imafutureguitarhero

David Bowie - ★ (Blackstar) as reviewed by imafutureguitarhero

November 8, 2018
edited over 2 years ago

Got this pressing today and was very happy with the sound quality. A few pops and crackles from dust that was already on the record before opening the shrink wrap, but still very clean. I didn't seem to notice any of the sound problems with Lazarus that others here were describing. Overall, much pleased with this compared to the CD release that I had first purchased.
Tbyfmi92

David Bowie - ★ (Blackstar) Tbyfmi92

March 11, 2017
I was only able to access the weblink for the enclosed download card by using a US proxy server, is it therefore only available for USA customers, despite the total lack of information, terms of use etc. (on the download card or anywhere else) to this effect?
StevePowell0

David Bowie - ★ (Blackstar) StevePowell0

July 8, 2017
Don't know where you are, but I'm in UK and I downloaded my digital copy without problems.
enakki

David Bowie - ★ (Blackstar) enakki

November 4, 2016

I've got the press in hard plastic inner sleeve. Sound is ok, even on mentioned Lazarus track, but it is quite noisy, lots of pops during more silent parts. I did a wet cleaning but no difference. a bit dissapoitment.
7inchsingles.nl

David Bowie - ★ (Blackstar) 7inchsingles.nl

July 11, 2016
Does anyone own a CLEAR vinyl repress EU copy or does it exist ? After we sold out the first pressing, we had to wait some time for the repress was available. When we recieved them I thought all of them were BLACK but I just found out when I wanted to ship one, there are 2 copies on CLEAR vinyl (not mentioned on the sticker on seal : LP is sealed).
On the backside of the album is printed :
" © 2016 ℗ 2015, 2016 ISO Records under exclusive license to Columbia Records,
a division of Sony Music Entertainment. ... Made in the EU. "
just like the repress...
hhjack

David Bowie - ★ (Blackstar) as reviewed by hhjack

March 30, 2016
I have the same issues others are talking about here on the Lazarus track. A shame since otherwise this pressing sounds quite lovely.
peelaaa

David Bowie - ★ (Blackstar) peelaaa

February 23, 2016
edited over 5 years ago
I have had 2 copies of this pressing. They both had the hard plastic inner sleeve, one concentric pressing ring, underlined text on front sticker. The first copy had whoosing noise on 'lazurus' right channel so I returned it. The 2nd copy is perfect and sounds great. I have also had another copy that had soft plastic sleeve, three concentirc pressing rings, non-underlined text on front sticker. This differs to the other 2 copies as it has 'MPO** 150736 A' on side 1 and 'MPO* 150736 B' on side 2. The vinyl also looked duller, not shiny. This also had whoosing noise on lazarus and also popping at the end of 'I cant give eveyrthing away'. This was also returned. So it seems pot luck.
pablocasares

David Bowie - ★ (Blackstar) pablocasares

February 9, 2016
For my curiosity: anyone knows which day this second press has been released?
he_got_that_lettuce

David Bowie - ★ (Blackstar) he_got_that_lettuce

March 19, 2016
The guy at my local record store said it was put out on 25th of January. It was quicker than I expected, usually it takes ages to press records
mbrabs321

David Bowie - ★ (Blackstar) mbrabs321

February 8, 2016
Very pleased with my copy - vinyl very clean and no issues with noise. Bought 2 copies, 1 for a mate's birthday so hopefully that copy will be fine too.
dellamag

David Bowie - ★ (Blackstar) dellamag

February 9, 2016
Same here. Absolutely flawless. Very rigid clear plastic folded back flip-back style. Vinyl very clean, centered, no warp, no distortion, no whoosing effect. All perfect.
kisdubos

David Bowie - ★ (Blackstar) kisdubos

February 6, 2016
edited over 5 years ago
okay, this is getting annoying. my noisy copy has the "© 2016 ℗ 2015, 2016 ISO Records" copyright info on the cover, however the runout resembles the first EU MPO pressing: "MPO** 15-0736 A 88875-17387-1A" without "RJ" and two extra star etchings after MPO, and also includes the STRELING stamp. so is this now a new sub?

fellmare

David Bowie - ★ (Blackstar) fellmare

February 7, 2016
It looks like both european pressing plants made a 2nd press. So yes, this would be a new sub - pressed by MPO.
subliminalkid

David Bowie - ★ (Blackstar) as reviewed by subliminalkid

February 6, 2016
edited over 5 years ago

my copy sounds perfect, no surface noises, just the deepness of sound itself. From sound concept to the packaging: a mind implosion machine.
4playSD

David Bowie - ★ (Blackstar) 4playSD

February 4, 2016
Anybody found any problems with the second pressing? Had to return my copy because the vinyl was so noisy, especially on Lazarus where the background hiss almost overpowers the music. Would really like to know if this is a pressing fault or a one-off issue with my copy before I reorder.
4playSD

David Bowie - ★ (Blackstar) 4playSD

February 7, 2016
Yes...shocking quality. I'm talking about the European 2nd press. No MPO in runout. I've since located a 2015 European 1st press with the MPO runout and it's in a different league with regard to the quality of the vinyl (ie cleaner looking and much quieter). I wonder if this is a case of consumer demand overloading the system, outsourcing to pressing plants that can't keep up or do the job properly.
Zackamania

David Bowie - ★ (Blackstar) Zackamania

February 7, 2016
I have the 1st pressing US version with only "2015" on the back cover, but I haven't unsealed it yet : } I will say that these supposedly "new, awesome '180g' records can sound rally crappy sometimes...you say you've got some hissing or something?
4playSD

David Bowie - ★ (Blackstar) 4playSD

February 5, 2016
I thought MPO was the first pressing? I'm getting confused with this already. My copy was definitely a 2nd press. No MPO in runouts.
kisdubos

David Bowie - ★ (Blackstar) kisdubos

February 5, 2016
edited over 5 years ago
hi, just bought this repress. my copy also has bad surface noise...