curtisryan9

Jon & Vangelis - Private Collection as reviewed by curtisryan9

May 29, 2017
So, to hear ''Song Is'' you must purchase the Delectus edition as its not on here.
artland-recordshop

Sulukule Ekibi - Evinizde as reviewed by artland-recordshop

May 29, 2017
without any doubt, the instruments are acoustic and you hear themes that seem to be classic turkish music. on the other side, the music is very complex, sometimes strange and maybe - experimental - , also depressive. it is recorded completely with a slight echo-effekt. so i am not sure, if you should file this under "folk or country".for me, this one is very influenced by the psychedelic era. you can not please tourists or guests of a marriage with this. very recommended!!
johnbluebrandon

Kay Starr - If You Love Me (Really Love Me) / The Man Upstairs as reviewed by johnbluebrandon

May 29, 2017
Other version, Capitol CL.14111, T CAP 12465-1 on run out.
johnbluebrandon

Jo Stafford - Make Love To Me! as reviewed by johnbluebrandon

May 29, 2017
Other version. Philips, 10" shellac, P.B.233. B21179H. AA21179 1H1 on run out.
Geeooo

Valentino Mora - Ash Walk as reviewed by Geeooo

May 29, 2017
edited about 1 hour ago
This is pure bliss.Very deep,but at the same time crisp,perfectly executed.Can't really say if it's techno or deep house but who cares when is THIS good ?!
visions_of_music

a-ha - Lifelines as reviewed by visions_of_music

May 29, 2017
The release Date is wrong. This one came up in 2016 eventually, not before.
Johnny_Yesno

Katja Institute - This Age as reviewed by Johnny_Yesno

May 29, 2017
KATJA INSTITUTE - THIS AGE (CDR, private)

Back in Vital Weekly 1064 I wrote this about 'A Monument For Your Enthusiasm': "Maybe adding
information of whatever kind is regarded by some as… old hat? Superfluous? A pain? A trouble?
It is hard to say. It is not something that Katja Institute likes to share with us. This is a CDR; right
out of the shop, with absolutely no information, no cover, no writing on it, nothing. Not easy to
find again if you are looking for it." Now there is a new release, their sixth and again it comes with
a David Lynch quote. This time there is one piece on the CDR, exactly clocking in at sixty minutes,
but if you take a look at the Bandcamp version (which actually comes with an image in the form of
a text), then you'll notice the group sees this as eight separate pieces. Opening this as a wave file I
can see two breaks so that would mean there are three separate pieces. The longest one, starting
around nineteen minutes, going all the way until the end, definitely moves through a bunch of
textures. Like before all of this is very much part and parcel from the world of drone music, and
this is not different. But as with the previous release, some of this seems to be taking too much
time, or, in different words, it stays too long in the same place without too many changes. That
is a pity as what they have to offer sounds pretty good. There is some strong dynamic music to
be found in this, with especially in the first thirteen minutes (these tracks have no titles, but I am
guess you don't think that is a surprise for a no-cover release?) a very deep bass sound. It is
followed by a short piece of some mid-high frequency sample/hold sound, after which the 'rest'
of 'Time Age' starts. It is all quite enjoyable, these remaining forty minutes but I couldn't help
thinking that perhaps a somewhat faster curve, say doing all of this in twenty-five to thirty
minutes would have made the whole release a bit stronger. I know drone music is supposed to
sound spaced out but there is a risk of the listener dozing off. Unless that of course is exactly
what Katja Institute wants? But then I would think that the listener should actively rework some
of the frequencies before trying to go to sleep, as it might be a bit too heavy on the bass tones.
So, all in all, not a bad and somewhat long release and I for one hope the next one will be sporting
a cover, however minimal that will be. It will be difficult to tell them apart in the future. (FdW)

Vital Weekly Number 1076
Johnny_Yesno

Katja Institute - This Age as reviewed by Johnny_Yesno

May 29, 2017
KATJA INSTITUTE - THIS AGE (CDR, private)

Back in Vital Weekly 1064 I wrote this about 'A Monument For Your Enthusiasm': "Maybe adding
information of whatever kind is regarded by some as… old hat? Superfluous? A pain? A trouble?
It is hard to say. It is not something that Katja Institute likes to share with us. This is a CDR; right
out of the shop, with absolutely no information, no cover, no writing on it, nothing. Not easy to
find again if you are looking for it." Now there is a new release, their sixth and again it comes with
a David Lynch quote. This time there is one piece on the CDR, exactly clocking in at sixty minutes,
but if you take a look at the Bandcamp version (which actually comes with an image in the form of
a text), then you'll notice the group sees this as eight separate pieces. Opening this as a wave file I
can see two breaks so that would mean there are three separate pieces. The longest one, starting
around nineteen minutes, going all the way until the end, definitely moves through a bunch of
textures. Like before all of this is very much part and parcel from the world of drone music, and
this is not different. But as with the previous release, some of this seems to be taking too much
time, or, in different words, it stays too long in the same place without too many changes. That
is a pity as what they have to offer sounds pretty good. There is some strong dynamic music to
be found in this, with especially in the first thirteen minutes (these tracks have no titles, but I am
guess you don't think that is a surprise for a no-cover release?) a very deep bass sound. It is
followed by a short piece of some mid-high frequency sample/hold sound, after which the 'rest'
of 'Time Age' starts. It is all quite enjoyable, these remaining forty minutes but I couldn't help
thinking that perhaps a somewhat faster curve, say doing all of this in twenty-five to thirty
minutes would have made the whole release a bit stronger. I know drone music is supposed to
sound spaced out but there is a risk of the listener dozing off. Unless that of course is exactly
what Katja Institute wants? But then I would think that the listener should actively rework some
of the frequencies before trying to go to sleep, as it might be a bit too heavy on the bass tones.
So, all in all, not a bad and somewhat long release and I for one hope the next one will be sporting
a cover, however minimal that will be. It will be difficult to tell them apart in the future. (FdW)

Vital Weekly Number 1076
LayerTFU

Om Unit - Fire Exit / Dark Vistas as reviewed by LayerTFU

May 29, 2017
Early favorite to win release of the year for me. Both tracks give off completely different vibes from each other, but are both majestic in their each unique way. Om Unit is a step ahead of the others on the scene right now in terms of Production.

Johnny_Yesno

Katja Institute - A Monument to Your Enthusiasm as reviewed by Johnny_Yesno

May 29, 2017
KATJA INSTITUTE - A MONUMENT TO YOUR ENTHUSIASM (CDR, private)

Maybe adding information of whatever kind is regarded by some as… old hat? Superfluous? A
pain? A trouble? It is hard to say. It is not something that Katja Institute likes to share with us.
This is a CDR; right out of the shop, with absolutely no information, no cover, no writing on it,
nothing. Not easy to find again if you are looking for it. There wasn't a lot on the inserted
information, other that they are 'a small organization working with reflected sound' and this is
their fifth project, they hail from California, plus some quote by David Lynch. The Bandcamp page
has even less. I mailed and learned that everything here is about the actual sound, the experience
of hearing and that there should be no distraction from that; plus they have no money to hire a
designer. There is one piece on the CDR, that lasts exactly forty minutes and on the Bandcamp
site it is split into four pieces, not exactly ten each, but six, thirteen, fifteen and six again minutes.
There are distinct pieces, I think, but somehow they don't seem to match up with the track listing
on bandcamp. Whatever this group does it certainly deals with a lot of electronics to produce a lot
of very minimal drones. For a long time, say from around the seventh minute break to somewhere
twenty-one minutes it seems as if this music got stuck in machine and the machine is doing the
music. Even beyond that point the music stays pretty much the same, with the only difference
that there is a slight change in the effects menu. Only after thirty-four minutes it really moves
somewhere else; the drone becomes much lighter, with the entire bass end removed. This was
an okay release, I think, but perhaps something that we heard before too much? Maybe it's too
much of a standard drone excursion and that's not enough; there should be something more of
their own in this. (FdW)

Vital Weekly Number 1064
Steinar85

Zentralrat Der Guten - Arbeit Macht Spass as reviewed by Steinar85

May 29, 2017
Have one for sale. If you're interested, just report it.

tommyvercettigang

Vinyl Lovers as reviewed by tommyvercettigang

May 29, 2017
after playing "stroking the tail of the bird" by what is sometimes mentioned as a "mother gong" album , i have to agree this is one of the worst record labels ever to exist.
the surface noise and pops completely overtake the music.
this was bought new !
buyer beware!
kyle15

Various - Lost Highway as reviewed by kyle15

May 28, 2017
It can't be said enough: this release is DIVINE. Easily one of the best records I've ever owned. When your needle hits this one, it is DEAD SILENT and the music kicks major butt. If you like this soundtrack, settle for nothing less.
jorgedean

Mr. Kool-Aid* & Marco* - 2001: The Soda Pop Odyssey E.P. as reviewed by jorgedean

May 28, 2017
Fantastic and ultra rare techno! Took me 25 years to find!
harrydinn315

Moby - Sunday (The Day Before My Birthday) as reviewed by harrydinn315

May 28, 2017
I bought this CD single a few years ago from Amazon UK. It contains 3 songs and 1 music video. The music video being the title track. Track 1 "Sunday (The Day Before My Birthday)" being an edited version of the original, which is a decent song. Track 3 "ISS" is repetitive and boring which can also be founded on the "18: The B-Sides" which is well worth exploring! The real GEM for me is "And I Know" track 2. This song like "We Are All Made Of Stars" and "Extreme Ways" it has Moby providing the vocals. What a shame this song is an A-Side as it's better than "Sunday (The Day Before My Birthday). Moby has done some effect with the vocals to make him sound vulnerable like "Whispering Wind" which can be founded on the "Natural Blues" single and "Play: The B-Sides" This song really speaks to me and is possibly my favourite B-side from any Moby single! It also contains a music video for "Sunday (The Day Before My Birthday)" Which can also be founded on "18: The DVD" so all in all a CD worth in anybody's collection!
ishtarmuz

Not On Label (Dioretix Self-released) as reviewed by ishtarmuz

May 28, 2017
Excellent job. They may be a new trend. Clearly inspired.
geilemaria

Chris Cornell - Euphoria Mourning as reviewed by geilemaria

May 28, 2017
edited about 7 hours ago
Great release. Flat, dead quiet, very good sound. I'd be very pleased if all releases would have such a great pressing quality. I own the eu version.
raags

Various - MMNT002 as reviewed by raags

May 28, 2017
Release is great, good pressing too! A2 and B1 are favs :)
rpremi-vinyl

Xiu Xiu - Fabulous Muscles as reviewed by rpremi-vinyl

May 28, 2017
The pressing is very good, it sounds spectacular and there is very little surface noise (even though my used copy has some mild scratches on it). Although there are two issues I have with it, the sides aren't labeled so you have to mark it with artist's tape or recognize it by the wax. Also, there is a bit too much silence between songs, which disturbs the album's flow.
Other than that I'd recommend it, it sounds better than my CD copy.
thshelteringsky

Träd, Gräs Och Stenar - Tack För Kaffet (So Long) as reviewed by thshelteringsky

May 28, 2017
Incredibly moving tribute to Mera and Torbjorn, and probably the best new (not archival) LP to be released under the band's name since '73. Curious as to whether all of these LPs were misprinted with the inside of the gatefold upside down or whether that was some sort of weird artistic choice on the part of the designer? My money's on the former. Beautiful sleeve though!
streetmouse

The Babe Rainbow - The Babe Rainbow as reviewed by streetmouse

May 28, 2017
Babe Rainbow’s EP, released as a limited edition of 1000 on pink vinyl, creeps up on you like the first inklings that the dose of acid you just took is kicking in, causing an uncontrollable smile inch across your face, and visionary happiness to ooze from every pore.

Sadly this intoxicating breezy psychedelic wave is limited to but four songs, all of which are laced with twanging guitars, wah wah, a romantic vibe, whimsical lyrics and an irresistible fragrance from days gone by, laid down by a trio of wandering minstrels destined to make your trip all it should be, going by the names of Kool Breeze, Arrow, and Blue Spirit, instantly bring to mind the monikers of Spacemen 3 who used Sonic Boom and Spaceman.

In June of 2017 their first full album will be released as a limited edition on green vinyl that is already sold out, and if this light handed EP is any indication of what is about to be unveiled, the pop psychedelic world is in for a rare and special treat.

Review by Jenell Kesler
evertonis111

Angelo Badalamenti - Twin Peaks as reviewed by evertonis111

May 28, 2017
Just got this. Noisy. Clicking. I cleaned it. Disappointed. The packaging and $40CAD price tag looked like a promising listen, but its noisy :( Delicate music deserves better than this.
J.Aloha

Screaming Trees - Sweet Oblivion as reviewed by J.Aloha

May 28, 2017
This is STILL available for only $21.99 at www.newburycomics.com

DO NOT pay obnoxious flipper prices listed here.
MamboMadness

Eddie Palmieri & Friends* - In Concert Live At The University Of Puerto Rico as reviewed by MamboMadness

May 28, 2017
OjO: This is the 1st 1973 pressing/release on the Coco Records label WITH the Coconut and in Cocos' 1st Corporate office which was located at: 1700 Broadway, New York, N.Y. 10019.
The others, with just the Coco Records logo, although 1973 also appears on the labels, is a Repress that was done when they moved their corporate office down the street to 1650 Broadway, New York, N.Y. 10019 in 1974. There are Reissues from the US, Colombia, and Mexico in both a Gate Fold and Regular jackets THAT ARE NOT IN THIS DATA BASE YET. So ask sellers for pictures, and/or verification/confirmation as to what their labels look like BEFORE BUYING?