64 For Sale from $1.21


  • Have:

  • Want:

  • Avg Rating:

    4.03 / 5
  • Ratings:


Videos (5)


The MissionCarved In Sand

Label:Mercury – 842 251-2
CD, Album
Style:Goth Rock


2Into The Blue
Guitar [Additional]Reeves Gabrels
3Butterfly On A Wheel5:43
4Sea Of Love
6Grapes Of Wrath
PianoGuy Chambers
8Paradise (Will Shine Like The Moon)3:52
9Hungry As The Hunter
Guitar [Additional]Reeves Gabrels

Companies, etc.



Drums recorded at Rak Studios, London, May 1989.
Bass guitars, guitars, keyboards, piano & nonsense recorded at Jacobs Studios, Surrey, May - July 1989.
Vocals, additional guitars, incidentals recorded at Swanyard Studios, London.
Mixed at Swanyard, July - August 1989.

(p) & (c)1990 Phonogram LTD (London)

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 0 42284 22512 0
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1): 842 251-2 01 # E
  • Rights Society: BIEM/STEMRA
  • Label Code: LC 0268
  • Price Code: PG 900
  • Other ((On the Inner Circle )Variant 1): MADE IN W.GERMANY BY PDO
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2): 842 251-2 01 # T MADE IN W.GERMANY BY PDO
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 2): none
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): none

Other Versions (5 of 62)View All

Title (Format)LabelCat#CountryYear
Carved In Sand (CD, Album)Mercury, Mercury842251-2, 842 251-2US1990
Carved In Sand (LP, Album)Mercury842 251-1UK1990
Carved In Sand (LP, Album)Mercury842 251-1Spain1990
Carved In Sand (CD, Album)Vertigo842 251-2Canada1990
Carved In Sand (Cassette, Album)Mercury842 251-4UK1990


Ozyman's profile picture
1. Amelia - This is an excellent song musically to start this CD but for the fact that the lyrical content is not what you expect to hear everyday. The lyrics do bring it down a notch and that's a pity. Short and to the point (2'53"). Would rate this at 4 stars, but for reasons already mentioned I award this track a (3½)rating.
2. Into The Blue - A slight step down in tempo, Into the Blue could've been the opener on this disc. I like the The Missions' use of instruments giving this track a slightly haunting sound. Overall good performance. (4)star rating.
3. Butterfly on a Wheel - While I've heard a lot of people liking this one, I find it doesn't really get going. Far too commercial in my opinion. It is a nice song. It is nicely arranged and I quite like the last instrumental stretch (from 4'21"). Does not rate as high a Amelia, but in the (3½)star bracket.
4. Sea of Love - Interesting use of instrumentation in the opening sequences, but another song that doesn't get going properly. While earlier I mentioned I like the band's use of instrumentation (track 2), this time around I have to say I'm not impressed. The Sitar makes it sound far too much like an Indian song and throughout I expected to hear an Indian voice coming through. Don't get me wrong, I'm sure Indian music must be good in it's own context, but not for a Gothic Rock band like The Mission. (3)stars.
5. Deliverance - Lengthy intro to this one. Builds up nicely to the start of the first verse. Nice. This is a great song. Gets going and keeps you going until the end. Best track on this CD. Rated at (4)stars ahead of Track 2.
6. Grapes of Wrath - Not going anywhere with this one. I like slower songs as well as good ol' Rock 'n Roll, Rock, Progressive, etc. This is not going anywhere. (Did I already mention that?) (2)stars.
7. Belief - For me, it's always been between tracks 5 & 7 to see which is the better. Sometimes I prefer 5, but then on days like these, while listening to Belief, I really like it a lot. Close call. I like the progressiveness of this song. The way it goes through different musical stages. (4)stars.
8. Paradise (Will Shine Like The Moon) - Pity it takes more than half the song to get going, but I suppose after a mammoth track like Belief you need a breather. Good in it's own right, but better tracks found on this CD. (3)stars
9. Hungry As The Hunter - A nice rock tune in the same vein as the previous song. Another (3) star song and another difficult decision to decide the better one between tracks 8 & 9.
10. Lovely - I suppose there could be worse endings to a CD, but I used to get the feeling that this song was going to appear on a later release in a remixed/revamped form. This is like an incomplete song waiting for the final touches to be added. (2)stars

10 Tracks with mixed reaction. Preferred order of tracks:
5; 7; 2; 1; 3; 8; 9; 4; 6; 10