Robert Henke ‎– Layering Buddha

Imbalance Computer Music ‎– ICM 06
CD, Album


1 Layer 001 4:53
2 Layer 002 6:58
3 Layer 003 7:25
4 Layer 004 7:30
5 Layer 005 5:19
6 Layer 006 5:08
7 Layer 007 3:27
8 Layer 008 3:16
9 Layer 009 8:16
10 Layer 010 6:50

Companies, etc.



Packaging: Digipak

© 2006 Imbalance Computer Music

Text from inside artwork:
The FM3 Buddha Machine is a low-fi loop playing device containing nine pre-recorded loops which cannot be changed by the user. Due to manufacturing imperfections, individual machines play the loops with a slightly different sound, pitch and duration. The built-in playback circuit, with its low sampling rate and bit resolution, produces a very rough sound, similar to ancient computer games or talking toys. Rich, spacious textures and moving echoes occur when many of these machines are played at the same time.

I recorded the sound of one single buddha machine at 96 kHz, using a state of the art A/D converter. The recording contains audio information up to 48 kHz, which makes it possible to transpose the loops down and expose otherwise inaudible hidden details. The pieces on this CD have been created by granulating, filtering, pitching and layering either the original loops, or new loops which were re-assembled out of parts of the originals. Most pieces are based on one single source loop. The pieces as they live within my computer are set up as continuously permutating structures and theoretically could go on forever, just as the loops do within the buddha machines.

I made quite long renderings of these permutations and later decided which excerpt of each structure to put on this CD. Therefore, the tracks are not closed works, but views onto a perpetual machinery.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 881390 43062 8
  • Barcode (Scanned): 881390430673
  • Matrix / Runout: A0100733281-0101 15 A0
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L555
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 94Y6

Other Versions (5 of 5) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
ICM 06 Robert Henke Layering Buddha(9xFile, WAV, Album) Imbalance Computer Music ICM 06 Germany 2006
ICM 06 LV Robert Henke Layering Buddha(5x7", Album, Gre + Box, Ltd) Imbalance Computer Music ICM 06 LV Germany 2006 Sell This Version
ICM-06 Robert Henke Layering Buddha(10xFile, MP3, Album, 320) Imbalance Computer Music ICM-06 Germany 2006
ICM 06 Robert Henke Layering Buddha(9xFile, AIFF, Album) Imbalance Computer Music ICM 06 Germany 2006
ICM-06 Robert Henke Layering Buddha(10xFile, FLAC, Album) Imbalance Computer Music ICM-06 Germany 2006



Add Review



November 13, 2006
edited over 7 years ago

Holy shit! Robert Henke, uber-geek and musical genius, delivers what is possibly his best work to date, surpassing even his acclaimed Monolake material. Using loops from the Buddha Machine as his foundation, Henke sculpts soundscapes (an overused term, I know, but not for Henke...) which enthrall, mesmerize, frighten and hypnotize. The 10 selections on the CD are simply fractions of what are ostensibly infinitely long tracks. Upon hearing 'Layering Buddha', I wish I could complete the impossible task of listening to these pieces of music in their entirety. Amazing, sublime and deeply moving music which has few modern equals.