Arbre Noir ‎– Madurai

Polymorph Records ‎– POLYMORPH 13
CD, Album, Limited Edition


1 Visions 5:57
2 Madurai 5:50
3 Welcome 5:47
4 Nighttime 4:11
5 Sahal 4:02
6 Jaywalker 4:27
7 Circles 4:16
8 Ticket 6:23
9 Essence 4:11
10 Reflections 5:05
11 Velvet 4:57
12 Surface 4:05
13 Talking 6:15
14 Eclipse 3:54
15 Namib 6:27


Limited edition of 900 copies.
Comes with a cardboard cover over jewel case.



Add Review



August 30, 2007
edited over 11 years ago

First four songs are a progressive ascension towards the sublime. Rythmic ethno ambient, fused with eastern instruments and cadences, chilling samples of voices, tribal percussion and addictive electronic rythms. A miscegenation between the rythm from modern world vs the sophisticated and substantially peaceful way of eastern spirituality.
After those, the more powerful and focused pieces you land into the purest ethno ambient. All of the songs are well structured and never abandoned by percussion (which is great becouse perhaps this is the ace of the work). Notice the presence from the a great variety of beats, from the conga whipping to the short breakbeat and in between the chilling and relaxating chords from hindu citars, didgeredoos and flutes, recreating exotic eastern landscapes and ignote human presence . A flaw in the album is probably the similarity between most pieces just after the first four ones. Although the incessant variation of rythms doesnt let it fall into monotony there’s a need for more than just beat variations and groovy exotic instruments as a listener i waited for the climax but the work never reached it out.
This is pure passive-active muzak, for setting your mind in alpha.
Want to chill out? Try with this.