DJCVR

Your Old Droog - Transportation as reviewed by DJCVR

July 21, 2019
edited less than a minute ago
That "Train Love" though ... I did not get through all of "Transportation", but from the snippets I heard , Droog tells a lovely ode to public transport that can be felt from the boroughs to a hip-hop head familiar with the Metro lines in L.A.
DJCVR

Jonathan Davis - Black Labyrinth as reviewed by DJCVR

July 21, 2019
I barely got through the second song. That island-ish instrumental on the intro was cribge-worthy. Was this produced solely by JDevvil? I was in such a good mood this morning and I did not want lyrics of gloom to taint it, plus something just felt empty on this project as opposed to JD's work with Korn. I think solo-JD is like Corey Taylor outside of Slipknot to me - I'll buy only if it's under that "Korn" banner, if not, I'm not rocking with it.
April_Snow

Prince - Originals as reviewed by April_Snow

July 21, 2019
The Originals - awful cheap crappy packaging with no real booklet included - but I do like the additional NC2U Cinematic Version, this one we didnt get on the Australian issue, but agree with others, it is hardly an "exclusive" if it was included on the Japanese one - LOL
DJCVR

X Ambassadors - ORION as reviewed by DJCVR

July 21, 2019
I waited years for this, and after "VHS" - I feel like I got saddled with another Ambassador's EP. Then again, since that album was heavy on skits I guess this is just about the same amount of songs on their debut. The joy is lost though, from that very debut, and the innocence. Every song on "Orion" feels bogged down with regret and pain, with only 1 feature not even from the KidInAKorner collective. I just reunited with my woman, "Orion" is definitely not for me at this time.
DJCVR

Rob Zombie - Mondo Sex Head as reviewed by DJCVR

July 21, 2019
I had not heard Zombie in a minute and this was a great reintroduction to his music on a fine summer day in a park with fried okra when minutes later I truly met a "Living Dead Girl".
sambio19

Cyndi Lauper - She's So Unusual as reviewed by sambio19

July 21, 2019
Love Love LOVE the sound on this. Doing a needledrop and have barely had to do any work on it after. Fantastic pressing.
xtcPlanet

Santana - The Very Best Of Santana (Volume 1) as reviewed by xtcPlanet

July 21, 2019
This CD with exacly the same cover, pictures is also exist in a (Volume 2) and the ARCADE Number ADEHCD 828/1. The 14 Songs on this Volume 2-CD are "Black Magic Woman", "Flor D´Luna (Moonflower)", "Stormy", "She´s not there", "Soul Sacrifice", "Everybody´s Everything", "Carneval", "Say it again", "Well alright", "Hold on", "The sensitive kind", "Se a cabo", "Wham!", Nowhere to run"
DJCVR

WestsideGunn - Flygod Is An Awesome God as reviewed by DJCVR

July 21, 2019
A relaxing record with intricate and vivid tales of drug dealing from the perspectives of all the players involved from the plug, the dealer, and of course the fiend. From the wise words of Shallah Rae on the intro, to the obligatory wrestling themed cuts with "Sherri" & "Bautista", plus apparently WestsideDoom just wasn't enough now that "GunnLib" made it on the tracklisting. And yes, the Hall n' Nash cut in "Thousand Shot Mac" shows West can more than hold his own with the spitters in Conway & Lauren, but honestly , Sauce Walks steals the show on "Lakers vs. Rockets" (the best 2 teams in NBA history) with an MK line shouting out Shang Tsung over a Muggs beat. Every MC and instrumentalist pulls their weight here with another flawless victory in Gunn's airy FLYGOD series. Now to continue to wait on pins & needles to purchase "WWCD".
jancito303

Markus Nikolai - Rood / Say One / Just Wanna as reviewed by jancito303

July 21, 2019
I think that it is "just wanna" that held up pretty well. Rood does sound dated now. Still a good track though.
VersionDub

Leif - Loom Dream as reviewed by VersionDub

July 21, 2019
Fantastic release by Leif here. Great production highlighted by some unique ambient tones throughout all of the tracks. At first it slightly reminded me of Voices From The Lake, the way the opener draws you in naturally, but this is a completely different thing. Each side has its own flow, with side 2 featuring some fantastic percussion.

The pressing is one of the best I’ve come across in recent memory. No noise & very dynamic. Awesome release.
OceanMang

Estelle Levitt - All I Dream as reviewed by OceanMang

July 21, 2019
Man, this song kicks every kind of ass. Amazing. Those strings!
tomerikloe

The Residents - Doors as reviewed by tomerikloe

July 21, 2019
Song also used in the album "i am a resident!"
tomerikloe

The Residents - Frank's Lament as reviewed by tomerikloe

July 21, 2019
In truth an early version of the song (which ended up on "intruders"
vkubrick

Patti LaBelle - Tasty as reviewed by vkubrick

July 21, 2019
edited about 2 hours ago
Quiet time its an awesome song, with the DNA of 60's and 70s gospel music. Listen and enjoy.
xtcPlanet

Phish - A Phishy Story as reviewed by xtcPlanet

July 21, 2019
Special guest on this CD is Carlos Santana on guitar
powderlurker

Midnight Oil - Back On The Borderline as reviewed by powderlurker

July 21, 2019
This is a FAKE listing, from a contributor who has a history of 'colourful' re-interpretations.
It's been photoshopped from a stock single (colour blown out & 'RADIO SAMPLE ONLY' added from another release.
You can even see the extra 'dink' from the centre-press through the word 'SAMPLE' where it existed on the release he copied the wording from, but doesn't exist on the stock copy he's faking the art from.
This guy's a crook.
MEllODrOnE

Gary Numan - I, Assassin as reviewed by MEllODrOnE

July 21, 2019
Punchy, well defined sound and a quality, dead silent pressing make this reissue a winner. And for around $20...a solid deal.
mohammedpuss

Whitehouse - Great White Death as reviewed by mohammedpuss

July 21, 2019
There is an official Come Org cassette of this album (wdc 883069), but it's extremely rare, and I don't have a copy to photograph unfortunately.
discosmos

Keijo - In This Direction as reviewed by discosmos

July 21, 2019
Beautifull cassette one of my favourites in the Sloootapes : )
Supreme-Headz-Ent.

Mobb Deep - Untitled as reviewed by Supreme-Headz-Ent.

July 21, 2019
edited about 4 hours ago
A2 is not exclusive , as mentioned. can be found on the sampler "violator: the album" (there are 2 versions of the sampler tho, also with different artwork)
djmacario88

Bobby Summer (2) - Like A Superstar as reviewed by djmacario88

July 21, 2019
mal amigos me registre para nada y no puedo descargar nada
xtcPlanet

Santana - Spirit as reviewed by xtcPlanet

July 21, 2019
The two LP´s in a black single-cover, one of the black label´s of the LP´scall´s "SPACE" (Stemra Spac 4196) and the other black label call´s "BACKBONE" (Stemra BAC 771).
streetmouse

Stan Getz - And The "Cool" Sounds as reviewed by streetmouse

July 21, 2019
As with many of Stan Getz earlier albums, Cool Sounds was laid down, or perhaps it’s better to say that the songs that make up this recording were drawn from five sessions recorded between 1953 and ’55, making it more of a compilation than a formal album.

That said, even thought the album spans songs close to three years in the making, there’s a remarkable consistency to be found here, where Stan’s lyrical lines have been bright and thoughtfully fashioned. Since it took so long for this record to be defined, it’s most interesting to hear Getz while accompanied by threes of the most wonderful pianists he ever worked with, Lou Levy, Jimmy Rowles and John Williams. That said, it’s entirely fascinating to hear Getz respond to these musicians on an individual basis, where in subtle ways the texture and ambitions of his saxophone mannerisms ebb and flow with the styles these remarkable men draw from each other … and never more so than on the ballads, where the playing of Getz is simply out of this world, especially if one considers “A Handful of Stars.”

Essentially what you have here is Stan Getz with five different lineups, both in New York City and Los Angeles, where each rhythm section can be discerned from the others, though it’s odd that the record does not deliver these song sequentially, in order, where those aspirations may have been more clear. Nevertheless, the outing offers a fine floating bit of cool jazz filled with inspiring intricate temperatures and counterpoints that bob like boats on a summer lake, all pure and unassuming.

With Getz being a disciple of the great Lester Young, his mentor, he still managed to develop an even more warm sound, one that’s eloquently delivered here. Considering that, Getz once said, “I think jazz music is mostly a black man’s art, but there happen to be a few whites who can play it just as well and just as originally as any black man. Not many I assure you, but I now I’m one of ‘em,” within Cool Sounds one is able to hear all those who’ve inspired Getz, especially Lester Young.

Review by Jenell Kesler
czar_alex

Various - American Discothek Vol.2 as reviewed by czar_alex

July 21, 2019
edited about 5 hours ago
Most of the tracks are pretty iconic!

Yes! This is the one I had in my house when I was a young kid in Russia (along with a few others.) It definitely introduced me to a lot of good dance and eurodance music! Not to mention that I also thought the covers were pretty cool as a little boy, haha.
TheGuyWithSunglasses

Leroy Ace Miller - Try Me as reviewed by TheGuyWithSunglasses

July 21, 2019
looking for a copy. please hit me up! . . . .