classicmyth

Angelo Badalamenti - Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me as reviewed by classicmyth

May 24, 2019

Sounds fantastic, not sure why others are complaining about the release. Either this record is a hit or miss depending on the copy, or the people complaining have poor audio setups. Using a serious HIFI and an extremely efficient pre-amp I hear literally no crackles or pops on my copy.
kyle15

Angelo Badalamenti - Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me kyle15

July 22, 2019
It's hit or miss, they were pressed at Rainbo and they have shoddy quality control. There are a lot of bum copies. The mastering and music itself is wonderful though.
Kijomori

Angelo Badalamenti - Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me Kijomori

December 31, 2018

Similar to the other Twin Peaks release on Death Waltz, mine sounds acceptable, and the packaging and overall presentation of the release is particularly nice. However, the Warner Bros Records reissue sounds superior, though I am glad to have both and will certainly be holding on to this one.
lazylistener

Angelo Badalamenti - Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me lazylistener

November 10, 2018
edited 11 months ago
I must have good luck with Death Waltz reissues bc this sounds fantastic to me, w/ the exception of slight crackles that fade into the music easily.
nicolasbx33

Angelo Badalamenti - Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me nicolasbx33

February 27, 2018
Top packaging but copy sounds like shit : a reissue to avoid.
heyer222

Angelo Badalamenti - Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me heyer222

September 17, 2017
edited over 2 years ago
i ve got both pressings because the death waltz was first (it is a bad joke to issue a good reprint with the original artwork a couple of month later) and a high end setting and for my ears there are no differences concerning dynamics and mastering etch except the death waltz pressing has lots of side noises which is the problem with so much pressings today. a tip from an boring old fart and graphic designer who buys vinyl since 1979: avoid reprints and always look for original pressings (or reissues from the 80s) to get less surface noises (even if VG+ with surface marks!) and which is also important: get the proper artwork with sharp images and sharp typo which so much reprint releases today lack of with their shitty bootleg feel... and where does that stupid 180 gr dogma came from?!
Forklift_Alex

Angelo Badalamenti - Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me Forklift_Alex

October 11, 2017
So true. There's also the "180 gram" sales trick but there are records from the 70's that are almost flexidisc thin that still play a lot better than the reissues of today.
sauron1968

Angelo Badalamenti - Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me as reviewed by sauron1968

August 3, 2017
Last time i've purchased from Death Waltz it was Twin Peaks but the original soundtrack to the TV show. Horrible. I had to replace it and second copy was not "all that". Now Rhino has reissued both soundtracks and they're fantastic (and cheap). Go get them and avoid this one.
danssm

Angelo Badalamenti - Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me as reviewed by danssm

July 17, 2017
The music itself sounds fantastic but as many have mentioned there is an obnoxious amount of surface noise throughout; I'm sure this is largely due to the gimmicky "cherry pie" coloring. It would be great if Death Waltz would put out these releases in standard black vinyl as well, for those of us who care about the music more than fancy packaging.
kyle15

Angelo Badalamenti - Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me kyle15

April 21, 2018
The color has nothing to do with it, it was pressed at Rainbo at they have sloppy quality control. Swathes of their pressings are like this color or not.
78by29

Angelo Badalamenti - Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me as reviewed by 78by29

June 17, 2017

I guess it's luck but mine sounds absolutely fantastic, a really wonderfully clean pressing. Maybe it's karma after purchasing Mondo's bogus Fountain release!
fstessels

Angelo Badalamenti - Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me fstessels

June 1, 2017

First copy I got was terrible: surface of side A had visible (and audible) marks all over it. Took it back to the store and got another copy, with exactly the same issue. Similar problems have been reported extensively with the soundtrack to the series, but I guess I was lucky when I got my copy. Very bad quality control... Shame!
Etherealblanket

Angelo Badalamenti - Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me Etherealblanket

May 31, 2017

My sounds great too. It was remastered from the original master tapes. From reading the comments here you would expect it to sound awful but it sounds perfect. Maybe people have poor audio set-ups, shitty needles or bad speakers or they got unlucky with the press. Either way there are many factors when it comes to vinyl. The Rhino repress is not sourced from the original tapes so I have my reservations about that. David Lynch and Angelo Badalamenti supposedly worked on this remaster so.....
Dr_Robert_Spridgeon

Angelo Badalamenti - Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me Dr_Robert_Spridgeon

June 13, 2017

"Maybe people have poor audio set-ups, shitty needles or bad speakers or they got unlucky with the press"....very much the former I reckon !..not denying the bad batch theorem / fact..but I just have a gut feeling by the amount of complaints with new vinyl in general , this must be the case in a lot of respects..
jpski78

Angelo Badalamenti - Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me jpski78

May 30, 2017
From the below reviews, it sounds like I might have gotten lucky. My copy sounds amazing, very beautiful. My only grip is the artwork. The cutout ripped. You have to be EXTREMELY careful taking it out of your collection.
Etherealblanket

Angelo Badalamenti - Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me Etherealblanket

May 31, 2017

My sounds great too. It was remastered from the original master tapes. From reading the comments here you would expect it to sound awful but it sounds perfect. Maybe people have poor audio set-ups, shitty needles or bad speakers or they got unlucky with the press. Either way there are many factors when it comes to vinyl. The Rhino repress is not sourced from the original tapes so I have my reservations about that. David Lynch and Angelo Badalamenti supposedly worked on this remaster so.....
iandominicbreen

Angelo Badalamenti - Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me iandominicbreen

May 20, 2017
edited over 2 years ago
Do not waste your money on this atrocious Death Waltz pressing.
New pressing from Rhino containing original artwork - INFINITELY better and at half the RRP.
https://burningshed.com/product/search&filter_tag=twin%20peaks%20fire%20walk%20with%20me
kyle15

Angelo Badalamenti - Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me kyle15

May 18, 2017
A gamble like the series soundtrack: sloppy Rainbo pressing, but if you manage to get a good one it's a keeper.
magiceye

Angelo Badalamenti - Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me magiceye

May 15, 2017
Top tip: don't buy anything on Death Waltz - if it still needed to be said - it's a joke label
iandominicbreen

Angelo Badalamenti - Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me iandominicbreen

May 16, 2017
edited over 2 years ago
A cokehead-run record label for basic bitches who love aesthetic over quality.
Lucas220

Angelo Badalamenti - Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me Lucas220

April 13, 2017
A better reissue is coming out in May with the OG cover. Save your money.
kyle15

Angelo Badalamenti - Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me kyle15

May 18, 2017
It's gonna be pressed at a better facility but the only thing that gives me pause is it's a one disc pressing like the first from 1992. Not that it can't sound good still, but DW's decision to cut it all across 2 discs was right on the money cuz it sounds fantastic sloppy copies aside.
hundreds100

Angelo Badalamenti - Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me hundreds100

April 13, 2017
How do you know of this and do you have a link to a pre-order page?
deandoodles

Angelo Badalamenti - Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me deandoodles

March 31, 2017
Beautiful packaging and vinyl but extremely crackly all the way through both discs. Put this along side the latest pink floyd re issues and you'd think it was a different medium entirely.