curiositykilledshawn

Harald Kloser - Alien Vs. Predator (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) as reviewed by curiositykilledshawn

February 22, 2017
Non-composer Harald Kloser's non-score to Alien Vs Predator is probably THEE most generic, auto-pilot score in existence. The movie itself is nothing special but talented composers can use weak movies as an excuse to go mental and elevate the finished product to something memorable. Kloser opts to churn, or perhaps grind, out the most tepid, droning nothingness that has ever been printed onto a CD.

Think of all the grand, powerful moments in Goldsmith's Alien, the breathtaking action of Horner's Aliens, the agonizing torment of Goldenthal's Alien 3, or the layered and nuanced symphonic brilliance of Silvestri's Predator scores. Kloser had all of this to take inspiration from, the acoustic definition of an embarrassment of riches. How could such a majestic legacy fizzle into one of the worst scores in the past 15 years?

It boggles my mind that Kloser keeps getting work. He doesn't know how to develop themes or melodies. He has no clue how to build suspense or subtly manipulate the audience. He doesn't even appear to have the ability to finish what he starts. Almost every track on this frisbee feels like rushed homework done in the corridor at the last minute before class begins.

One of the laziest efforts I've heard in my life and a giant middle finger to the maestros who tread this ground before him.
markglifort

Al Jolson - Souvenir Album as reviewed by markglifort

February 22, 2017
ALL RECORDS ARE CLEAN AS NEW. FRONT AND BACK OF FOLDER ARE VG.
SHODAN_2114

Various - Nation Techno: France as reviewed by SHODAN_2114

February 22, 2017
yo this Voiski tune wtf. what an absolute banging fuck
speedfreakmax

Various - Trauma 2 - Nightmare On Aum Street as reviewed by speedfreakmax

February 22, 2017
edited about 1 hour ago
The cd has 7 more tracks than the vinyl.
I frequent gabberbox/thunderdome/terrordrome/ravebase/5th gear gabber/terror releases/etc and all the tracks on this cd i have never heard on any other compilations. the inner text on the cover is wonky and sorta lost in translations between languages. overall a 8 out of 10.
DarreLP

The Topics (4) - Living Evidence as reviewed by DarreLP

February 22, 2017
edited about 1 hour ago
An interesting album...the production quality is surprisingly good for what seems to be a mostly DIY effort. The vocals are great. I think their covers are stronger than their originals. If any PNWers come across it, it's worth a listen.
WidowsAndOrphans

Silver Apples - Silver Apples as reviewed by WidowsAndOrphans

February 22, 2017
Really a stellar pressing. I wasn't expecting much as this is an unofficial release, but I wouldn't be surprised if this sounds better than an original. Nice job, Phoenix. I think I'll be snagging a copy of that Les Rallizes Denudes reeeeeaaaal soon.
Wadsy

Various - Dance Now 2000 - Vol. 2 as reviewed by Wadsy

February 22, 2017
This was one of the earlier albums I had growing up, which got me interested in music from 2000. Both CD's are highly entertaining and memorable. It was just a shame that there were only 16/17 songs on both discs, but what the heck? If it's good its good. I would definitely grab a copy in future.
Wadsy

Various - Boxed - Dance Hits - Volume Two as reviewed by Wadsy

February 22, 2017
I once had this as a child many years ago, a lot of classic goodies. Not one distasteful song here, as this is what literally got me interested in late 90's dance. You just don't hear about some of these anthems, like Searchin' 97 by Hazell Dean, I'm Here To Chill by Absurd, Phat 'N' Phunky's Car Wash '98 or Jellyhead by Crush. My favourite pick though, has got to be Footprint by Disco Citizens.
synthsaint

Blastromen as reviewed by synthsaint

February 22, 2017
Purely electro. Rhythms and solutions are typical Detroit-techno of the 80's, the concept is Kraftwerk, but they missed the essence and substitute it all with will-power. No subtle elements, no charactheristic details but roaring and bumping energy. All the sonic-timbres are very narrow-minded so as everything else in the "music". There's no a single originality through the entire lenght. Very overrated childishness... a kitsch.
Wadsy

Various - The Best Club Anthems 2001 ...Ever! as reviewed by Wadsy

February 22, 2017
edited about 2 hours ago
A bitter disappointment. In both CD's, there are only a few good choices in an album with 41 tracks. A couple of goldies from disc one but a waste of time overall. While disc two starts off strongly (besides the horrendous D.E.V.I.L song by 666), it eventually whirls off into boredom. What an utter disgrace to 'The Best Album...Ever' series. Avoid, and go with Now Dance 2001 instead.
synthsaint

Blastromen - Reality Opens as reviewed by synthsaint

February 22, 2017
Almost unlistenable. Lacks of any originality. The synth presets, the sonic-timbres are suprisingly amatheur. If you listen carefully, you hear how modern one-single-casio like is the sound, which are borrowed from previous great masters of the electronic music. The intention to express the faith in the technocratics goals, the future was OK 30 years ago but the future never prooved to be as it was hoped for. It's not only childish to believe in the technoratics future, it's stupidity. A dead concept. It's always very promising to put on a pure electro pop, but it seems all the ideas are worn out. All is outdated even if facelifted. The substitution for the old is now unbearably shallow since decades. Please make MUSIC! Not substitutes, not fillers, not drones, noises, glitches, marchings, bumpings, not effects but melodíy, chords, wise instrumentations and that is it. With such a background, everything is possibile. 1-2 Tracks are good-to very good, regardless of the limitations. Guys, keep on making music! We are hungry for the pure electro!
synthsaint

Blastromen - Human Beyond as reviewed by synthsaint

February 22, 2017
Baah.. Amatheur approach of all: suprisingly rudimentary sonic timbres, NO compositions at all, there's not a single bit of originality, super-kitschy. It's not music but a wise mixture of previously all-heard snippets of everything concerning the Kraftwerkian idea what the Blastromen wants to approach with energy and will-power instead of creating it withe methaphysical content. The intentions radiating through the project, not a content. The intention of making instant impact and blow away all the possibile hesitation of the mind. Very agressive effect-making. No melancholy, no (self) irony, no melody, nothing but a single-minded techno-marching through the listener. Somewhat childish is to express the will all above. The concept is not bad, altough it is lend-leased like every single element in the Blastrommen. They have no personality but the childish wanting to sound a blast. OK, there are 1-2 good movements...
philzep

Led Zeppelin - Berkely Daze 2nd Night as reviewed by philzep

February 22, 2017
This show needs no explanation and is one the classic Zep vinyl boots up there with Blueberry Hill. Allegedly the master tapes have been long lost and subsequent issues of this show have been culled from the original vinyl pressing from 1973. This latest vinyl release from No Label is nicely packaged and sounds as good as it gets. I can't say this is an improvement in sound from more recent reissues such as from The Godfather on CD a few years ago, but if you want it on vinyl in a better mastered quality from the original, you cant go wrong with this especially at the price.
CarpathianWeakling

Full Of Hell - Roots Of Earth Are Consuming My Home as reviewed by CarpathianWeakling

February 22, 2017
After a neat electronic intro made up of Pac-Man noises and worbles and wobbles, you're instantly crushed by furious punchy hardcore instrumentation and shouted vocals just dripping with animosity.

The songs here are twisting chasms of chaos weaving from fast, aggressive modern hardcore to slowed down noisy drone tangents. This is a really consistent and compelling listen. Some of the riffs are taken straight from an old-school death metal tune, a little buried in the mix. A treasure for those paying attention. Throughout the album there are more experimental electronic sections like the intro. Personally, i don't feel they take away from anything here.

Really, everything the band has done has been in line with this monumental release, so check it all out if you liked this.

A truly unique release from a band that can do no wrong within their great little niche. 8/10!
iwc62

Brandi Wells - Watch Out as reviewed by iwc62

February 22, 2017
edited about 5 hours ago
A beautiful selection of mid tempo and funk tracks, an overlooked album these day but one of surprisingly high quality that reached #37 on the US charts. Superb vocals from Brandi Wells one of Fat Larry's Band's backing singers (Slick) before going solo in 1981. Incidentally Brandi created a group called 'Breeze' in 1978 producing only one single, the mega-rare 45 "See Saw". A must for any collection!
elias.ffm

Leonel Castillo - Deep Blue as reviewed by elias.ffm

February 22, 2017
Luckily i bought this nice vinyl during the release time :) It's a dub bomb!
MiloPonsford

Gadfrey Lewis - Let The Message Play as reviewed by MiloPonsford

February 22, 2017
edited about 6 hours ago
A truly superb, authentic, deep, spiritual, political and meaningful album...a fine example of those certain records which never reached the status it deserves because of the limited and politically/culturally-restricted access to the music during the time in which it was released....probably one that won't be repressed, and those very few copies that exist will disappear one day...give thanks for YouTube and the people who took the time to rip the record and upload it
journeyintosound

Karma - 9 as reviewed by journeyintosound

February 22, 2017
Both sides actually very listenable, lovely stuff just waiting to be discovered by someone.
Xahpa

Sweet Trip - Velocity : Design : Comfort as reviewed by Xahpa

February 22, 2017
edited about 6 hours ago
Nothing needs to be said about this other than it's an absolute monterousity from another world engulfing you in surreal atmosphere taking you on a ride through an ethereal playground, colours sparkling all over you with a serene blue sky to make everything seem bright and hopeful - playful. Litterally placing you on a cloud riding through an electronically mastered and paradoxically natural, lush and vibrant environment. High-tech robotic precision meets the simple act of breathing and feeling. You feel at home, welcomed eventhough this is all brand new to you - you don't recognize this from anywhere else. Someone once said: "Art is when you recognize something you haven't experienced before". This is exactly that.
Iamgeert

Various - Future Sounds Of Jazz 13 as reviewed by Iamgeert

February 22, 2017
Surprised by the quality of this compilation! Caught my attention due to the first track Dernier Amour (Ripperton's No Love Lost Reshape), long time favorite and still an awesome tune. Recommend a thorough listen!
costantis

Δημήτρης Παπαδημητρίου* - Λόγω Τιμής (Η Μουσική Και Τα Τραγούδια Από Την Ομώνυμη Τηλεοπτική Σειρά) as reviewed by costantis

February 22, 2017
The music is SO good, that it makes the tv series it was composed for look like a parody. Great memorable songs, nice instrumentals.
Wolfy666

Mad Ragga Jon - Origional Bad Boy / So Good as reviewed by Wolfy666

February 22, 2017
May aswell call it OrigiONal illiterate crap Cowboy gunshot in random places style lol!
Moanerman

Andrea Belfi - Alveare as reviewed by Moanerman

February 22, 2017
I strongly recommend the book from Matthias Heiderich who is a really talented photographer. If you like the work of Gerry Johansson, you will like Heiderich's work too (his work is in colour tho, where Johansson only publishes in black and white). I would rate the music a 3,5/5 and the book a well deserved 5/5. Nice label so far.
THE_MARSBAR

Zum Goldenen Schwarm - Aufgang as reviewed by THE_MARSBAR

February 22, 2017
I agree with the other reviews. This is an amazing album.
luke_richardson

Songs: Ohia - The Magnolia Electric Co as reviewed by luke_richardson

February 22, 2017
absolutely unbearable copy. All four sides play with an unfixable hiss and crackle, making the reissue of this great album totally unlistenable.