citizengreen

Yagya - Stars And Dust citizengreen

August 30, 2017
edited about 1 year ago

There are some truly stunning tracks on this release - my favorites being on side C - "The Great Attractor" & "Through the Sculptor Group" - Not to mention its an incredible sounding pressing...
yegort

Yagya - Stars And Dust yegort

June 2, 2017

This is one of the best and complete albums in last couple years of that kind of style. Great combination of classical and dub, just great Yagya.
alternating_bit

Yagya - Stars And Dust as reviewed by alternating_bit

April 29, 2017
edited over 2 years ago
A smoothly polished sound. In fact Yagya has its own world of sound and signature with its own boundaries. The boundaries have been tested and crossed at times but in the end those who want nothing but Rhythm Of Snow rehashes may be slightly disappointed. "The Inescapable Decay Of My Heart" was the one album that pushed the envelope too far for me and I couldn't fully subscribe to it but all other albums by Yagya I think are fantastic. The 3 x vinyl edition has some killer "outtakes" from Sleepygirl - well worth it!
Mark_Anthony

Yagya - Stars And Dust as reviewed by Mark_Anthony

January 30, 2017
Do you like Yagya? I've been a big fan ever since the release of their 2009 album, Rigning. Before that, I really didn't understand any of their work. Too artsy, too intellectual. It was on Rigning where, uh, Aoalsteinn's presence became more apparent. I think Will I Dream During The Process? was the group's undisputed masterpiece. It's an epic meditation on intangibility. At the same time, it deepens and enriches the meaning of the preceding three albums. Christy, take off your robe. Listen to the brilliant ensemble playing of Banks, Collins and Rutherford. You can practically hear every nuance of every instrument. Sabrina, remove your dress. In terms of lyrical craftsmanship, the sheer songwriting, this album hits a new peak of professionalism. Sabrina, why don't you, uh, dance a little. Take the synths to Snowflake 6. In this song, Aoalsteinn Guomundsson addresses the problems of abusive political authority. Snowflake 9 is the most moving dubtech song of the 2000s, about monogamy and commitment. The song is extremely uplifting. The lyrics are as positive and affirmative as, uh, anything I've heard in techno. Christy, get down on your knees so Sabrina can see your ass. Aoalsteinn Guomundsson's solo career seems to be more commercial and therefore more satisfying, in a narrower way. Especially songs like Cold Hands and, uh, The Phantom Of Us. Sabrina, don't just stare at it, eat it.
Sorry_Mom

Yagya - Stars And Dust Sorry_Mom

May 10, 2019
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAH ha ha ha ha ah ha ha ha ha
adam01

Yagya - Stars And Dust adam01

June 7, 2018

Mark, you have outdone your self with this review. Truly, you are an American Psycho-naut ;)
quietcalm

Yagya - Stars And Dust quietcalm

April 23, 2017
this is brilliant. best review I have read on here.
tekmeister

Yagya - Stars And Dust tekmeister

February 24, 2017
what the hell, and, uh, err, what æh øh åh
Zauberberg

Yagya - Stars And Dust as reviewed by Zauberberg

January 10, 2017

Cheesy, uninteresting music, with no sufficient content to be enjoyed and actively listened to. As if it has been made to be a background music for some TV channel on geography subjects. Boring, bland, superficial. What happened to this fellow? Did he grow up and became another bored specimen of mankind? He used to make such cool music at the beginning of this millennium. It seems like "Rigning" was his swansong, and the last 3 albums are equal to a disaster sleazy pop.
Zauberberg

Yagya - Stars And Dust Zauberberg

April 21, 2017

Speaking of relatively recent releases, ASC "Time heals all" is a definite landmark of electronic music in the 21st century. That's a record you could spin for days without getting bored. Full, emotional, engaging, you name it. A true work of art.
Yagya, on the other hand, sinks deeper and deeper into a patheti- vocal-Eurovision-type of music with each new album (The Inescapable Decay Of My Heart could easily be a collection of Eurovision songs...)... When compared to Rhythm of Snow, or Rigning, the last few releases are really just plain sad. Like a complete lack of inspiration. My 2 cents.
Nomeacuerdo

Yagya - Stars And Dust Nomeacuerdo

March 23, 2017

A bit (too much) harsh, indeed... Fantastic album. Cheesy?? Please...

toloupe

Yagya - Stars And Dust toloupe

February 15, 2017
A little harsh I would say....This record is Utopic in character; full of dreamy new age tropes, romantic escapism and earthy stoner vibes; but id say its nowhere near cheesy. Dad jokes and canned laughter are cheesy. The Eurovision song contest is a fine example of vacuous empty cheese. I would say this record is like when you drive 100 kms and don't remember any of it, but you know it was pleasant. And thats ok.
sollym5446

Yagya - Stars And Dust sollym5446

January 12, 2017
Motes In The Moonlight cheesey and uninteresting? Wow....if that is the case please inform us of the music that is straight from the heart and mindblowing....I'd be interested to hear the other end of the spectrum in your opinion.
SC.AL

Yagya - Stars And Dust SC.AL

December 22, 2016
edited over 2 years ago
The first copy i bought had a lot of audible surface scratches & hairlines on both records. Then I bought another copy in another store... same problem. It's a shame that labels like Delsin use standard innersleeves, especially for that kind of dubby music! Disappointing... it's not possible to enjoy the music!
Lilleboll

Yagya - Stars And Dust Lilleboll

December 10, 2016
edited over 2 years ago

I don't like vanilla in my yoghurt and I don't like piano in my dub techno.
Mpendulo

Yagya - Stars And Dust Mpendulo

December 9, 2016
edited over 2 years ago

I think the most captivating element in this wonderful album is the ever present sense of groove and melody.

Rigning will certainly be getting a lot less plays and not in a bad way but because I never thought i'd find something as exceptional.
sunshower

Yagya - Stars And Dust as reviewed by sunshower

December 6, 2016
edited over 2 years ago

This is a true masterpiece. Together with Rigning this is simply his best work to date.
I was hoping he made such an album like Rigning, and after 7 years, here it is.
The fairy-like melodies let's you float away on a soft cloud of warm and comfortable dub techno.