SpareGrooves

Main Source - Breaking Atoms SpareGrooves

March 30, 2020
BEST HIPHOP LP EVER!? TOP TEN FOR SURE! MAIN SOURCE LEGENDARY LP !
Jazzual

Main Source - Breaking Atoms Jazzual

March 29, 2018
A great example of a bunch of people who seem more interested in pressing details than the actual music. Have you people tried stamp collecting?
dylaf

Main Source - Breaking Atoms dylaf

April 6, 2020
Haha, love this comment; my favourite review page comments are: 1) people asking who has a copy for cheap 2) people asking seller questions, & 3) people commenting that the sound quality on bootlegs & unofficial represses is 'disappointing'!!!! Doh...... ;-)
mojo_navigator

Main Source - Breaking Atoms mojo_navigator

May 26, 2019
LP is analogue - it does not have sample rates nor does it have bitrates. These are digital properties.

If the master used to cut an LP is digital, then the end result may have these properties but this has nothing to do with LP as a format.
khmerwolf

Main Source - Breaking Atoms khmerwolf

September 28, 2018
I am going to guess that English is not your first language, so I will ignore your comment as your poor diction offends me.
OracleJMT

Main Source - Breaking Atoms OracleJMT

September 28, 2018
edited over 2 years ago
Good luck ripping a CD in mp3 with a lossless bitrate, Einstein. You do are aware that a LP and a CD is operating at bitrates of 1411 kbps, and 44 khz sample rate, right? It's possible with a good original pressing and audiophile hifi to achieve the same audio wise as a WAV file, which is by far better than a lossy MP3 file. Good luck with your hifi-education.
khmerwolf

Main Source - Breaking Atoms khmerwolf

May 9, 2018
ha ha so true - vinyl makes noises - I guess the newbies are expecting mp3 quality on wax. Good luck with that!
MISTER_DIA-TRIBE_73

Main Source - Breaking Atoms as reviewed by MISTER_DIA-TRIBE_73

September 21, 2017
Is that P Monch I hear in one of the chorus's ? He Got So Much Soul (He Don't Need No Music)
cambs04

Main Source - Breaking Atoms cambs04

April 9, 2017
edited over 2 years ago

To those who have tried to explain the features of the original pressing of this classic you gave missed 2 obvious details. The barcode on the back of the original press is positioned on the top right of the back cover of the cover with the long sides of the rectangular bar code box running down the cover and not across (as pictured on Discogs). None of the reissues are like this whether they feature a bar code or not.
As for the vinyl the main source logo is outlined on the record label with the relevant run out groove info. The 95 repress is almost identical except for no barcode on back cover or outlined main source logo on record labels as it is just a simple black print (as pictured on Discogs). The 95 repress is rare though but I am not sure whether it is an official repress as some claim it to be.
However which ever version you see buy it if you don't own a copy as a hip hop fan as its an absolute classic in every sense. I never become tired of listening to this as its aged gracefully!!!
AlbinoRhinoProducts

Main Source - Breaking Atoms AlbinoRhinoProducts

January 20, 2017
This album is being reissued by Vinyl Me Please: http://fbuy.me/eU-DR
Available until Feb. 15th on colored vinyl.
bucks1970

Main Source - Breaking Atoms bucks1970

January 29, 2016
In my top 5 hip hop albums of all time. Tell me another with that many dope joints on one L.P.
barryblunt

Main Source - Breaking Atoms as reviewed by barryblunt

October 23, 2007

Nowadays several bootlegs exist and there's one official single vinyl repress from 1998 that almost looks the 1st pressing.

If you want to be sure if your copy is the original 1st issue check the following characteristics:
1. 1st pressings will always have the "DMS cg ☮" signature etched in the runout grooves as well as the "HuB" etching.
2. The label of the single vinyl reprint has the same wild pitch logo on white background, but there's a slight difference: 1st pessings have the Main Source logo straight above the center hole, not sideways.
3. I have heard that '98 reissues have a different label adress. Make sure copy will have this Wild Pitch adress on label & sleeve: 231 West 29 Street, NY, NY 1001.
4. A further hint is the front sleeve. Some reprints (not all!) have a blown up photo on the same sized cover. So if the ear of Large Professor is cut off you owe a repress.
BS.Dos.

Main Source - Breaking Atoms as reviewed by BS.Dos.

September 20, 2004
edited over 16 years ago

There are 1001 reasons why everyone should own at least one HipHop LP - this is one of them. Breaking Atoms remains largely undiscovered by many due to the LP being released on the now defunct Wild Pitch label resulting in it being out of print for a long time. The album was pioneering primarily for its excellent production, which made sublime use of the SP1200 - a dedicated sampling drum machines but also from the tight rap skills shown by the Large Professor. In addition, the LP also helped to establish the careers of both Akinyele and Nas. I won't offer a breakdown of the LP track-by-track suffice to say that they're all quality and contain no fillers. Do yourself a favour and check it out.


AlbinoRhinoProducts

Main Source - Breaking Atoms AlbinoRhinoProducts

January 20, 2017
This album is being reissued by Vinyl Me Please: http://fbuy.me/eU-DR
Available until Feb. 15th on colored vinyl.
AndyBeats71

Main Source - Breaking Atoms AndyBeats71

August 7, 2014
It's fair to say Main Source's seminal debut "Breaking Atoms" helped change my life. It was at the time of its release in 1991 that I was successfully recovering from Non-Hodgkins Lymphoma; a cancer of the lymph nodes. I had known, probably a few months before in late 1990, that hip-hop was by now a significant contributor to my recovery. I'd regularly make the journeys into London's West End to try and snap up the latest releases. This helped take my mind off things and kept me sane when treatment was getting me down. However, Main Source was regularly rotating on my personal CD player, and it was this massive piece of hip hop history which continued to bring me joy time and time again. If you don't already own a copy of this masterpiece, shame on you. You're not a true hip-hop head until you do.