Run arriggle

February 24, 2015
Just added the Nimbus Supercut LP to the list. I realized I had a copy when I started cataloging my collection. Very Happy!
I was surprised to see it wasn't in the database already
Soultrain33

Paul McCartney And Wings* - Band On The Run Soultrain33

January 17, 2015
I have the UK Version yex 929-2, and yex 930-2. The other interesting thing is I was told if you have the inner sleeve with cut corners instead of round that the cut corners is one of the earliest versions, can anyone confirm this? please email me at (kuzyk@sympatico.ca)
BTOUSAFAN

Paul McCartney And Wings* - Band On The Run BTOUSAFAN

April 23, 2018
I believe all UK inner sleeves have the cut corner.
Soultrain33

Paul McCartney And Wings* - Band On The Run Soultrain33

January 17, 2015
I have the UK Version yex 929-2, and yex 930-2. The other interesting thing is I was told if you have the inner sleeve with cut corners instead of round that the cut corners is one of the earliest versions, can anyone confirm this? please email me at (kuzyk@sympatico.ca)
LisaLeftFoot

Paul McCartney And Wings* - Band On The Run LisaLeftFoot

April 27, 2019
with this matrix - yex 929-2, and yex 930-2 and cut corners is that still 1st edition?
jtm1967

Paul McCartney And Wings* - Band On The Run jtm1967

January 26, 2019

Yes. The cut corners on the inner sleeve is the 1st edition!
Peerke

Paul McCartney And Wings* - Band On The Run Peerke

November 13, 2013
I got this album on vinyl released by Bovema 5C062-05503. And i think it's one of the view heavy weight pressings by the weight of it.
Faffking

Paul McCartney And Wings* - Band On The Run Faffking

June 9, 2013
I have a version with the run out YEX 930-2. ARG G. Second pressing perhaps?
fenderericplays

Paul McCartney And Wings* - Band On The Run fenderericplays

September 14, 2012
i have the first pressing
YEX 930 -1
YEX 929 -1

how do i update this? - and does anyone else have one?
helensharples

Paul McCartney And Wings* - Band On The Run helensharples

October 20, 2016
hi there i have just joined forum, yes i have one exactly the same 929-1 & 930-1, believe first pressing too, did you keep or sell?
boneroller

Paul McCartney And Wings* - Band On The Run boneroller

September 4, 2012
There is also a version==> Half Speed Mastered. CBS "Mastersound" Audiophile Pressing

HC 46482
MLP Communications Ltd. 1981